Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Atlas Preparatory Academy 1

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Atlas lacks the resources, support, and willingness to change that would allow its teachers to sufficiently educate it's students. The owner of this school views this facility as a profitable business, wasting millions of dollars on her own salary and frivolous, unnecessary services that are unseen and of no benefit to the children. This school lacks a gym, library, music classes, special education, and sports, to name a few. Considering this is a CHOICE school created to benefit underprivileged students using government money, this is inexcusable. With more than 75% Hispanic student population, more ELL and language opportunities should be provided. Instead, ELL students have ONE overworked Spanish teacher and no Spanish speaking administration. Failing students are simply passed along and graduated from year to year, despite decisions previously made by their respective teachers. Standards are nonexistent. Ultimately, these teachers work for the love of the students & teaching, but cannot stay due to lack of support, respect, benefits and a reasonable wage - resulting in few teachers staying for longer than a year's time. Avoid this school at all costs.

Atlas Preparatory Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a teacher
Atlas has begun its third year of "Learning through Literacy" focus. All professional development and student learning is embedded with a literacy focus. Taking educators into a space that prepares and supports them to become stronger in student centered learning. This student, needs based goal is bringing about good results. As part of the data driven environment Atlas has launched two new programs which support students. The first is ALEX-Atlas Learning express, a problem based, multiage learning environment providing learning for students scoring at least two years above grade level. Alex is already getting requests for placements for those who test and perform well in the classroom.The second program is Transition learning to provide learning experiences for those who need a more focused approach to building their school related skills. As a parent, as a teacher, as a community member the students and families are getting a lot of personalized learning for their students.
2 people found this helpful

Atlas Preparatory Academy 1

Posted June 17, 2014
- a teacher
Atlas has potential, however, the potential is barely being achieved. There are very little resources and little to no support from administration. Teachers are not held accountable, neither are parents . Atlas accepts students that have I.E.P.'s and need Special Education, speech, or the like, but they don't have any type of special education programs. Students don't learn how to type, the technology is very limited. This school has an incredibly high turn-over rate for teachers....yet no one is asking why. In stead of working on a plan and working to perfect it, many things are being tried for a month-year with no accountability and they don't work. Teachers are being taken out of their rooms to copy from a text book in a program called Build Your Own Curriculum...which is a waste of time since it is all written in the text book already. That time would be better spent educating the students. This school lacks resources and an administration that truly holds everyone to high standards. What it does not lack, however, is the love the teachers have for the students and the heart they have to work in an urban environment.
1 person found this helpful

Atlas Preparatory Academy 4

Posted March 23, 2014
- a community member
March 23, 2014 I have had the pleasure of working as a literacy coach from Wisconsin Educational Innovations at Atlas Prep Russell Campus since the fall of 2012. school The student population is very diverse with a very large range of abilities. I have seen vast improvement in the overall school in the last two years. The staff, administrators, teachers and other staff have been very friendly, encouraging, and accepting to any ideas I presented that could help their student population. It has been a pleasure to work with them. I have notice students have become more polite and respectful in the halls and in the classrooms. The majority of the students are friendly and also willing to work on new ideas. The overall management has improved in the last two year. Students do know the expectations and generally follow them. I have also seen more positive reinforcement by teachers to the students and this has helped to create a more positive classroom setting. The teacher I have worked with are in the Social Studies Department and have been wonderful to work with. All are still working on ideas to even improve the situation more Sue Hausmann

Atlas Preparatory Academy 1

Posted December 22, 2013
- a parent
I sent my student here thinking this school would be the best choice not only for them, but for our family. On applying to college I realized my daughter was not prepared for college because she was not given access to certain classes she needs to go to college. By access I mean these were not even offered at this school. They will tell you they do, but learning is not taking place at these schools. I feel bad for the teachers who have to work here due to lack of jobs in this area....They are professional babysitters working for a person who does not care about children
1 person found this helpful

Atlas Preparatory Academy 1

Posted October 18, 2013
- a community member
I'm A Student That Goes To Atlas, & This School Easy But It's Lame & Unprofessional. Dogs Can Teach Better Than Them. You Get In Trouble For The Littlest Thing. And They Would Expell You Right Away. It Has No Activities, No Field Trips, No Sport Events, Homecoming , Spirit Week. Nothing They Rather Waste Their Money On A Plasma Tv For The Office And Even The Heaters When It's Cold, They Don't Turn Them On, And When It's Hot We Got No Air Conditionin And We Suffer In Class. By Far The Worst School To Go To.
1 person found this helpful

Atlas Preparatory Academy 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a teacher
Atlas provides an exceptional k4-k5 program with the most caring and dedicated teachers who go way above what a teacher is expected to do. They have built a community where children feel safe, have fun, create long-lasting memories, and want to stay all the time! Their expectations are high but the way they focus on the positives and any minor achievements allows the students to rise to the high expectations! Teachers spend a lot of time creating fun things for the students to experience and excitement is felt as soon as you walk into the building!

Atlas Preparatory Academy 1

Posted July 25, 2013
- a teacher
Avoid this school at all costs. Do not work here unless all administration has been let go. Admin offers no support to teaching staff and even hires staff with no real background for the classes they teach. Teachers are hired and fired at a whim. Student achievement is poor with nearly 25% of students receiving Title I assistance with a further 10% eligible, but choosing not receive assistance. Absenteeism can reach up to 40% on a given day and discipline is never followed through.
1 person found this helpful

Atlas Preparatory Academy 1

Posted May 13, 2013
- a teacher
I previously taught at Atlas Preparatory Academy and would strongly advise against sending your children there. Teacher turnover is incredibly high, with very few staff members staying longer than one year. The lack of resources is deplorable, there is no standard of accountability for teachers, and administrators do NOT support their staff when it comes to dealing with parents and families. With adequate leadership, investment in quality teachers, standards of any kind for performance, and an actual interest in promoting student learning, Atlas could have potential. However, that's a long list of requests (although none of them are unreasonable), and I don't see things changing there anytime soon. I loved my students, and there are some wonderful families who choose to send their children to Atlas, but I would highly recommend that they reconsider. It's a disaster.

Atlas Preparatory Academy 1

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
1 out 10 rating says it all. This school is unprofessional to say the least. Students get very few resources, and almost no extra help. Very, Very low test scores really reflect this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atlas Preparatory Academy
2911 S 32nd St, Milwaukee, WI  53215
(414) 385-0771
Last modified Atlas Preparatory Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Atlas Preparatory Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top