GreatSchools Rating

Pius XI High School

Private | 9-12 | 873 students

 
 

Living in Milwaukee

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

To me(A parent), Staff seems very nice and when i called they answered w/good manners. Teaches are willing to help only if you ask them to. My child who is in Pius feels that they are not helping her/him getting ready for college. Hallway is full of noise students and teachers don't care, Library is a zoo and when you walk by the student`s bathrooms you can smell smoke and nobody says anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

I am a current student at Pius XI High School. This school is not worthy of a two, it is worthy of a -57839. This school is great in terms of education BUT some teachers are incredibly disrespectful, rude, and take advantage of their authority. Other teachers are great but they're more bad teachers than they're good. Some teachers show favoritism. The students are ridiculous and some walk around with no shoes on. The ladies in the main office are amazing but some of the rules are unnecessary. I know someone who was put on probation for being two minute late 9 times. In conclusion, this school is a force.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2013

If you like teachers who blatantly favor students who are star athletes, regardless of their academic ability: this is the school for you. There are some nice teachers, and then you have the arrogant ones. Unfortunately, the arrogant teachers outnumber the ones who truly love to teach, and love their students. It's a shame, really. Save your hard-earned money for family vacations, and send them to a suburban school. You'll thank me later.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2013

Awesome school! Love the teachers and staff. I am so glad that my son is going here. The TAC program is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

The last review was from 2011 it is 2013 and I am here to tell you that Pius high school is the Best! We love it and are so glad are son is attending this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

I would have to agree with the negative reviews on this site. My spouse graduated from this school some 30 years ago & absolutely loved it. One of my three children graduated a couple of years ago, & I am so grateful this period of our lives is over. Course offerings & some of the teachers are wonderful, but it is the adminstration that will be the demise of this once great school. Their enrollment has gone done significantly over the past few years, & they try to cover up any negativity that is going on in the school by ignoring & denying it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

My daughter is a 20XI graduate of Pius XI and had a wonderful educational experience. The TAC system is phenomenal. Pius XI did an exceptional job preparing her for college. Her younger siblings aspire to earn the privilege to attend this fine Catholic high school. Go Popes!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

Teachers very inconsistent. Some teachers have grading systems don't fail a child unless they have less then 20% proficiency - not exactly college prep material. Parents who pay the bills given very little consideration. Buyer bewatre!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Terrific faculty and lots of parent support added to a musically, academically and artistically amazing student body make Pius XI High School a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

I recently graduated from Pius (Class of 2009) and received over $150,000 of scholarship offers ALONE, my class received over 11 million in offers this year in total. I don't know any other school in the area who received offers like that. For those who complain about the tuition I had $3,500 in scholarships every year and the Fin. Aid. dept. and guidance dept. are always helpful when it comes to applying for aide and scholarships. Pius is a fantastic school and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2009

Pius is an amazing school, full of opportunities. Even though tuition is costly, I'm glad I made the choice to come here. Pius has helped me to find out my interests and the school really does cater to you. Teachers are always there to help, students are friendly, and the schedule is WONDERFUL. I'm never bored.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

I love it there, it makes me feel like im a part of a family. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2009

I currently have a daughter attending Pius as a sophomore, and I'm glad to say I am pulling her out of the school next year. Pius has some great teachers, and some great courses, however the 'great' only plays in about 20 percent. The tuition is ridiculous, 8,000$ and they are upping it to 10,500$ next year. Not only do I have to pay tuition but I also find myself paying many other fees such as, 50$ for my child to add and drop classes, even though it is mandatory by the school. My child once had a saturday detention, and I had to pay 10$ for her to attend the mandatory detention. The staff is also very, very rude to students and parents, and everytime I call I recieve attitude. Thumbs down Pius.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I am currently a senior at Pius & I think it is a wonderful school. I will be graduating in May with close to 30 credits due to the AMAZING amount of AP courses that I have been able to take at Pius. Compared to many of my friends from Marquette & Divine Savior who will graduate with none, this is fabulous. I literally have never had a bad teacher & have found the staff & students to be friendly, helpful, and passionate about their work. I have never had a problem feeling left out or left behind. I went to a public elementary school/middle school & am so happy that I switched over to a private school setting. Some of my favorite memories from Pius are from our annual Thanksgiving drive and all school masses and blessings. I cannot think of a better place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

Excellent school offering many opprotunities for students in all aspects. High level of art program and sports programs. There is something for every type of student. The level of particapation is up the them, as is the level of parental participation. My daughter received an excellent education from caring teachers. There were bumps along the road, as every school has. I highly recommend Pius, especially if your child is planning on college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2008

I'm sorry, there are some TERRIBLE reviews on here...Pius is an amazing school! I've been tremendously happy with my education there. I'm especially talking to the one person who started their review with 'Save your money, people!' Your review was insensitive, and I can not honestly believe that your family has Pius alumni, and you can still think what you do! I am part of Pius's rugby and soccer teams, have ZERO relatives there, and I'm co-captain, so you need to keep your fingers off the keys if you don't know what you're writing about. Pius is a great school, with fantastic teachers and an excellent environment to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2008

Pius is AMAZING. Pius did wonders preparing me for college. They offered ways to prepare me that no other school has. I can't thank Pius enough. It is a place that I will always call home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

I think some of the very few negative comments here might be made by the same (unhappy) individual. As a parent of one former student and one current student, my wife and I couldn't be happier with Pius. We've found excelent teachers who really do care about kids, and an administration that is very receptive and helpful. Pius is an innovative place, on the cutting edge. If you want to send you son or daughter to a school that is forward thinking and that will challenge them to grow and learn--academically and in their faith--then Pius is THE place. As for the 'drug problem' at Pius, my kids have told me there is less of it going on at Pius than in other schools, only Pius chooses to do something about it, with workshops, support groups, assemblies. They're not afraid to deal with the issue rather than pretend it's doesn't exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I love Pius it is a great learning environment, very diverse and my children have done very well here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

i think pius is the best school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students38%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Students16%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Reading

All Students15%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Science

All Students54%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students54%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

GreatSchools Rating

For private schools, the GreatSchools academic rating is based on test scores and student growth measures from students participating in the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program and is not necessarily reflective of performance for all students at a private school. GreatSchools is working with state education officials in the hopes of presenting a more comprehensive picture of student performance at private schools in the future. In the meantime, we encourage reaching out to private schools of interest about specific testing information.

What makes up this rating?

Academic rating
1 / 10
Climate rating
Not available

This school's GreatSchools Rating is based on academics (90%) and climate (10%). The academic rating measures students' test scores, academic growth and college readiness. The climate rating measures safety, cleanliness, parent involvement and more.

Learn more about our methodology

What is the new GreatSchools Rating?

Rating legend
Below
average
Average
Above
average

Our rating (from 1 to 10) reflects a school's overall performance. The higher the rating, the more likely the school will prepare your child for the future, so choose an above-average school (8-10) if possible. For average schools (4-7), do careful research and look for evidence that the school has high-quality programs. For below-average schools (1-3), take caution; a low-performing school may not provide the instruction or environment your child needs to learn, and you may need to supplement classroom lessons at home.

Academic rating

The academic rating is made up of equally-weighted parts: students' test scores, their academic growth (for elementary and middle schools) and their readiness for college (for high schools). The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the city and state.
Overall academic rating

1

Below average

Test score rating 2013*
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Learn more about this school's test scores »

*Test scores are based on the 2013 WSAS results from the state of Wisconsin.

Climate ratings

This rating encompasses five elements of school climate: safety and cleanliness, respect and relationships, expectations for students, teacher collaboration and support, and parent involvement. This school's climate ratings are the result of GreatSchools' analysis of teacher survey data from the Spring 2013 School Climate Survey developed by Milwaukee Public Schools. Unfortunately, this school didn't provide enough survey responses to generate a climate rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White, not Hispanic 70%
Hispanic 15%
Black, not Hispanic 10%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 2%
Multiracial 0%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Betty Hunt
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (414) 290-7001

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Milwaukee
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Poms
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Marquette University
UW-Milwaukee
UW-Madison
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

135 N 76th St
Milwaukee, WI 53213
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 290-7000

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Milwaukee?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Need more information?

Call the GreatSchools hotline at 414-748-1211