Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing I would never take my child to another school. She always feels like she fits in and gets the help she needs.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 1

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
This school has some major issues with discipline problems. The teachers are typically unaware of what is going on in their classrooms and hallways. The administration rarely takes corrective action with problem children and seems to have a head in the sand approach about what is going on. Students bring unapproved items to school like knives, cigarettes, or worse and flaunt them in front of other students with little regard for consequences. I am looking into moving my child to a neighboring school district as I do not see an interest by the school's leadership to make improvements.
1 person found this helpful


Thomas Jefferson Middle School 3

Posted February 20, 2012
- a community member
I find it HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS that all the positive reviews were entered on the SAME DAY. TJ is decent, but not the best in the county or state as claimed by one "parent".
1 person found this helpful

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a student
I think that this school is amazing. It's the longest I've ever stayed in the same district and the teachers are very helpful. Although some are strict, they're just doing their jobs. It has a lot of difficult students to put up with. I hav no idea how they do it! Cassi Pentony


Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted May 24, 2007
- a parent
As a family we looked at different schools within Ozaukee County and choose to use the 'School Choice Program'. We selected Thomas Jefferson Middle School for our son to attend. We chose this due to the school's wonderful academic and extra curricular activities. TJMS offered many more programs that would challenge him then his home school. He has been there 3 years and has had a very positive experience. His teachers went above and beyond to help him get acclimated and be a successful learner. There has been more than enough extra curricular activities for him to join, more than he could ever fit into his school day. All in all we would recommend Thomas Jefferson Middle school to anyone looking for a good quality school.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted May 23, 2007
- a staff
The administration constantly strives to insure that academic programs excell and continually look for ways to help struggling students. The variety of extracurricular activities and related arts programs is outstanding. We have a large and active parent group with monthly meetings and quarterly Family Night Forums - a family meal, parent group meeting and a speaker on a topic of interest to parents, homework help and recreational activities for the kids. There is no charge to attend. Thomas Jefferson Middle School was awarded the National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award several years ago. And, as good as the school was then, it has only gotten better since that time!

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 4

Posted May 21, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Thomas Jefferson Middle School 4

Posted May 21, 2007
- a parent
Recently, I chaperoned a 5th grade field trip and was very pleased to hear several comments of praise for the behavior of the students by the historical society tour guides. Also, as a parent of a child in the TAG program, I am very satisfied with the assessments and procedures for my child's academic success. The administration is very open to communicate with parents. I especially enjoy the daily email announcements.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted May 17, 2007
- a parent
TJMS is a great school with a lot to offer every student. There are several clubs to join to student senate to a lot of sport teams. If your child cannot find an extra curricular activity to join that suites them, they are not looking. Our experience with the staff has been exceptional. Both of our children have prospered both academically and socially. Our family has been more than satisfied with TJMS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Jefferson Middle School
1403 N Holden St, Port Washington, WI  53074
(262) 268-6100
Last modified Thomas Jefferson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Jefferson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top