Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Port Washington, WI
Students enrolled: 242
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Port Washington Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Dear Catholic Parents, Please note this school no longer follows the Teachings and Principles of the Faith. They no longer have a large enough enrollment to fund even the most basic programs. The good Teachers have left, the ones that are left have no where to go. The Principal is a blundering buffoon incapable of even the most simple of school managerial tasks, never mind growing the organization/, we are talking stemming the exodus. The Parish Leadership (Fr.) is indifferent and gives the impression that he is complicit in the failure of this school. Run. Dedicated Practicing Catholic Family

Port Washington Catholic School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
This is an area where promises and reality never met, there was never any focus on the benefit of homework and the benefit of personal initiative that homework teaches.


Port Washington Catholic School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Yes, with the right Parental guidance you need grit, persistence and determination to survive the constant bombardment by those that are incapable of guiding these traits to the benefit of the student.

Port Washington Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
They allow disruptive, destructive and unfaithful behavior due to their overinflated egos and vanity. This is a place that is living in the past and failing to measure up to what is promised in so many ways - intentionally.

Port Washington Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
They excel at segregating, demeaning and belittling students in order to make them understand they are not worthy.


Port Washington Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The simple things that you teach your child, truth, faith, honesty, courtesy are rejected and discouraged.

Port Washington Catholic School 1

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
After 3 years of tuition for two students we have thrown in the towel after actively trying to effect change but being blocked by the attitudes and behaviors of those that do not deserve our hard earned money paid for a better, faith based education.

Port Washington Catholic School 5

Posted August 12, 2009
- a parent
Best school in town. Students who graduate from Port Catholic are generally better prepared academically for high school. A wonderful atmosphere of respect, caring and discipline for students to excel in.


Port Washington Catholic School 5

Posted March 19, 2008
- a parent
I moved to Port Washington in 2005 and my son entered Port Catholic's St. Peter's campus in 5th grade. He is now in 7th grade. He had been in public school in Illinois. I have been very happy with Port Catholic staff, curriculm, athletics and the faith filled respectful enviroment that it has supports our family values. I highly recommend this school. Its safe and not filled with popular culture diversions, poor language and disrespectful kids. Jean, parent

Port Washington Catholic School 5

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
I love the school, its teachers and students; they are like family. It is a warm, caring environment centered around the children and their growth. The school has a library, computer room, gymnasium, Pre-K classes, fantastic on-site childcare before and after school hours, extracurricular classes available, Girl Scout Troops...centered around religion. It is located on St. Mary's Hill with a playground right next to the Church. You don't have to be a member of St. Peter's or St. Mary's to attend the school. The scholastic grades of students have for decades been consistently higher than those of the public school. In a year or two we'll have two children attending Port Catholic. Try visiting for a day to see the difference.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Port Washington Catholic School
1802 North Wisconsin Street, Port Washington, WI  53074
(262) 284-2682
Last modified Port Washington Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Port Washington Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top