Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Racine, WI
Students enrolled: 640
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Prairie School 1

Posted November 30, 2014
- a parent
Don t waste your money on the education that is not worse it. I agree kids love it . Reason it is not about rigorous education. No real testing, no spelling bees, no foreign language until 6th Grade, no actual grades till 7th Grade, no gifted and talented program.School will tell you, that their math program is one year ahead. Yes, starting 5th Grade they are trying to teach 6-7th Grade Math. However, most of the children are not ready. Majority of parents are supplementing with additional tutoring. Starting 5th Grade, parents have to rent an I-pad. As a result, 10 year old kids taking videos, pics at school, posting them on social media. Parents are left with the task of controlling their children s internet usage instead of education. There is no PTO! Parent involvement allowed only for fundraising and volunteering.A good indicator of quality education is the list of Universities, graduates attend. It is not impressive.The School is losing attendance and this year new administration started to advertise more. It is also visible at www.greatschools.org, where an increased amount of reviews were posted in recent year only.

The Prairie School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
We love this school. Our son is in the Primary School is thriving. He loves going to school each day and does not want to leave at the end of the day. Science is his favorite subject and is enjoying the coding and robotics class.
1 person found this helpful


The Prairie School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a teacher
Having been on staff at Prairie for five years, I am kicking myself for not exposing my four grown children to a Prairie School education. The dedication of the teachers is immeasurable - always challenging and encouraging students to go a step beyond... The opportunities to learn go well beyond a 'desk' education - the glassblowing lab, theater productions, rocket science experiments, musical performances, athletic programs - all combine to give students a blueprint for their future learning. I am fortunate to be a part of this wonderful school.

The Prairie School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
Prairie School has been a wonderful place for our son! The teaches are amazing, the opportunities are incredible (math/science/writing as well as art!) and the philosophy is a great reflection of how we, as a family, view education. Although it's a huge investment, we know that it will be well worth the money - especially if he's able to obtain the current average college scholarships that many of the Prairie graduates receive! Prairie School is AWESOME!!

The Prairie School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
Prairie School develops kids to be successful academically, but also prepares them for future in college and workplace by encouraging active participation, opportunities for leadership, fitness/sports/healthy lifestyle, and community service. Yes - there are a lot of wealthy families at Prairie, but these are families that are community leaders in volunteering, donation, and supporting organizations outside the school. The majority of families have hardworking parents who make trade-offs to afford Prairie. Being a full-time working mom, there was great peace of mind knowing our kids were in a safe, nurturing environment, with teachers very tuned into to our family. Communication between administration, teachers, and parents is great. No child gets lost in the shuffle, and individual talents and strengths are encouraged. The main reason we choose to stay living in Racine is because of Prairie School, we truly believe there is not a better educational offering or investment we could make in our kids.


The Prairie School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
We are current Prairie parents. What Prairie has provided for our children cannot be measured. They are leaders, they work hard, they are compassionate, they feel accountable, they are goal-setters. They are good kids with friends from many backgrounds and cultures. They understand that they are very fortunate to attend Prairie. We are not wealthy, and receive financial aid, just like 40% of other families at Prairie. Our older children entered college far better prepared than their peers. We thank Prairie for giving our kids an awesome start in life!

The Prairie School 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
The best education in SE Wisconsin. I am an alumni who was able to get into the school of my choice. I am a parent of three who attend the school. The small class sizes are great for teachers to really teach each child individually and inspire them in many ways. A well rounded education with high aspirations of academic, athletic and personal development are keys to Prairie's success. Prairie is a must for parents looking for the best opportunity for success of their children.

The Prairie School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Great school with a solid balance of academics and extra activities. Smaller class sizes give good attention from teachers. Get to know the administration, especially the college counseling office. Extra help may be needed periodically and this is useful. Sports program is very strong though track and volleyball are weak. Tennis, Basketball and especially soccer are state renowned. New Headmaster should bring continued innovative ideas but still early.


The Prairie School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
The best school I found in the area that will provide my children with an advantage when they enter college. I'd sacrifice a few luxurys to provide this for my family. Prairie's college placement program offers guidance and expertise not found in other schools. Being part of Prairie has been a totally rewarding experience for our entire family.

The Prairie School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Prairie teaches great study habits and exposes the students to a wide variety of activities. A very inclusive and tight student body. I have had two children and six grandchildren attend the school and they are thankful for the experience that they had at Prairie.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Prairie School
4050 Lighthouse Dr, Racine, WI  53402
(262) 752-2500
Last modified The Prairie School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Prairie School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top