No rating

GreatSchools Rating

North Point Lighthouse Charter School

Charter | PK-5 | 277 students

We prepare our scholars through rigorous arts infused programs.

 

Living in Milwaukee

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

Please visit our school before assuming the things posted here are true. We are a student centered, high expectations school. Staff work hard and are expected to get results. Students thrive and are expected to work hard. We have a strong team and continue to strive to be accountable.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 22, 2014

I used to teach at NPLCS and cannot stress enough the importance of enrolling your child elsewhere. They are hiring people with no education/teaching background to take over classroom positions because so many teachers have resigned. More than one "teacher" used to work in the kitchen at the school, and another was hired directly from a retail outlet. Unfortunately, these are only two examples of many. The hiring of these completely unqualified individuals is reflective of the disorganization and chaos that characterize NPLCS. There is no vision, academic rigor is negligible, staff treat children horribly, and the mission of the Lighthouse Academies network is nowhere present in this building. Parents, please make a better decision and find anywhere else for your child's education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 9, 2014

I am not pleased with the school, its set up, the children of parent that don't care n it shows through their children's attitude. My son never has homework and comes home complaining about his day both at school and on the bus. My daughter has a good and organized teacher this year. This being the third one in a couple months. This school needs SERIOUS help. Its nothing like I thought it would be. I have personally went to the school on different occasions, having to talk to other children because teachers have no control and the children no respect. I hate to change my children's school again but where is a good school. I can't afford private so what am I to do. Offered to work at the school to help and never heard back from them. Things are getting worse by the day...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

This school is awful. Teachers quit left and right. It seems like there are new people and faces every day...I just heard today that another teacher left. Principal is very unprofessional and rude. Very disorganized and doesn't feel like a happy place for kids. Last year my son never got the services he was supposed to. Parents need to spend more time seeing what actually goes on here. We won't be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

nplh provide great education for my kids. the teacher are very nice my kids will be here until they leave high school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

My child is in k5 and he is at a 2nd grade reading level. The teachers are very attentive and much sure your child is t expectations!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 16, 2014

What I love about this school is that despite minor issues that are going on the staff is doing all that they can to make this a great place. I can see the improvements that are taking place and the direction that they are going in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

My experience with the North Point Lighthouse Academy has been good. I've been here since the beginning. There have been some changes, good and bad. There's also no text books, music and language class or after school activities. I don't like that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

NPLHCS is a good school! My child loves it, from the teachers, to the after school programs. I see so much academic growth in her and that is what i like in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

a great school i think this school is a best fit for my child she will b back next year and ms friday is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

its a good school for my son and i will love for him to continue to grow with teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

I really appreciate this school and the time they take out to help everyone. Their curriculum is well designed and everyone has a great attitude. The school hours are great and the uniforms are unique.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

The school as a whole is no good. My daughter is in pre- K she has learned so much within these last months. Her teachers are sisters and I as a parent I am very lucky to have them in my daughter's life. They are caring, very supportive,and easy to talk to. I hope they are there next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

Staff and administration rotate often - definitely not a stable situation. Direction and expectation of students is uneven and scattered.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

GreatSchools Rating

What makes up this rating?

Academic rating
Not available
Climate rating
Not available

This school's GreatSchools Rating is based on academics (90%) and climate (10%). The academic rating measures students' test scores, academic growth and college readiness. The climate rating measures safety, cleanliness, parent involvement and more.

Learn more about our methodology

What is the new GreatSchools Rating?

Rating legend
Below
average
Average
Above
average

Our rating (from 1 to 10) reflects a school's overall performance. The higher the rating, the more likely the school will prepare your child for the future, so choose an above-average school (8-10) if possible. For average schools (4-7), do careful research and look for evidence that the school has high-quality programs. For below-average schools (1-3), take caution; a low-performing school may not provide the instruction or environment your child needs to learn, and you may need to supplement classroom lessons at home.

Academic rating

The academic rating is made up of equally-weighted parts: students' test scores, their academic growth (for elementary and middle schools) and their readiness for college (for high schools). Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Climate ratings

This rating encompasses five elements of school climate: safety and cleanliness, respect and relationships, expectations for students, teacher collaboration and support, and parent involvement. This school's climate ratings are the result of GreatSchools' analysis of teacher survey data from the Spring 2013 School Climate Survey developed by Milwaukee Public Schools. Unfortunately, this school didn't provide enough survey responses to generate a climate rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black, not Hispanic 97% 10%
White, not Hispanic 2% 73%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 10%
Asian 0% 4%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 7%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 97%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 0%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jazmeka Crain
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dream T.E.A.M. Boys group
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
260
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
350
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 W Douglas Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53209
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 461-5339

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Milwaukee?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Need more information?

Call the GreatSchools hotline at 414-748-1211