Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Milwaukee, WI
Students enrolled: 462
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
The school has been fabulous for both my children who have been enrolled so far (one more to come in a couple of years!). The staff have always been immediately responsive to any question I've voiced, and the community of parents at the school serves to make it a true "family" atmosphere. Field trips, extracurricular activities, the 5th grade trip to France, multicultural celebrations, you name it and this school has it. The immersion schools have often been referred to as the "hidden gem" of MPS, and it is my opinion that the French Immersion School is the diamond of that group!

Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted November 30, 2014
- a parent
I am also a teacher at another school. After ages of considering different schools, we decoded that MFIS was our first pick. Our younger daughter starts next year and we can't wait. There are awesome teachers, kids doing lots of activities, before and after school care, fieldtrips galore, and, best of all, my child loves school.

Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
The school has worked very well for my daughter who is very bright, but can be quite energetic. I have had constant contact and a great relationship from the school principle. My daughter started in the first grade which is a little late and they were able to find me a great tutor at the school to help her catch up on her French and she has blossomed a lot.

Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
MFIS has dedicated staff who give our children an excellent education and they are learning a second language at the same time! There are so many culturally diverse activities offered and parents are involved in making this a real gem in Milwaukee.

Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
To the parent who commented below about the comments being falsified to make the school look good online: Milwaukee French Immersion IS a great school, hands down. I believe most of the comments are around the same day because at one of the PTA meetings it was brought up that the parents could go online and rate the school. I believe a bunch of us went out that very same day or the day after and wrote our reviews. The comments are mostly positive and the school rated as 5 stars because it a great school. Great staff, multicultural student population, awesome opportunities, and of course the benefit of your child becoming bilingual. Our school test scores continue to be above the average of other schools, and those test are given in English, which says a lot, factoring in that the students are taught in French all day. I urge you to give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I'm a parent of a K-4 and 2nd grader at MFIS. I'd like to respond to the comment that it is suspicious that all reviews were submitted to Great Schools on 1 day. I understand your feeling. However, the school does a wonderful job of communicating to parents. One day parents and staff shared the message, "Please visit Great Schools and share your school experience." So everyone probably responded right after that. It certainly would be better if Great Schools would ask us to submit our real names. That would be fair. If you really want to know about the school, I suggest taking a tour and/or ask if any parents would be willing to talk to you about it. Good luck finding the right school for your child. Best regards.

Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
Our school is simply amazing. Kids get a global view, language immersion, diversity, and so much more. All three of our kids are so happy we picked French Immersion, and we are happy with the results. The high rate of parent involvement is just an added bonus!

Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
My husband and I are both teaches and we believe MFIS provides an outstanding education for our children. Even though we live two blocks from a solid neighborhood school in Wauwatosa we believe MFIS is the best choice. It is a diverse school, not only in people but in thoughts. Students engage in hands-on learning experiences. Teaching is driven by what is best for students not by standardized testing. The school encourages parent and community support and involvement. We couldn't be more pleased, thank you MFIS!

Milwaukee French Immersion School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
We so love MFIS! We have one daughter attending currently and are sending another for school year 2014-15. Excellent and caring teachers and staff. We also the love the diversity that this school offers our children!

Milwaukee French Immersion School 4

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
I currently have my (2) daughters in K4 and K5 at MFIS and we nearly put them in a private school because of our nervousness around the quality of the MPS system. I think the Immersion schools are in a league all their own and i'm so happy we made the choice we did. We LOVE our daughter's school, the beautiful diversity of their classmates, and how engaged and open minded my children are about new experiences at such a young age. Would still love to see the school get more sports/activity resources for the school, but they recently added basketball and African dance which is great! Choose MFIS, you won't regret it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Milwaukee French Immersion School
2360 N 52nd St, Milwaukee, WI  53210
(414) 874-8405
Last modified Milwaukee French Immersion School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Milwaukee French Immersion School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top