Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a teacher
This is a great school located on the uwm campus. great atmosphere, staff and students!

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
This school is great . Mr. Eric sullivan is best principal in Milwaukee Public Schools.

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
This school prepares leaders for tomorrow! Excellent staff who instill the best in the youth! I have 2 graduates of Hartford and 3 currently attending.

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at Hartford elementary school are awesome. They have approximately 35 or more children in a class and they do an outstanding job teaching. Every time I stopped by the class was attentive and engaged. My daughter came from Kyrene de la Estrella Elementary school in Ahwatukee, AZ. This school was rated a 9 out of 10 by great school. The location and school was nice, staff was professional, friendly and on point. The teachers were educated and some of them were awesome. My child struggled with their reading program that excelled at teaching sounds and pronunciation but used artificial words to do so which confused my child and she struggled advancing past k3 reading level, in k5 to beginning of 1st grade. She never attended daycare or preschool. Well we went to Hartford in the fall of 1st grade and with their reading program which is tied into UWM; she excelled and by the 2nd semester was reading at grade level, testing at 80% and above. Yes Hartford administration is not as informative, but they do what they can with the funding they receive and that's focus on your child's safety and education. Estrella is in a wealthy area and receives outside funding!

Hartford Avenue University School 4

Posted May 19, 2013
- a community member
I have volunteered many times and love the creative ways teachers use to work with different ability students. I think parents need to hold their children more accountable so teachers can focus on instruction rather than behavior.

Hartford Avenue University School 2

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
this school is not the most helpful school for my child. this school brings a frown to my face

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted November 22, 2011
- a parent
I absolutely love this school my son graduated with High Honors and was accepted into a Great HS! My girls now attend this school and the thing I love abt this school is that the teachers honestly will go the xtra mile to make sure these children get it. All may not be able to understand as at any school but the children have a great support system at this school. If the kids are failing get to the root of the problem & stp the blame game. A school's education is what you put into it as a whole and all have to work together on making sure the child is up to part. These test scores is only a small percentage as to what this school has to offer these children. Their work with the Universities alone sets volumes. My children continues to climb the ladder of success and growth within this school. I am a proud HUS parent! Support the dream and become a productive part of your kid's education and get involved not only in your child's school choice but also in helping to make a difference in the school as a whole. Your opinions and assistance can help build this school into n overall success. Dont give up on MPS, the foundation of it all!

Hartford Avenue University School 1

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
I have experienced lack of communication. The curriculum is very inconsistent with my 2 boys. Some teachers really communicate well and there are some that do not.

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
I can't imagine a more caring, involved, supportive educational experience! Hartford University School pricipal, teachers, staff and parents work hard, but successfully, to keep a rich environment of interesting learning, hands-on experiences, arts of all kinds, and, a strong sense of respect and community at our school.

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

2227 E Hartford Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53211

School website
(414) 906-4700
(414) 906-4715

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hartford Avenue University School
2227 E Hartford Ave, Milwaukee, WI  53211
(414) 906-4700
Last modified Hartford Avenue University School is a public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hartford Avenue University School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.