Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hawley Environmental School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I just love how my child has been constantly excelling since she's been at Hawley. From K5 on up to 3rd grade, she's done nothing but improve on a daoly basis.

Hawley Environmental School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of a child in 3rd grade that is quite advanced, I feel that more work should be sent home that's a bit more challenging.


Hawley Environmental School 4

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Overall, Hawley is a good school. I just wish that all of the classes were equally equipped with books.

Hawley Environmental School 4

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
The first time I took a tour at Hawley, I knew it was the right school for my son. The staff are very patient especially with my son! The homework and art work he does is amazing. I wish I was young enough to go to Hawley!

Hawley Environmental School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
Hawley is a GREAT school. It has a caring staff and a wonderful environment. My child has special education needs. However, she has never felt singled out or "different" from her peers. The teachers go the extra mile to make every child feel special. Their standard of excellence is second to none. The special ed teacher Mr. Delaney has a heart of gold! He has made my experience at Hawley one I will never forget. Ms. Zylstra is a great 5th grade teacher who sincerely cares for her students. Hawley rocks!


Hawley Environmental School 5

Posted March 17, 2012
- a parent
Hawley Environmental School is a gem in the Milwaukee Public Schools. The school has welcoming, diverse student body. The schools continues to focus on excellence in education beginning with an all day K4 program. New this year, Hawley has partnered with the Urban Ecology Center to provide outdoor experiential learning opportunities for the students. The students love learning about nature in their neighborhood park! Also new, all students receive weekly instruction in Mandarin Chinese by a native speaker through a partnership with Cricket Academy. Hawley is currently a candidate school for IB accreditation in the Primary Years Program. Every classroom is equipped with a SmartBoard for dynamic 21st century instruction. Multi-age Global Classes are wildly successful at building leadership, cooperation and community amongst the students through fun and engaging topics! If your goal is to develop a globally minded, environmentally focused learner and leader, then Hawley Environmental School wants you! Enroll today for Fall 2012.

Hawley Environmental School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a parent
I love Hawley School. This is the most caring and dedicated school I have every been a part of. I am a Social Worker and has had the chance to observe many schools. I have a child in the 2nd grade here and already have plans for my 2yr old to attend K-4 here at Hawley. I want to give a great big Thank You to principal Stavens, you really are the heart of the school and keep it structured and going. :-)

Hawley Environmental School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
We have incredibly talented, dedicated teachers and a wonderfully diverse school community!


Hawley Environmental School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
The faculty at Hawley are all very caring and energetic to change lives. And we love that they are an environmental school

Hawley Environmental School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
The staff is really good and they care about the students.

Nearby schools

Hawley Environmental School
5610 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI  53213
(414) 256-8500
Last modified Hawley Environmental School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top