Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Somers, WI
Students enrolled: 317
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted March 24, 2015
- a student
Shoreland is a good school but not life. As a student that went here the classes that are offered teach you nothing about the real world. The teachers need to refresh the stuff that they teach. We are using books and worksheets form the 90's in some classes. As a response to the old ways of teaching the faculty decided to revamp the way of teaching and force the whole student body to purchase Chrome books. As a student I already purchased a laptop the year before but you must use a Chrome book. The Chrome books are barely used as none of the teachers understand how to use them. The internet is terrible here. Those who have a computer or Chrome book are not able to connect and therefore nothing gets done. The money we get is wasted on stupid things. The athletic department receives way to much money. Although our sports teams suck, we can still afford to buy new scoreboards, new football jerseys and helmets. They waste money.The Technology directer needs to be watched as he has to much power and is terrible at what he does. We spent so much money on the new expansion but we can't have the outlets in the science rooms work. The school overall needs to gets its priority's straight.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted March 24, 2015
- a student
You parents can talk all you want about how its a great school, but the truth is, you have no idea what goes on day to day. All the previous reviews that claim the teachers make us do "household chores" are TRUE. Pulling students out of class or away from studies to have us do work for them is a common occurrence that happens every day. The method of teaching is garbage too. I have one class where we walk in, watch videos someone els has made, and then we take tests on the book we never read. Its also very embarrassing that our principal, dean of students, guidance counselor, and academic adviser all have to teach classes that they were never certified for. The dress code is stupid. guys can wear shorter shorts then the Girls. There is also an excessive amount of favoritism and sexism that happens. I was actually told after asking to use the restroom that "Guys don't have to go to the bathroom" and then was proceeded by 3 girls getting to leave to go use it. And God forbid we don't want to be a Pastor or a teacher. I had an older sister graduate and the guidance counselor stopped helping her because she didn't want to go to the ever so loved MLC. Save your $950 A MONTH!


Shoreland Lutheran High School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
Shjoreland is a wonderful Christ-centered school! I have 2 daughters who presently attend Shoreland and 2 more daughters who will attend in the next few years. The students receive a thorough education, a well-rounded athletic experience, fantastic caring teachers - and all within a Christian atmosphere.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
The teachers of this school truly go above and beyond for their students. My son is a sophomore at Shoreland. He decided mid year that he wanted to take pre-calculus his junior year but didn't have the prerequisite math needed. A teacher is voluntarily helping him work through the math needed the rest of this year and over the summer to help my son accomplish his goals. We are so blessed to have a school that goes the extra mile to make sure our son is successful.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
We're Lutheran and our children went here. We would NOT send/ recommend. Ask ROI? How many AP classes/scores? Are teachers trained to teach AP? Are all teachers state (not WELS) certified/is guidance department trained/credentialed? Staff with advanced degrees? Is infrastructure up to standard/resources like computers, etc., appropriate for launch into college/business world? Is curriculum current? Role of women, can't vote on matters? Any females in leadership admin roles? Enrollment - down & why? Lots of "shenanigans" occur here that wouldn't in public school or business. Students clean, set up tables during classes. During class, interventions are planned for students who are not WELS. Students are put in a room alone with administrators to discuss why they aren't going to a WELS college and that they are damned. The admin/board is comprised of the same people, so no transparency. Fiscally insolvent. Privacy issues abound, as files/conversations/emails shared in confidence with pastors/ staff are shared/ discussed with staff /students. Acad. rigor is not as challenging as public honors program. Talk of new science wing? Lipstick on a pig doesn't change that it is still a pig.


Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
I don't think children need to attend a private school to turn into contributing members of society. Nor do they have to be WELS to be functional. I have and know students in the public system who are loving, caring, Christian and who contribute to society in wonderful ways. They also have MBAs and work in desirable positions. They have a strong faith community and values, raised in Christian homes. Unfortunately, there are those in this WELS system who judge and think that their faith/way is the only "correct" path. It isolates and turns others away. Other reviews here shared personal experiences, which they are entitled to do. Bringing someone's faith, or their supposed lack of it based on your own judgement, has nothing to do with the school's programming, politics or overall success. Don't paint with such a wide brush - there are many wonderful Shoreland students, but there are also many wonderful students who have faith and did not attend Shoreland and chose a different school for a variety of reasons. Advice? Investigate, plan an unscheduled visit and google WELS and some articles to get a accurate understanding of the school and synod. Ultimately, it is a personal choice.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 4

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Shoreland Lutheran High School is a fine Wisconsin Synod school that provides a great education. Unfortunately they have to suffer from the comments of parents that aren't Lutheran and in many cases not even Christian who make their judgements based on society rather than God's Word.. But, so be it if, if it exposes their children to God's saving gospel for their time as a student there. My 4 son's went there helping to develop them into one Pastor, one health professional, one businessman with an MBA, and one computer operator still working on his education. All four are responsible citizens that contribute to society, and the married ones are loving Christian fathers. The investment in Shoreland has given us many blessings. Our only reservation comes as a result of abandoning the great dress code they had for many years.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
Does not prepare students for college! If you just want your child to graduate and hear God's word and nothing more, this is the place for you. In my 6 years, I witnessed a complete lack of consistency in teaching/methods, discipline, and communications to parents. For example; Foreign language- every year for 4yrs there were new teachers, methods/styles of teaching- does not build from year to year. Some of the teachers are teaching the same material with the same methods they used 30yrs ago. Departments don't work together for the students benefit. Teachers and Admin have become lackadaisical and have low standards. Over 6 years I noticed an increasing number of graduates go off to college only to fail and come home after first semester. That speaks volumes! Students learn how to get away with irresponsible behaviors such as lieing, cheating, mediocrity, and worse. In addition, the administration will do anything to save face & reputation including sweeping serious situations and offenses under the rug. It's a shame that this school is allowed to operate in this manner. There are 2 or 3 excellent teachers, but in the end, that's not enough for a complete HS education.


Shoreland Lutheran High School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
The last post couldn't be further from the truth. Here is the truth that is posted in the Kenosha News paper...Shoreland s composite scores led the way with 23.9 out of a possible 36 points. St. Joseph Catholic Academy followed with 23.3 and Christian Life School with 22.9. The greatest compliment that a parent can receive is one from a stranger regarding their child s actions outside of the home. I was contacted by the Associate Director for Student Success from the College that my son attends. The Director wanted to let me know what an incredible, articulate, leader that my son is. She mentioned to me that during her years of service that she rarely comes across a freshmen with his approachability, kindness and poise. I told her that it has always been a "community effort" in raising my children. We have always done our best to surround our children with wonderful people and with God always at the forefront. The teachers at SLHS all take pride in the quality of education and lives that they are building. I appreciate the faculty and I know for a fact that they are doing a fantastic job! I love this school.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted September 04, 2012
- a community member
Poor choice, not for all. If member of the WELS you'll do okay. Outsiders are expected to conform or expect planned "interventions" from staff. School is dirty - bugs, toilets not cleaned/overflowing, no professional janitorial service, etc.. Recent ACT scores not that great as compared to St. Joe's/public schools. Computer lab outdated/constantly crashing, and teachers are out of the room. Since not part of public school, teachers must find and pay for their own subs, so they typically do not and students end up being left unattended for class periods. Students are regularly pulled out of classes/study halls to prep for events, cleaning and set-up. Administrative staff has no real accountabilty, only to their board, which is made up families/friends, so no real change takes place. Enrollment has dwindled over the last several years and there is a reason why. Academics, lack of professionalism, resources are not comparable to area private/public schools. Ask about admin staff and count how many women are in position of "authority." Women teachers cannot lead "men" (boys over certain age) in prayer/other situations so male teachers must come supervise such situations.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shoreland Lutheran High School
Po Box 295, Somers, WI  53171
(262) 859-2595
Last modified Shoreland Lutheran High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Shoreland Lutheran High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top