Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hartford Avenue University School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
I am grateful for all of the hardworking teachers, and staff at Hartford. These staff members try their hardest to educate the students on a daily basis, and help to enrich their lives.

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
The teachers and staff members at Hartford work really hard to educate the students, and to enrich their lives.

Hartford Avenue University School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Many students not ready for middle school have difficulty being quiet and respecting teachers. There are many very spoiled children who are difficult for the teachers to control. My child has difficulty hearing the teachers.

Hartford Avenue University School 1

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Many, many spoiled children who have never been taught to sit still and respect a teacher. Our family is counting the days until we are done with this school. The education my child has recieved has been half what it should have been.

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a teacher
This is a great school located on the uwm campus. great atmosphere, staff and students!

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
This school is great . Mr. Eric sullivan is best principal in Milwaukee Public Schools.

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
This school prepares leaders for tomorrow! Excellent staff who instill the best in the youth! I have 2 graduates of Hartford and 3 currently attending.

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a community member
my school is awsome becaue u can be your self and epress yor self also!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:) {: {:

Hartford Avenue University School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at Hartford elementary school are awesome. They have approximately 35 or more children in a class and they do an outstanding job teaching. Every time I stopped by the class was attentive and engaged. My daughter came from Kyrene de la Estrella Elementary school in Ahwatukee, AZ. This school was rated a 9 out of 10 by great school. The location and school was nice, staff was professional, friendly and on point. The teachers were educated and some of them were awesome. My child struggled with their reading program that excelled at teaching sounds and pronunciation but used artificial words to do so which confused my child and she struggled advancing past k3 reading level, in k5 to beginning of 1st grade. She never attended daycare or preschool. Well we went to Hartford in the fall of 1st grade and with their reading program which is tied into UWM; she excelled and by the 2nd semester was reading at grade level, testing at 80% and above. Yes Hartford administration is not as informative, but they do what they can with the funding they receive and that's focus on your child's safety and education. Estrella is in a wealthy area and receives outside funding!

Hartford Avenue University School 4

Posted May 19, 2013
- a community member
I have volunteered many times and love the creative ways teachers use to work with different ability students. I think parents need to hold their children more accountable so teachers can focus on instruction rather than behavior.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hartford Avenue University School
2227 East Hartford Avenue, Milwaukee, WI  53211
(414) 906-4700
Last modified Hartford Avenue University School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hartford Avenue University School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top