Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
255 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mother of Good Counsel School 2

Posted December 08, 2015
- a student
I'm a student at this school and i've been going at this school since K4. At first it was great but each year it has been going downhill and all the good teachers have left. There is only a handful of teachers that care for your wellbeing and for the rest of the teachers try to break your spirit like it's some kind of game. The school shows strong signs of racism and sexism.

Mother of Good Counsel School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a student
Mrs. Hartung and Mrs. Johnston because they get you ready for high school and build up your confidence.

Mother of Good Counsel School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 08, 2015
- a student
The good teachers build you up but the bad teachers teach you that there are people that your going to meet that you'd much rather avoid.

Mother of Good Counsel School 3

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
MGC is beyond over rated. My children went here for 3 years and it progressively become worse each year. There was a child assulted one year after she talked to by the principle for being told she was a bully, obviously she wasnt and was attacked durning school!. The school is CONSTANTLY asking for money with everything they do even when they make a heck of alot off of thethe parents donations and the sports games held there with door fees and conssesions and also the almost $5k a year it costs per child to go there. They dont even have Air conditioning for gosh sake.

Mother of Good Counsel School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
This is an AMAZING school. My son is in the k3 class and he has definitely excelled in all areas. Fall 2013 will be his second year at MGC (k4) and Im confident that he will be well prepared for higher grades; He has already started To read and began adding a few weeks ago. They are very diverse, classrooms vary in racial background, gender and socioeconomic status. You will not find a better school. The principal and staff are awesome to say the least and go out of their way to know every single parent including the ones of students not in their classroom. The holiday functions e.g.. halloween, Christmas, Easter and the Auctions are must attend events. My son is treated with love and kindness he frequently speaks of everyone there. Needless to say we LOVE this school and when our youngest son gets old enough he will definitely attend MGC.

Mother of Good Counsel School 2

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
MGC is a school that does not take pride in nurturing of their children. My child who has attended there for k4 & k5 did not receive the kind, nurturing care you would expect, especially in her grade level. Her K4 & k5 teacher was satisfactory but had a mean demeanor that the children were visably afraid of. They were welcoming in the beginning then I notice how that quickly went away as the school years went on. I also began to notice my child mimic some mean words that could only been said to her by her teacher as well as to other students during reading time. It was very disturbing to witness my child, her being the only child, display such hurtful words that her teacher must obviously say to them. Another concern would be favortism which is also very noticeable. Certain students are pre-chosen to participate in school activities such as plays, school events, etc because they were parishors or non choice program students. There is definantly issues with the school as a whole and would not recommend families that participate in the choice program to seek MGC. Its not fair to the children nor parents who seek quality education!!

Mother of Good Counsel School 4

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
I can not begin to say enough about MGC. My son has grown so much in the 2 years he has been attending MGC. The teachers are great, the principal is great, support staff is incredible, and everyone seems to know you and your child by name which is a really good feeling. The academics are top notch.Visit MGC today and please check out the parish as well. The more involved you are, the better your child will do!

Mother of Good Counsel School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a community member
it is a supportive, caring, and nurturing environment, which has provided a place to learn and grow for two of my grandchildren...

Mother of Good Counsel School 5

Posted October 26, 2008
- a student
Im a student at mgc and and I have been going there for 8 years. Im so glad that my mom put me in this catholic school. I love all my classmates, But some of the teachers I dont like. One of the teacher says that reading is like language but she talks just like a kid example, 'I ant gotta take this, its just bull.' I dont think a teacher has to talk that way to students. But I do like that everyone is friendly and nice. I like how we can all come together and have a fun day at school, with merit activites, buddies, game days, extra resess. When it rains a homeroom get to go to the gym which is the really fun. I like how we have family lunch but I do miss Hot dog day with free dress. But im going to miss mgc.

Mother of Good Counsel School 4

Posted April 24, 2007
- a student
I am a student at MGC and I like the kids. Their really nice and most of the teachers are as well, but there are some questionable ones. The academic program is overall pretty good. But the one thing I really don't like is the schools hygiene. Only four years or so ago, student council redid the locker rooms but it's just back to where it started. Signed- A grosses out student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mother of Good Counsel School
3001 N 68th St, Milwaukee, WI  53210
(414) 442-7600
Last modified Mother of Good Counsel School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mother of Good Counsel School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top