Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
640 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Prairie School 5

Posted July 15, 2016
- a parent
This school is awesome,the staff is great. The staff seem to work as a team, and focus on students individual goals and outcomes.

The Prairie School 5

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
We love this school! The new teachers, programs and support systems are great! New music teachers are exceptional and the program is growing.


The Prairie School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a community member
I am almost 40 years old now and I went to The Prairie School from 4th grade until graduating high school. I look at myself as a successful entrepreneur and also my fellow classmates who now range from being an architect, artist, doctor, project manager, film producer, successful parents... well rounded individuals who are easy-going with the same fortune I had -- being able to attend an exceptional school. I can't comprehend the negative reviews. What I cherish most about the school are how the teachers care so much about each person and making sure that they are given respect despite being the student. Most of the teachers I had 20 years ago are still there. If you get a chance to go to Prairie, then consider yourself in the 'lucky' category. You'll be well on your way for a fulfilling future.

The Prairie School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
Prairie School students are always working hard at putting themselves in the shoes of others, the teachers model this behavior daily.

The Prairie School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
No locks on any of the lockers in the whole school - that speaks volumes!


The Prairie School 5

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is a recent grad from Prairie School, having attended since elementary school. She was accepted to 5 college/universities across the country and now attends OC in Los Angeles. The amount of scholarship money she and her classmates were offered for college was unbelievable! In fact, the college scholarship she received was more than we had to pay for high school!

The Prairie School 5

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
I have been a parent here for 5 years and we love it. The program is strong and it is more than meeting the needs of our two very different children. Our gifted son is challenged and loves the arts program and our daughter who has few learning challenges is fully supported and is have a great year thriving in the athletic program. A few too many new students in the high school who can't keep up in class, but other than that, AWESOME!

The Prairie School 3

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
Parent of a student who attended for 8 years. The good: - Its a lot better than RUSD - only choice in the area that is not parochial - great physical facilities - a lot of people in supportng roles - library, counselors, etc The not so good: - they do not plan schedues well, and provide poor schedule counseling. Dont count on classes your child planned to take being there Junior or senior year, and those that are are over subscribed (11 seniors on waiting list for introduction to psych???) - lack of flexibilty...expect zero customization to meet a students individual needs - for this level school and the cost, they dont have a very impressive college admissions list. - its quite pricey and expect a lot of additional costs added - its on the way down...enrollment declining.


The Prairie School 5

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic program, great teachers - so many options for my kids. The new head guy seems to 'get it', which could be good long-term. Beautiful new soccer field...there's nothing better around!

The Prairie School 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a student
I love this school. Coming here in 9th grade was the best decision I have ever made. The teachers care about us and treat us with respect. The work load is steady but no busy work. I wish there was a swim team, but other than that, AWESOME School!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Prairie School
4050 Lighthouse Dr, Racine, WI  53402
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (262) 752-2500
Last modified The Prairie School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top