GreatSchools Rating

Bay View Middle and High School

Public | 7-12 | 1404 students

We are best known for arts & sports programs.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2013

The math program sucks. They teach the kids to use calculators and when they get to college they can't do math by hand, which is what is required! Most of the testing is open book. It is way different from when I went to school and had to use my brain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

I attended BVHS in the late '90's. Back then, I loved attending Bay View. I was in the Navy JROTC program, Band, Track, Tennis, and the Business co-op program. I am disappointed to see the NJROTC program is no longer offered and to hear all of the negative comments about what Bay View has become. My graduating class had a lot of school pride/spirit and worked hard to achieve success. I enjoyed my time at BVHS and am proud to be an alumni, despite the reputation that the school has earned over the years.


Posted February 26, 2010

give a well thanks to Ms. KITROW the principle of they year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2009

it's a very nice school the students get involed in alot of activities and the kids there really do learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

I think that ity is a nice school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2008

Bay view is a really great school for those who come to school to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

Hello I'm a parent of a new student(2010) at Bay View I must say as of now, I'm really liking Bay View seeing that I have a first cousin too graduate and was involved in the law program and now is a Milwaukee detective and his high school sweet heart also of Bay View high school is a nurse practicer a step away from a doctor so I know and see how Good Bay View have/had taught them. It's what you put into your education to find what you get out of it at the end ,and as far as the teachers' I'm my daughter first teacher so I the parent taught her how to be a 'great student' for life not Bay View they're just adding on to what I've started. Thanks Bay View from a parent that cares about all not just mines.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

My child was a freshman at BV last year and when I first dropped him off, I was thinking 'Oh my gawd, what have I done'! Most kids were dressed inappropriately for school. Kids are still outside school even after school starts just 'hangin out'. The academics were FAIR, but my son didn't learn much. He liked most of his teachers. Coaches are supportive and don't tolerate bad grades or behavior. My son is in a new school (out of state) for his 2nd year and he knows NOTHING compared to the other kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

Im not a parent, but a current student at BVHS. I did learn alot, but because I payed attention and done my work in class unlike the rest. Its not the teachers, its the students who make it horrible. The teachers do their job, but choose not to deal with the ignorance the class displays. Overall, the staff is great, especially the guidance counselors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2006

I spent four years at bay view high school. 80% of the day in classrooms doing nothing. The school was a joke. Also I was in the P.A.T. program. Program for the academically talented. I probably had 3 teachers that actually taught the students. Please dont send your kids there!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 28, 2006

I was shocked when I dropped of my step son the other day to see such a dress code allowed. You should go to uniforms like Chicago public schools did and it changed the image and students behavior alot. Parents should consider this,it takes pressure off students that can't afford the thug wear. I can't imagine how the teachers have any control. I think the district should look at uniforms and have a free day to express themselves a couple of times a month. Times have changed and this policy would be cheaper for parents and students would look equal to each other. I don't understand how a simple change in the dress policy hasn't been considered Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Bay view is one of the worst schools in milwaukee wisconsin. The teachers there don't teach the students anything. And the sercurity is not any better. Snd the new one (for 05-06 school year) aint no good. So if you are planning to send you child or children to bay view..........Think again.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2005

I am not a parent. I am a 2001 graduate of Bay View High School. I am currently enrolled at Tennessee State University. It has been a long road to get here though. If I had only listened to my teachers about how much easier college would be if students prepared for it, now I know. I loved Bay View. It was an excellent school filled with a staff that actually cared about minority students. Times may have changed since 2001, but the overall concept of providing our youth with a chance for improvement through education, leadership, and self confidence. I love Bay View. Sometimes I wish I could go back. Thank you to Mr. Neale, Mrs. Collier, Mrs. Bedford and the rest of the staff who providing a way for students like many who just needed a little encouragement.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2005

I'm a 2003 graduate from bay view high school, and let me tell you, bay view is a school to send your kids. They have one of the best guidance councelors i know. they helped me get through all 4 yrs at BV. HOWEVER, bv does have its down side. The security is POOR. They say that bv is a drug-free school, but i've seen kids light up cigarettes outside on school grounds, and even security guards asking THE STUDENTS for cigarettes! Overall, out of a 10 i would rate BV as a 6-6.5. The teachers and faculity are great, but its the students that make that school poor. And by the way, in my 4 yrs there, they went through 3 DIFFERENT Principals!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 20, 2004

When I graduated in the late 90s BVHS was a excellent school. However, under Ms. Goss the new principal, BVHS has really turned downhill. Goss has no reason to be there since she has no previous high school adminstration experience. The administrators are incompetent and dishonest. Despite the poor administration most of the teachers at BVHS do a nice job. However, until BVHS does a complete make-over on it's administration I would look elsewhere to send my child.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 18, 2003

'I am an alumni of Bay View High School (1997). I have also just graduated from the University of Wisconsin with a 3.7 GPA with a degree in psycology and I just want to point out that Bay View helped me get here and prepare for college. I highly recommend it for students and parents.


Posted May 3, 2003

Both of my sons graduated from Bay View (1999 & 1997) They both have 3.0+ GPA in college. Bay View did an outstanding job in preparing them for college.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 38% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 61% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 42% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
28%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students9%
Female4%
Male13%
Black, not of Hispanic origin0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic13%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled11%
English learners0%
Proficient in English13%
Non-migrant9%

Reading

All Students9%
Female0%
Male16%
Black, not of Hispanic origin13%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic7%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled11%
English learners0%
Proficient in English13%
Non-migrant9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students19%
Female17%
Male21%
Black, not of Hispanic origin11%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic19%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities3%
Non-disabled25%
English learners0%
Proficient in English25%
Non-migrant19%

Math

All Students6%
Female4%
Male8%
Black, not of Hispanic origin7%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic4%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
Non-disabled8%
English learners0%
Proficient in English8%
Non-migrant6%

Reading

All Students9%
Female6%
Male11%
Black, not of Hispanic origin7%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic8%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
Non-disabled13%
English learners0%
Proficient in English12%
Non-migrant9%

Science

All Students34%
Female36%
Male32%
Black, not of Hispanic origin23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities3%
Non-disabled47%
English learners16%
Proficient in English40%
Non-migrant34%

Social Studies

All Students37%
Female38%
Male36%
Black, not of Hispanic origin34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled48%
English learners8%
Proficient in English47%
Non-migrant37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students31%
Female37%
Male26%
Black, not of Hispanic origin27%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled41%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English31%
Non-migrant31%

Math

All Students9%
Female6%
Male12%
Black, not of Hispanic origin5%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic14%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities0%
Non-disabled13%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English10%
Non-migrant9%

Reading

All Students5%
Female2%
Male6%
Black, not of Hispanic origin3%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic9%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Not economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities0%
Non-disabled7%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English5%
Non-migrant5%

Science

All Students29%
Female24%
Male33%
Black, not of Hispanic origin26%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic32%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled41%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English31%
Non-migrant29%

Social Studies

All Students43%
Female33%
Male50%
Black, not of Hispanic origin38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled56%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English42%
Non-migrant43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

GreatSchools Rating

What makes up this rating?

Academic rating
2 / 10
Climate rating
1 / 10

This school's GreatSchools Rating is based on academics (90%) and climate (10%). The academic rating measures students' test scores, academic growth and college readiness. The climate rating measures safety, cleanliness, parent involvement and more.

Learn more about our methodology

What is the new GreatSchools Rating?

Rating legend
Below
average
Average
Above
average

Our rating (from 1 to 10) reflects a school's overall performance. The higher the rating, the more likely the school will prepare your child for the future, so choose an above-average school (8-10) if possible. For average schools (4-7), do careful research and look for evidence that the school has high-quality programs. For below-average schools (1-3), take caution; a low-performing school may not provide the instruction or environment your child needs to learn, and you may need to supplement classroom lessons at home.

Academic rating

The academic rating is made up of equally-weighted parts: students' test scores, their academic growth (for elementary and middle schools) and their readiness for college (for high schools). The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the city and state.
Overall academic rating

2

Below average

Test score rating 2013*
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Learn more about this school's test scores »

Student growth rating 2013**
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
This school
Math growth
Below Average
Reading growth
Above average

College readiness rating 2013***
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
This school
Percent of 12th graders taking ACT: 92%
Average Composite ACT score: 15

*Test scores are based on the 2013 WSAS results from the state of Wisconsin.

**The academic growth rating measures how schools affect student test score improvement over time in reading and math. This data is from 2013 and is provided by the Value-Added Research Center and Milwaukee Public Schools.

***This rating is based on composite ACT scores for all 12th graders in 2013. This rating takes into account how many students took the ACT, giving more credit to schools with a higher percentage of graduates taking the ACT exam. The ACT data is provided by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

Climate ratings

This rating encompasses five elements of school climate: safety and cleanliness, respect and relationships, expectations for students, teacher collaboration and support, and parent involvement. This school's climate ratings are the result of GreatSchools' analysis of teacher survey data from the Spring 2013 School Climate Survey developed by Milwaukee Public Schools.

We rated schools on …



Keeping things safe, clean, and orderly.

This rating evaluates a school's environment, based on its safety, order, cleanliness and more. More highly rated schools have well-kept facilities and a safe environment conducive to learning. Schools rated poorly may have a chaotic environment, conflicts among students or even theft or violence.


Creating healthy, respectful relationships.

This rating measures whether the school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. At a school with a higher rating, it's more likely that the school's culture celebrates hard work and learning, students treat their peers and teachers with respect and class lessons reinforce character strengths such as kindness and tolerance. A school with a lower rating may have a weaker learning environment or allow disrespectful behavior.


Promoting high academic expectations for all students.

This rating sheds light on the academic expectations that teachers have for students. At a school with a higher rating, educators are more likely to stress academic success, ask kids to work hard and expect kids to be college-bound. At schools with lower ratings, it may be more acceptable for students to put in average or minimal effort, perform poorly on tests and lack strong academic goals.


Supporting its teachers.

This rating indicates how teachers feel about their school's professional environment. At a highly rated school, teachers are more likely to work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. At a school with lower ratings, teachers may not interact much, feel appreciated or have much input in school decisions and policies.


Informing and including families.

This rating reflects how much communication parents can expect from this school. A highly rated school is more likely to have regular communication (e.g. newsletters, emails, and meetings) between administrators, teachers and parents. This may include information about student progress, homework help and volunteer opportunities. At lower-rated schools, parents may not get regular updates and may feel less welcome at school.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black, not Hispanic 55% 10%
Hispanic 29% 10%
White, not Hispanic 11% 73%
Asian 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 27%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 11%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation UW-Milwaukee
UW-Whitewater
MATC
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

School leader's name Jonathan D Leinfelder
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Science
  • Technology
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Engineering
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Aaron Shapiro
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (414) 294-2415

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Science
  • Technology
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Construction / building
  • Engineering

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Special olympics
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • parents and community members participate in the monthly school governance council meetings. they are always welcome and invited to attend various sporting events, plays, art shows and musical performances.
More from this school
  • Bay View High School and Fritsche Middle school will blend their two schools. In Fall of 2010, all students grades 6-12 will attend classes at Bay View High School. The different grade levels will occupy their own area of the building. BVHS will remain a comprehensive high school with a full array of classes and programs in the areas of Art, Music, Gym, Technology, Foreign Language and sporting events.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school
High school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UW-Milwaukee
UW- Madison
MATC
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2751 S Lenox St
Milwaukee, WI 53207
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 294-2400

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Milwaukee?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Need more information?

Call the GreatSchools hotline at 414-748-1211