Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 205 students

Our school is best know for its strong Christian education.

 
 

Living in Onalaska

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

Will not listen to the parents wishes regarding your own child,,,,,They starting taking my son out of his classes without my permission...now when I tell them that couple of years later it has shown that it does not help,,,,will not listen to my wishes.. I know my child better than them,,,he can do it they just do not push him or believe in him.....do not send your child here,,if he or she is not the cookie cutter child they want,,they do everything they can to cover it up,,,,,,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Wow, what an awesome learning environment! I was impressed by the professionalism by all the teachers, and also their availability to us, as a new family starting out. I also am very happy with the student to teacher ratio and their math curriculum, which is unbelievable!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

not at all impressed by this school. Bullying is a huge problem and the staff seems to ignore problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Our son has found a loving Christian environment where he thrives. Not only is learning about our Savior, but the academic achievement that comes from St.Pauls shows much promise for his bright future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

All four of our children have received excellent educations from caring teachers at St. Paul's. The teachers truly care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

St. Paul's is dedicated to giving its students the best education possible as well as building their morals and character so they can be law abiding, productive citizens. The staff is all highly qualified and have a love for teaching and their students. Best of all the staff and curriculum and atmosphere are all Bible based, which gives any student a good model and foundation from which to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

We have one child attending St Paul's. The school is growing and there is solid evidence why this keeps happening. Here you will find loving, caring and compassionate teachers who teach all the curriculum centered around Christs love for us. My child enjoys enjoys the diverse curriculum and it challenges students to grow, both academically and spiritually. We were not members to begin with but felt welcome for the start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

Having a degree in Elem. Ed. myself and no personal experience with a perrochial school prior to St. Paul's, I wasn't sure what to expect. However, my husband and I knew we wanted a strong Christian education for our 2 kids. Since my husband had gone K-12 in Christian schools, I did make somewhat of a 'leap of faith' and agreed to give St. Paul's a try. Little did I know how absolutely thrilled I would be with that decision! My kids are not only receiving a top-notch education, but also a strong foundation in their faith that is beyond anything I expected! Plus, the level of communication between teachers and parents as well as the support we've found among the other parents of students at St. Paul's has proven that our kids are exactly where they should be. Our family as a whole has grown in our faith while strengthening bonds between us and others who share our same values and beliefs. My son still receives Speech Services through the public school district as his therapist comes to St. Paul's as frequently as his IEP has recommended. Bottom line, if you are looking for a strong education that doesn't forget about the values you want instilled in you child, this is the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

We are not currently members of St. Paul's. We were amazed at how welcoming the students, teachers and parents were to us. They made us feel right at home. This is definitely the best school our kids have gone to. It is so nice to have teachers that really care for our kids. It's hard to put into words how wonderful the teachers are at St. Paul's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

I have 4 children that attend St. Pauls and there is a reason why the enrollment has been booming. Class sizes are stretching because parents see the quality and want their children to be a part of it! The teachers are excellent and care not only about the kids quality in education but more importantly their character, values, and faith. We have families that have relocated from other states and have found St. Pauls to be the best when they visited and talked with the staff. We have many families not a part of our congregation that love St. Pauls. Several internationally adopting families attend the school-there is diversity and a family like atmosphere here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Great school! Organized, compassionate, and quality. We are not members of the church, but have always been treated with kindness and acceptance. We've had four kids attend now. Definitely worth checking out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

Not impressed with the Principal or the atmosphere at all. The school is not staffed enough to handle the kids that they have and if you are not a member of the church you or your child will not be accepted so well. They don't show much Christian attitude for it being a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White, not Hispanic 98%
Black, not Hispanic 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0%
Asian 0%
Hispanic 0%
Multiracial 0%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Robert Wiegman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin evangelical lutheran synod
Fax number
  • (608) 779-5942

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Black and Red
School mascot
  • Panther
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
25

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$1000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Luther High School
Onalaska Public High School
Holmen Public High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Main St
Onalaska, WI 54650
Website: Click here
Phone: (608) 783-4822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT