Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Golda Meir School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a community member
Golda provides a challenging yet nurturing environment for my children. They have excelled academically and artistically at this school and I look forward to seeing what the future holds.

Golda Meir School 5

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and administration staff are awesome! Ms. Carter, the Principal is wonderful! You will find her every morning, standing outside, welcoming students, even in the bitter cold. I appreciate her commitment to the students and families at Golda and for making Golda a place that values and strives for academic excellence! EVERY teacher my daughter has had since she has been at Golda have always shown desire to partner with me in making sure that my daughter’s academic needs and goals were met. When it comes to course electives and extracurricular activities, the options are endless. Administration has done a beyond than excellent job in establishing strong partnership with the all local museums, theaters and other community art, math and science programs. I remain impressed with the number of field trips and other experiences our students get to participate in during the year. In the fourth grade, students are able to go to on a week trip to the Grand Canyon or Denmark! Most importantly, the staff and leadership team are dedicated to making sure that while students are being challenged, their love of learning continues to grow.

Golda Meir School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The majority of the teachers are not qualified to perform the jobs they have. They don't respect and value the students.

Golda Meir School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
It is too much homework that is not of a good quality. The projects have no value or meaning to a true academic lesson.

Golda Meir School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Carter values the guarded reputation of the school. She doesn't value determination of any of her students that actually want to learn.

Golda Meir School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Carter and the teachers have taught the students to disrespect other students that are little different than them. They condone it and allow it continue to happen. They have taught the bullies it's okay to belittle and berate someone that is different than you, loves academics or values learning.

Golda Meir School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers do not care about the good students, they allow them to be bullied and treated with disrespect. When discussing this with Ms. Brown, she just allowed the chaos to continue. When I told Ms. Carter, she gave the perception she cared, but Ms. Brown continued her behavior. With Ms. Carter allowing this behavior and not doing anything about the teachers, they continue to do whatever they want, thereby damaging the students in the process.

Golda Meir School 1

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The school was great until Ms. Carter became principal. None of the teachers are qualified to teach, value and respect the students but Ms. Kaisler. After Ms. Kaisler, one would need to find another school quickly before middle school. Teachers are not your friends, they should set a high expectation academically for the students and they make their classroom a welcoming experience to want to learn. That is only a couple of many characteristics they should possess. The teachers don't respect the students that want to learn, instead they tear down and damage the students allowing chaos that they create to ensue. Yes, they provide the perception that they care, but realistically they talk behind the parents back and really don't protect the student at all. They show favoritism to certain students, condoning bad behavior but since that is what Ms. Carter allows, the teachers enjoy doing it. I will not recommend anyone else to the school until Ms. Carter is gone. As long as she is there, she hires unqualified teachers that try to be your friend instead of teaching the class as they should. Ms. Carter continues to allow the teachers to let good students be bullied and doesn't do anything about it because she values the "schools reputation" instead of a safe, quality education.

Golda Meir School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
I honestly can say I LOVE this school and I LOVE my sons teacher Ms.Kaisler.....my son attended MPS in 2nd grade and we thought he was advanced only to come to Golda Meir and find out he is barely on his grade level....which was disappointing to say the least, but I have much respect for Ms Kaisler because not only was she honest she also had a solution/plan to help my son get where he needs to be. He is still not completely there, but his map scores have increased quite a bit....she is very encouraging and instead of just telling me what he doesnt know she gives me resources to help him. We need MORE teachers like her, this is what I miss in MPS, when I was a student, there were alot more teachers that wanted the child to prosper like her....Kudos Ms Kaisler and golda Meir for employing a wonderful teacher !!!!!

Golda Meir School 3

Posted March 12, 2015
- a community member
I am a student at Golda Meir & I can honestly say Golda was not my first choice for a highschool. Honestly Golda Is great academically.... For a middle school. The high school makes alot of the kids uninterested in learning and kills all joy you have their ,when your middle school kids have more going for them than we high schoolers have. It doesnt feel like a highschool, you feel depressed knowing that other schools like King have so much going for themselves. The title gifted & talented has yet to show in any highschooler that attends there, with limited things to do, who can blame the kids for being creativily starved. The good side is that the teachers are honestly the best teachers i ever had in any mps, i fear that any other school teacher wouldnt put as much effort as they do here. So the question we highschoolers face is. Risk having fun for great education, or leave for something more developed and more fun, but possibilty of failing is there for both sides if we don't learn to take advantage of education. Yet understand we still strive for a great exexpirence as teens before its over.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golda Meir School
1555 North Doctor Martin Luther King Junior Drive, Milwaukee, WI  53212
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (414) 212-3200
Last modified Golda Meir School is a Public school that serves grades 3-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top