Advertisement
Advertisement

Lourdes High School

Private | 9-12 | 213 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oshkosh

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2013

Please do not send your children to this school. My son was physically abused, and verbally abused for not supporting the republican-christain based leadership at this school. Save your children and send them to Oshkosh West, or Oshkosh North high school instead and provide them with a diversified experience, not a narrow, and very harmful view for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

LHS has provided our boys with the best edcuation available in Oshkosh. Student-teacher ratios aid in academic success rate. The teachers spend so much extra time with kids, even without a union telling them it's time to leave when the bell rings. Parents are involved. Their athletic programs provide stability and their music department is second to none in the city. Watch as the student population increases over the next couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

I have had 2 children attend Lourdes and overall it is a very good school. There are things which could be improved - I think the standards should be tougher and there are a few weak teachers, but all-in-all I'm very happy with my investment. Kids who go to Lourdes need to get involved though - there are lots of things to get involved with so that isn't a problem. However, if your child is totally content to side on the sidelines then it's probably not the best place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

my daughter trasnferred from a public school to Lourdes this last year by her choice. It has been an absolutely wonderful experience. She has always been a good student but she has done exceptional at Lourdes. We are not Catholic but my daughter still does attend the masses and has gotten involved with the Campus Ministries by her choice. It has also been wonderful as far as preparing the student's for college life. They run their classes on a 18 week semester like colleges and it helps the kids prepare much better. We have gotten excellent advice as to what she should be taking for her college career as well. The overall family atmosphere is phenomenal. Everyone is treated the same regardless of age and/or family finances. Overall this school is great and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

Lourdes Is one school you do not want to attend! My suggestion to you would be to try Valley Christian High School what a wonderfull school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2005

i was a student at lourdes 2 years ago. sorry but they are making a dream world for kids they are not teaching real world!! they are just praying thats it. if you wanna be a priest perfect place to go.or if you are a radical republican!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2004

I was enrolled at Lourdes over 10 years ago and the lessons I leared there are still relevant today. At Lourdes teachers care about their students and are dedicated to encouraging students' intellect as well as enriching their character. Teachers are dedicated to an entire Catholic education, which means that they rigorously prepare students for college but also for life. I believe that much of my success is directly due to my education I received at Lourdes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

Lourdes provides a great environment for learning and teachers who really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White, not Hispanic 96%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0%
Black, not Hispanic 0%
Hispanic 0%
Multiracial 0%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Mauthe
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (920) 235-7453

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Green Bay
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 N Sawyer St
Oshkosh, WI 54902
Website: Click here
Phone: (920) 235-5670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


West High School
Oshkosh, WI


North High School
Oshkosh, WI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT