Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Johns Evangelical Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 107 students

We are best known for a Christian education with dedicated teachers.

 
 

Living in Mukwonago

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

Wonderful school! The teachers are passionate about promoting a love for learning. My children are thriving at St. John's both academically and spiritually. The sports programs challenge them physically in a Christ-centered atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

Placing our son in St John's Lutheran school after Christmas break turned out to be the best thing for him and us. We really like the faculty and feel our son is getting a high quality education. The public school could not provide the attention our son needed. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

My sons recently transferred here from another larger Lutheran school. I wasn't sure how they would compare but they actually are very similar. The kids get a lot of hands on attention and they love it, they really adjusted nicely. The teachers are superb and the coursework is appropriate and challenges them to a higher level which is great. Nice athletics choices and lots of extra activities for the kids. Friendly group of parents too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

This was one of the best experiences I've had with any school. All the teachers were great, and really kept in close contact. My son especially enjoyed the upper grades teacher. He did many special projects in history, like a USO night where he actually had real WWII uniforms for the kids! My son was also able to participate in many sports; they don't cut players and have excellent coaches. But I didn't realize how wonderful an education he received until he got to high school. His test scores were great, and my "average" son took honors courses. I can't thank the staff enough for the wonderful education and christian training he received. The lessons he learned there and the love of history he now has will follow him through his whole life. Thank you all for being such great teachers and role models. I would recommend this school to anyone wanting the best for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

Our three children transferred to St. John's two years ago and it has proved to be the right decision. They have made many friends and have improved their confidence in academics as well as socially. They have improved in math because of the in school tutoring they have received. They now take pride in their grades and getting their homework done. The school offers many after school activities and excellent coaching in sports. We wish we would have enrolled them sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

We have 2 children that attended St. John's from K-8, then went on to MHS. Their educational background as well as their strong academic background led to standardized test scores well above the public schools in the state - particularly in mathmatics and science. Both of our children are in A/P classes at the high school and are performing well above their peers from the public schools in the area. We would not trade the great foundation laid at St. John's for anything. Great education, great faith building teachers and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

I agree that St. John's does a good job of teaching the Bible and memorization of the Bible, but it was lacking in academics. Our children went to St. John's for several years before we decided to switch to another school. My children now go to a school with more structure and emphasis on academic excellence. They are also enjoying the diversity of classes and students they get to interact with. With so few students at St. John's there's not a lot of choices for friends. I regret that I did not change schools sooner--my children have had some catching up to do. As for the teachers, I think they did the best they could with the support they had. The leadership at St. John's school, in my opinion, is lacking integrity and responsibility as well as a clear vision/plan for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

4 of my children have or are currently attending St. Johns. The teachers and staff are wonderful. Kids get a great Christian education that well prepares them for high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

The most wonderful christian school ever!! I had three children attend st. Johns. Not only did they receive a superior education, they were surrounded by a loving christian staff, supportive parents, and nice children. I would highly recommend it! Christina Kubicek
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

I had 4 kids go through this school, and I can not say enough good things about it. Your children will get plenty of 1 on 1, great sports, Christian fellowship for both the kids and you. Don't let the grade sharing classrooms scare you. It gives the kids a chance to do their homework and work helps them learn to focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 86% 74%
Multiracial 13% 2%
Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 4%
Black, not Hispanic 0% 10%
Hispanic 0% 10%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Japanese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Mukwonago Chamber of Commerce "Simply the Best" Pre-School

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:20 am
School Leader's name
  • Mr. James Schneck
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (262) 363-7383

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Common Core State Standards
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Pioneers
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parents are an integral component
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • blue, black
School mascot
  • Panther
More from this school
  • The mission of St. John’s Lutheran School is to: Assist parents with training their children in the knowledge of Jesus Christ as their Savior. Educating students in all areas of academics in harmony with learning about God. Guiding students in Christian living, and encouraging them to impact the world for Jesus Christ.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Mukwonago Public Schools
Other WELS schools before moving

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mukwonago High School
Wisconsin Lutheran High School (Milwaukee, WI)
Luther Preparatory School (Watertown, WI)
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

410 Hwy NN W
Mukwonago, WI 53149
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 363-4999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT