Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeview Technology Academy

Public | 9-12 | 421 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

LakeView Technology Academy is a great school for everyone regardless of your potential clique. The school offers so much to its students, and the staff is outstanding. At LakeView, the students experience small class sizes, interactive learning, and real-life examples of what a job might entail. The small class sizes allow for the teachers to connect with the students better and further the learning experience. Through the three tracks (biomedical, engineering, and information technology), students not only learn beyond the expected, but apply it to the unexpected. The real-life examples further a student's education because it creates a seriousness to the fun learning. LakeView, not only allows anyone to fit into all groups, but allows the students to define the personality of the school. Although many know LakeView as a 'nerdy' school, it really isn't. There are people of all cliques at the school. The staff also play a large part in the learning and great experience. A day is never dull at LakeView. Overall, LakeView is truly the experience in the high school experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2013

This school is absolutely amazing. Having transferred to Lakeview from another KUSD school, the change is refreshing. I'm for the most part surrounded by intelligent kids who actually care about learning. My teachers are all highly competent. All my classes are challenging and actually interesting, and I've already learned a substantial amount in just one quarter. Transferring here was definitely the best decision I've made in awhile.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2013

This school was wonderful for my 2nd son who was planning on being an Engineer but decided the liked the BioMed better so now he wants to be doctor. The staff is wonderful and has called me personally with concerns. My 3rd son is attending now. His WKCE test scores were excellent which I attribute to the excellent preparation. My sons did/are participating in Orchestra. You can tell that these are some of the most motivated students in the district because the Orchestra teachers have all told me these are the best students they have. Having peers who care so much about their academic performance as my boys do really motivated them. My older son was also well prepared for AP tests and was able to save us a significant amount of tuition by passing those test. I would really recommend it for any child who excels in Math and Science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

I personally love this school. The teachers here are amazing, most have masters degrees. It's a technology school so most of the information we're learning is actually useful. multiple people have complained about things like the walls, they are fine, i actually prefer it. I don't feel like I'm trapped in the room. We don't have a library but that isn't a ig deal because our home schools do. we can also take a language or art class at our home school if we choose. We can also participate at sports there. We are also given the privwelie to use our personal laptops off of the network which is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2010

Any school has its problems and students who don't reach goals, theirs or parents. Lakeview has the highest academic reputation of the KUSD in many areas. There are great students throughout the district in the various high schools; those students usually seek out and find the good students while staying clear of trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

horrible. all the teachers have problems, such a disruptive learning enviroment. cannot stand the no walls, and the students play video games at lucnh. they dont allow ipods, but video games are accepted.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2007

Great School with small personal classes. Also linked to college


Posted April 28, 2005

Good school. Shares a lot of resources with the two feeder schools Tremper and Bradford. Lakeview is a basic Engineering and CAD type curriculum. The student graduates with Gateway and Marquette College credits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

The classes are good. We have no library, art classes, music classes, or elective classes. The sports teams are few and we only play 1 or 2 schools.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 70% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 76% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students83%
Female91%
Male81%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant83%

Math

All Students62%
Female71%
Male60%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin67%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant62%

Reading

All Students59%
Female68%
Male56%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin61%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Non-migrant59%

Science

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin93%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female100%
Male89%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 83% 73%
Hispanic 11% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 3% 10%
Asian 2% 4%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 7%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 1%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 55%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 43%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 96%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • William Hittman
Fax number
  • (262) 359-8159

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9449 88th Ave
Pleasant Prairie, WI 53158
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 359-8155

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Victory Baptist Academy
Pleasant Prairie, WI



Kenosha Eschool
Kenosha, WI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT