Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
904 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pius XI High School 3

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
As a 2014 alumni, I hope to see more diversity within the faculty and staff. Students of diverse backgrounds need role models who look and understand them and their experiences, especially within a segregated city like Milwaukee. Needless to say the faculty and staff can still strive to become that role model. They just need to better facilitate the diverse intersections within their student body.

Pius XI High School 5

Posted July 17, 2015
- a student
It's a great school and an over all amazing community, I love the feel of it and the teachers are great.

Pius XI High School 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a community member
Pius has a supportive learning environment. Teachers are willing to go the extra mile to assist.

Pius XI High School 5

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
The success of a school is reflected by the faculty. Pius is top notch as far as Teachers who go the extra mile to give the personalized care that you would expect from a private school. They are underpaid compared to Public school teachers, yet dedicated and energetic. The value of any school can vary in someone's eyes based on the student and their expectations and effort. However, I have always felt that Pius is unique in providing cultural diversification and allowing students the same freedom of choices in curriculum and scheduling that they will have in College. After going to the conferences regularly, I always walk away impressed at how well each Teacher knows my children, and how detailed they were in discussions with their progress. I would highly recommend this school to someone who wants their child to experience a "real world" environment and be allowed the opportunity to follow his/her talents and academic interests. For a private school, their is certainly no "snob appeal" at Pius that sometimes exists at others.

Pius XI High School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is simply amazing. The TAC program and the modular scheduling is a huge reason we chose it. Our child is finally being challenged in the classroom (Catholic grade school was b-o-r-i-n-g), excelling in school and growing in her faith. This school produces such well-rounded kids. Their only downfall is that they don't do a great job recruiting in Waukesha.

Pius XI High School 3

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
To me(A parent), Staff seems very nice and when i called they answered w/good manners. Teaches are willing to help only if you ask them to. My child who is in Pius feels that they are not helping her/him getting ready for college. Hallway is full of noise students and teachers don't care, Library is a zoo and when you walk by the student`s bathrooms you can smell smoke and nobody says anything.

Pius XI High School 2

Posted November 08, 2013
- a student
I am a current student at Pius XI High School. This school is not worthy of a two, it is worthy of a -57839. This school is great in terms of education BUT some teachers are incredibly disrespectful, rude, and take advantage of their authority. Other teachers are great but they're more bad teachers than they're good. Some teachers show favoritism. The students are ridiculous and some walk around with no shoes on. The ladies in the main office are amazing but some of the rules are unnecessary. I know someone who was put on probation for being two minute late 9 times. In conclusion, this school is a force.

Pius XI High School 3

Posted July 11, 2013
- a student
If you like teachers who blatantly favor students who are star athletes, regardless of their academic ability: this is the school for you. There are some nice teachers, and then you have the arrogant ones. Unfortunately, the arrogant teachers outnumber the ones who truly love to teach, and love their students. It's a shame, really. Save your hard-earned money for family vacations, and send them to a suburban school. You'll thank me later.

Pius XI High School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
Awesome school! Love the teachers and staff. I am so glad that my son is going here. The TAC program is great.

Pius XI High School 1

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
I would have to agree with the negative reviews on this site. My spouse graduated from this school some 30 years ago & absolutely loved it. One of my three children graduated a couple of years ago, & I am so grateful this period of our lives is over. Course offerings & some of the teachers are wonderful, but it is the adminstration that will be the demise of this once great school. Their enrollment has gone done significantly over the past few years, & they try to cover up any negativity that is going on in the school by ignoring & denying it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pius XI High School
135 North 76th Street, Milwaukee, WI  53213
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (414) 290-7000
Last modified Pius XI High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top