Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Darrell L. Hines Academy 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
I have been involved with DLHA for over 5 years now and I love them. I have had five cousins graduate from here as well as my daughter. I love the life lessons my children have learned from the staff at DLHA.

Darrell L. Hines Academy 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
An awesome school---by every standards. A real gem in the community for every parent wanting strong academic foundation for their child. The Principal knows all her teachers' names and all staff relate well with the students, regardless of which grade they are. Parents are updated on programs. Diverse personnel, tons of meaningful activities for the students. Truly comfortable environment for kids, my son loves this school.


Darrell L. Hines Academy 1

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
HORRIBLE SCHOOL..the Teachers want PERFECT students and I have yet to see that student at this school or any other. I am a parent who is involved not as much as I am able due to work schedule but can not do it by myself nor can my husband, kids will be kids when their parents arent around they will test whom ever they are with, these teachers are NOT babys sitters but at the same time they need to learn to be aggressive when disciplining these kids, not taking EASY way out and kicking kid out of class, and/or calling parents so they dont have to deal woth kids, that is why the school system is messed up now, noone wants to take accountability.

Darrell L. Hines Academy 1

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
I would not send my child to this. He was bullied and the teachers and principal did nothing. Instead of the bullies get in trouble he was in trouble. Terrible school. My son learned nothing at this school.

Darrell L. Hines Academy 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
DLH is very wonderful have three kids all of them have went to DLH and I recommend it for all parents.


Darrell L. Hines Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2012
- a parent
DLH Academy has been a rewarding educational opporunity for my family. I am exciterd to see how the new Carrera program will unfold. Seeing familar teachers each year does help with transitioning to new grades.

Darrell L. Hines Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2012
- a parent
My kids have attended DLHA since K5 and now they are in high school and college. I absolutely love this school. The staff and administration really care about the students, the curriculum is top-notch and education comes first. I highly recommend DLH Academy!!!!

Darrell L. Hines Academy 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
well, this past school year was my first year at dlh and I will say this.... Yes, the staff is an acquired taste, there were a few adults that i could have done without starting from the higher up's all the way down to the bottom people, BUT......... I DID like the open door policy, I was there, sitting in classes all day, not only for my daughter but for my nieces and nephew also. I was allowed to go on the one and only field trip they had with my daughter, nieces and nephew. AND despite the "better than you" feeling you may get from the adults... my daughter received a TOP NOTCH EDUCATION!!! learned sign language, fractions and how to read (when she started k5 she could not read, entering 1st grade she is at beginning 2nd grade level!) SOOOOO I don't take anything personal as long as my daughter is getting the best education possible. (it helped that I am a VERY involved mom, so they may not have liked me very much, but they DO know ME!)


Darrell L. Hines Academy 1

Posted March 13, 2012
- a community member
This school is a terrible joke they have 5 minutes at lunch, they make the kids walk in lines waaaay too much and their new parent pick up process is terrible!

Darrell L. Hines Academy 2

Posted December 26, 2011
- a parent
The instruction program is good, but the office staff and some faculty members are very rude and insults parents and family members seeking information, or pick up of their children. Although the mission of the school is intended to uplift and excel student progress, it is hindered by unprofessional office staff and assistant teachers. My family is very disappointed and will transfer our child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Darrell L. Hines Academy
7151 N 86th St, Milwaukee, WI  53224
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (414) 358-3542
Last modified Darrell L. Hines Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top