Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gaenslen School 5

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is phenomenal in so many ways. As a parent, of a child with special needs who is in a wheel chair. This is one of the most comfortable and cozy environments ever. They meet my son's needs in every aspect. Therapies, speech, OT, vision and swim are just some of the additional things offered at this great school. Everything is very accessible and easy to use. The staff has been wonderful. Each year we have been lucky to work with highly trained teachers and professional staff members. The principal is also very friendly and approachable. Keep up the good work Gaenslen you are an awesome school. You deserve a 5 plus.

Gaenslen School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a community member
The school is has highly dedicated and professional staff. The special needs and regular education curriculum allows children with disabilities and regular education students the opportunity to work side by side. Academics and empathy are cultural norms at this school. I am offended by a previous post that suggests special education students and regular education students cannot learn in the same building. That was an extremely ignorant statement. Gaenslen is a phenomenal place and great things are beginning to happen there!

Gaenslen School 1

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
This school is SO focused in special needs children. 47% of the total school population (665 students) have special needs. That's VERY LARGE. So I pulled my child out of this school. The test scored are VERY low. I think that the school is for students who are for students who are either at-risk or special needs. This make the school look bad.

Gaenslen School 5

Posted May 06, 2012
- a parent
This school has a LARGE SPECIAL EDUCATION POPULATION. I advise any parent of a special needs child to send their child here.

Gaenslen School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a community member
well i went to this school as a kid and i think it was a awsum place..I have always said that going there gave me a great outlook on life.Because i have cereble palsly i had always felt like i didnt belong, like there was on one i could relate to, but there my eyes was opened to soo many other people with my same condition and all type of other conditions,but at Gaenslen we were all the same.p.s. the teachers were great some of the best ive ever had. Yours truly;McEllis Burnett

Gaenslen School 1

Posted July 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gaenslen School 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Gaenslen School 0
no rating

Posted August 01, 2008
- a teacher
Gaenslen has a group of extremely dedicated people working with children who have many special needs. Staff is constantly striving to give their students the best education possible. Test results should not be the only factor used to rate a school since tests are not written for all children to show success.

Gaenslen School 3

Posted May 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Gaenslen School 4

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
I put above average because the tests used do not show that this is a school with a large special needs and English as a Second language school. My son is THRIVING here because they are one of the better set up schools for challenged kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gaenslen School
1250 E Burleigh St, Milwaukee, WI  53212
(414) 267-5700
Last modified Gaenslen School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gaenslen School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top