Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Goodrich School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
My son's school has it's ups and downs. But all schools do, we just got a new principal this yr whose trying her best with the school. The teaching staff is invalid with the student's. It's more a problem with the parents, that don't take the time to come into school to either be in PTO, or go on field trips or even volunteer in the classroom for an hour.. I am up at school in pto also help the staff with stuff, so much that the student's ask me to go with there class somewhere so they can spend time with me instead of their parents going. I love the staff also they all live around the school witch is great.

Goodrich School 3

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
i will not say i have not had troubles with the school, but just like any other school problems will arise out of certain teachers and students. These schools are not perfect and Goodrich is not. But it is a community school, where all the teachers or most know all or alot of the students, i will agree recently schools have been merged and alot of students transferred over to Goodrich, that is not the teachers fault and of course they are overwhelmed and sometimes if multiple students disrupt the class its hard to get them back on track, these are KIDS. I as a volunteer and a parent who pops up from time to time can see how this can be hard on the teachers and students. but Goodrich is getting back on track now that it has experience dealing with double the students in one class. All my kids have went here for several years and i do feel this is an overall safe place with good morals and values. I do know alot of the teachers and speak with them on a regular due to all my kids previously being in their class. Show me one school that is PERFECT please, i will enroll my kids TODAY.

Goodrich School 4

Posted September 04, 2012
- a parent
"It takes a village to raise a child". In Goodrich's village you have: Teachers who know their students likes and dislikes. Who hug their students and congradulate them an job well done. Who help them learn how to be respectful and accept different cultures. You have a Principle who knows the students and their parents by name. Who tries to address a negitive concern without disrupting a student's educational foundation. Who will take the time out to talk to a parent and accept both negative and positive comments. Who knows the kids testing scores and who proudly posts them for the whole school to see. You have cooks who care enough to learn the student's names. diets ID numbers so they can order their own lunches. You have aids who learn about the children with special needs and give them the care and support they need. You have school wide initivites to help make learning fun. Such as movie nights, open house with art work displayed, recess, soccer, chess club, after school camp, feild trips, Bull dog bucks and popcorn day. I challenge you to find a school where the staff care more about the children. Anyone one can teach but only a student who feels safe and loved can learn.

Goodrich School 2

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
Principal lacks any interest or involvement with parents or children for that matter.Office staff unorganized and unfriendly on a daily basis.Ms. Pacaganella 1st gr., one of the only good teachers.Children seem to have most of the control at this school.Alot of inappropriate language and bullying,and destuction of property and stealing.I regret not knowing about this website 4 years ago; daughter is 9 yrs. old now .Arleen Dansby-White (principal) is ineffective and lacks leadership and motivation.Only believes in discipline that obviously needs improvement.Hope Longfellow is a positive change for us.

Goodrich School 1

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
One of the very worst managed schools I have ever known. Rude, demeaning, insulting administration. Most of the teachers are caring professionals, with a couple who are overwhelmed but improving.

Goodrich School 2

Posted March 24, 2012
- a community member
This school, being, lead down the wrong path by it's ineffective principal that lacks communication skills on all levels. Once again the inmates run the prision with Dansby-White's lack of discipline. She will lead the charge once again to get this school on the needs improvement list. students are leaving what once was a great neighborhood school and taking quality teachers with them.

Goodrich School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are great, the parents are great and it is located in a nice neighborhood. They have outstanding soccer and chess teams. My child loves her school and her teachers. They also have an after school camp program that she begs to go to daily.

Goodrich School 1

Posted October 08, 2010
- a parent
The school could be a lot better I feel as a parent that the teachers are doing a poor job controlling the class,which interferes with the well behaved childern.I have encountered very poor communication skills with staff.Homework has been sent home that has not been explained to the class in which the child hasen,t a clue how to do it.School started a month ago I have been up to the school 4 times with a complaint.They showed no concern for her lost glasses and they put her on the bus after she plainly told them her mother said "she is never to ride the bus".

Goodrich School 0
no rating

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
My son had a very unpleasant experience at this school. The teacher seemed unequiped to deal with an ADHD child. My child was never happy or excited to go to school. The environment, principal, and neighborhood was nice for a regular well behave student. If your child has a special need, look somewhere else first.

Goodrich School 5

Posted June 01, 2008
- a parent
It is avery nice school and the children are well behaved. The children are not forced to wear uniforms and my child is safe there. She learns a lot. The teachers are very smart and respectful to the children. The teachers are also considerate of the childrens' feelings. The principal, Ms. Zimmerman, cares for the children too. The building is nice and in a good neighborhood. They have proper learning equiptment and things for recess. I am glad they give recess to releave the kids. This school goes on plenty of field trips. Sometimes the feild trips are rewards and some are for learning experiences. Teachers are always watching to keep the kids safe. And just in case the kids have drills and security systems.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Goodrich School
8251 N Celina St, Milwaukee, WI  53224
(262) 236-1500
Last modified Goodrich School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Goodrich School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.