Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 2

Posted August 16, 2014
- a community member
The principal is unacceptable because he picks the bully's side in fights, he just does not like the kids who get A's in certain subjects and lower than a B in the other, (Not everybody is perfect!!). The teachers are okay but they pick favorites between their kids. I do not find this school acceptable. Though there are three teachers that are nice to the kids it just breaks my heart that this school is accepted of keeping
1 person found this helpful

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 3

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
The principal is arrogant and talks down to women, he is dismissive of student bullying , but is engrossed in minutiae like policing the color of students' socks. The teachers are impossible to get a hold of and don't return phone calls, and aren't proactive in addressing performance issues by the students, preferring to let parents know there's a problem when their report card shows up.

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended this school for multiple years, and we have finally decided to change schools. The following are several of the main reasons we have decided to leave. 1. The principal does not handle problems very well. 2. The teachers are relatively non-responsive and are unable to meet the educational needs of children that are either below average or above average in any subject. 3. There has been one good teacher at STAA in our four years of experience, and we have worked with eight regular classroom teachers (not counting the specials teachers). 4. Their anti-bullying program is sub-par, and does not deter the bullying issue at the school. 5. Academic program lacks rigor, and below standard school work is acceptable. It is not worth the tuition money spent to attend this school, and we will be spending it at another school next year.

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 2

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
Attended this school for years, then changed to a public school. Kids are behind, even though their grades were excellent at St Thomas. Lots of talk about "high standards" but little proof in test scores, especially in math. No formal science equipment and technological student aides are non existent. Problem w/ cliques amongst children, parents, and admin. Zero tolerance for special needs of ANY kind regardless of severity. Pass on the large tuition bill, it's not worth it.

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 2

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
The school's administration is not very supportive of supporting students who are capable of exceeding academic standards. This school is in need of modern methods to keep the students interested and stimulated. I feel too strongly that the school is satisfied with "okay" students and work. They have absolutely no resources to assist students who are gifted or excel in specific academics. Besides that, the principal is not very good at following up with concerns and many of the teachers are not willing to go out of their way to help students. I came across ONE very good teacher at this school. My child will attend a different school next year.

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
Extremely dedicated teachers. Very good atheltic program. My child is very happy going to this school. His class is like an extended family.

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 5

Posted January 30, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 5

Posted June 30, 2008
- a parent
Academically rich with high standards. Parental involvement worthwhile. Teachers capable and more. Extracurriculars outstanding, especially drama.

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy 3

Posted March 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Thomas Aquinas Academy
341 E Norwich St, Milwaukee, WI  53207
(414) 744-1214
Last modified St. Thomas Aquinas Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St. Thomas Aquinas Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top