Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodlands School 3

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
We've been at Woodlands since both my children began K4 years ago and have been active in the school for years, so I feel I have a lot of history and insight into the school. First the good... The community at Woodlands (Bluemound) is wonderful. Great families and kids and kind, responsive teachers that have the students' best interests and individual personalities in mind. However, the format with multi-age classrooms makes for a chaotic learning environment. Kids have multiple teachers, switch between classes at a very early age, which makes it confusing for them and for parents at times as well. It means in order to keep a close relationship with your child's "teacher", you must develop relationships with the 6 different teachers they are involved with (which is common for secondary education, but is a bit much for 3rd grade). It's difficult to feel you truly have a handle on what is really happening in the school day. The notion of having French, music and art is appealing. I was a huge proponent of this, until I actually saw it in practice for years. The vast majority of the children come away with little to no ability to speak or understand French, despite years of classes in it, and the music instruction is nothing impressive. Art class is wonderful - it truly feels like they receive something there that is special and useful with a clear direction. Math instruction has gotten worse as my oldest has gotten older, more and more online and less in-class instruction. No workbooks or textbooks for parents to have a sense of what to follow and how to support at home - just a lot of links to online content that is overwhelming. I have concerns about how my kids will adjust to a high school with rigorous academic expectations, and mine aren't even students who have historically struggled greatly in academics. I worry about those with less active parents or those with true difficulties in learning. My kids are happy here, which is important. They feel cared for and comfortable and the culture is supportive. I just feel like they are missing out on academic instruction compared to other schools, and we are left to settle because of few options in Milwaukee.

Woodlands School 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a community member
First year for my grandchildren. They are so happy here. Teachers are fabulous and work with the parents. Feels like a family. Love that music, language and arts are just as important and are not left behind. Wonderful school!

Woodlands School 5

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, principals, and staff are amazing! I love the way their teaching system is set up and how they work with the children. I feel the communication between the teachers and parents is great. I really love how the parents have the opportunity to become very involved with the school. We love this school and are happy to be a part of it!

Woodlands School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
We LOVE it! A great sense of community and with amazing teachers and staff! We are so happy to be part of the Woodlands community!

Woodlands School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Woodlands East has given my son the opportunity to learn about various cultures, participate in a variety of learning experiences that he is able to comprehend without constant instructions. My son has awesome teachers who work with him to better understand what is expected of him daily. The school is a wonderful community that reaches out to all no matter race, ethnic background, religion, economic status, etc... I love the "Woodlands Way" it's the best way to go!

Woodlands School 3

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My feelings about Woodlands are mixed. While I do feel there are many positive aspects of the school, the consistency in which the teachers seem to deal with students needing extra attention varies from year to year (unit to unit). When it comes to discipline, I feel that there is an overall lack thereof. I have to seek out information from teachers regarding my child's behavior, in-class progress, etc., despite my repeated requests to stay informed when problems arise. (I can't work on problems at home if I don't know they exist). Perhaps it's a general 'fear' of the use of discipline that has overcome the school system in this day and age, probably due to repercussions and parent/public backlash, but if my child misbehaves, doesn't complete their work, talks excessively during class, etc., I expect there to be some consequences from his teachers. On the positive side, Woodlands is far better than any 'regular' MPS school my child would be able to attend. Their approach to curriculum is unique, and unique is, in my opinion, far better than the bare minimum that other comparable schools scrape by with

Woodlands School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Love love this school!! I wish I would have found out about it sooner. The principles that are being taught in addition to the great education are priceless. I know my daughter is better equipped to handle her future because of woodlands!!

Woodlands School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Woodlands offers a well rounded education for our son. In addition to french twice a week he has music, gym and art. The Woodlands teachers are engaged and work together well to nurture each individual students approach to learning. The school combines grade levels so students can work to their individual levels. It is one of the most naturally diverse schools in the city of Milwaukee. There is a great parental connection that we as a family cherish. I know that the friends my son has made and the friends we have made at Woodlands are life long friends. We all care about each other and isn't that what it's all about? I know we made the right decision to send our son to Woodlands. It is a wonderful school.

Woodlands School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
I have to qualify my review by saying that this is our first year here. That said, I am so impressed with the school thus far, and so relieved that our children are being educated here. We looked at many schools. What makes Woodlands different (and better): multi-age classrooms and impressive differentiation across all subjects means that each child is working on material at his/her level. The caliber of instruction in both gen ed and "specials" has blown us away. In the gen ed classroom, teaching methods are progressive and integrated (ie, a reading and science lesson that also involves an art project). There is a lot of time devoted to music, art, gym, French, and library, and the specialists are extraordinary. The character curriculum is wonderful and reinforces our home values. Families seem welcoming, invested, and diverse. This school offers our kids the best of what a public education can be, which, in this day and age, is nearly impossible to find.

Woodlands School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been at Woodlands School since she was in K4 and now she is in 6th grade. I really love the student diversity, curriculum, staff and students. We are all like a family. I really like that there are no behavior issues with students. The staff overall is very efficient and effective in resolving issues in general. I really like that the school has an active PTA where parents are the driving force in supporting the school. I like that they are inclusive of all students. I highly recommend it to family and friends. I am always promoting the school when people are looking for a school for their young child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodlands School
5510 West Bluemound Road, Milwaukee, WI  53208
(414) 475-1600
Last modified Woodlands School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodlands School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top