Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
125 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Students of Saint Catherine Catholic School excel in academics and leadership within an environment of peace and social justice. Graduates are prepared for higher education and for making positive contributions to the community. Our mission at St. Catherine School is to educate an urban community of diverse students. Service to God and others is a core teaching of our Catholic faith that informs all learning. By promoting academic excellence and personal responsibility we prepare students for life-long learning and faith-filled living. We commit ourselves as an anchor of stability in our neighborhood and beyond through a supportive community committed to the Catholic/Christian values of word, worship and service.
August 05, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Catherine School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Everyone from the principal to the secretary have been great! The school puts a lot of focus on the children excelling academically.

St. Catherine School
Grateful to: no rating

Posted November 23, 2015
- a school leader
I want to thank Ms. Lewis. She is a dedicated 8th grade teacher! She has worked very hard to make sure our students are ready for a Catholic High School. She went to all the open houses, helped with applications and signed students up to shadow at the high school they are interested in. I'm not sure how many other 8th grade teachers are doing that, but I am sure glad Ms. Lewis is!

St. Catherine School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
Saint Catherine's has Great staff and educators. They are willing to assist when needed and take a mile when doing so.

St. Catherine School
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 20, 2015
- a teacher
I know a few particular students who are an absolute pleasure to have in class. They complete their assignments-both classwork and homework. They always try to do their best. They are also great helpers to me and are willing to help in any way. I really appreciate this because I don't have many like that. When you lack many, you appreciate the few even more.

St. Catherine School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
I give thanks to ms. Minni she always helps my family out when we in need. She always finds a way to make me happy and laugh. Whenever my son is in touble she talks to my son and gets him on the right track!!! At times she even help me get on the right track. Ms. Minni to me is the glue that helps not olny the students stick in with the school and do the right things but also the parents!!! I don't think i speak by myself when i say we all love Ms. Minni!!! Thank you for everything!!!!!

St. Catherine School
Teacher effectiveness: no rating

Posted August 05, 2015
- a school leader
St. Catherine Catholic School endeavors to provide regular and meaningful opportunities for evaluation of its staff. As a part of this process, the principal attempts to regularly visit classrooms informally once a week to monitor instruction and provide a visible presence for the students. The principal may also conduct up to two clinical supervision experiences in a school year, preferably in each semester. This clinical supervision may also involve both pre- and post-observation conferences between the teacher and principal. Teachers and staff are encouraged to bring exciting, innovative or interesting education experiences to the attention of the principal. They are also encouraged to participate in self-development activities. St. Catherine Catholic School and the Milwaukee Archdiocese provides numerous such opportunities.

St. Catherine School
Amount of homework: no rating

Posted August 05, 2015
- a school leader
The purposes of homework are twofold: to deepen students’ understanding and skills relative to content that has been initially presented to them, or to prepare students for new content or have them elaborate on content that has been introduced. In most cases homework should be formative, allowing students to apply what they have learned so they find out what they really do understand and return to class to ask questions about what was not understood. The students are expected to do quality homework, understanding that homework is an extension of the learning process each day and realizing that homework is non-negotiable and affects success/grades in school. Parent involvement in homework should be kept at a minimum

St. Catherine School
Develops grit: no rating

Posted August 05, 2015
- a school leader
A great deal of sacrifice is required before, during and after school hours. NO EXCUSES. no shortcuts. Nothing in life comes easy, and we at St. Catherine are fully aware of the effort it takes to achieve greatness. Our student program would not be successful were it not led by highly motivated, selfless teachers. The St. Catherine staff is intensely committed to the success of each student and will do whatever is necessary to ensure that students rise to meet the desired expectations. Our parents and students share this same commitment. Working together under God’s guidance...there is nothing that we cannot achieve.

St. Catherine School
Develops respect: no rating

Posted August 05, 2015
- a school leader
It is the belief of the St. Catherine School Community, that self-discipline is an important part of what students learn during their formative years. Self-discipline is necessary of our school is to be a pleasant, neat, orderly and safe place for all students. It is our goal to help students learn what is expected of them both at school and in the community. Desirable physical and verbal behavior will be communicated though rules that have been established for the playground, cafeteria, restrooms, hallways, and classrooms.

St. Catherine School
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted August 05, 2015
- a school leader
St. Catherine Catholic School believes that the primary obligation for developing self-discipline, responsibility, and respect for others rests with parents and guardians. When students come to St. Catherine Catholic School they broaden their involvement as members of the parish community, a Catholic/Christian Community. Community is at the heart of Catholic education, not simply as a concept to be learned, but as a reality to be lived. Developing a sense of community involves personal dignity, respecting self, respecting others and respecting property.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Catherine School
2647 North 51st Street, Milwaukee, WI  53210
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (414) 445-2846
Last modified St. Catherine School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top