Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
We're Lutheran and our children went here. We would NOT send/ recommend. Ask ROI? How many AP classes/scores? Are teachers trained to teach AP? Are all teachers state (not WELS) certified/is guidance department trained/credentialed? Staff with advanced degrees? Is infrastructure up to standard/resources like computers, etc., appropriate for launch into college/business world? Is curriculum current? Role of women, can't vote on matters? Any females in leadership admin roles? Enrollment - down & why? Lots of "shenanigans" occur here that wouldn't in public school or business. Students clean, set up tables during classes. During class, interventions are planned for students who are not WELS. Students are put in a room alone with administrators to discuss why they aren't going to a WELS college and that they are damned. The admin/board is comprised of the same people, so no transparency. Fiscally insolvent. Privacy issues abound, as files/conversations/emails shared in confidence with pastors/ staff are shared/ discussed with staff /students. Acad. rigor is not as challenging as public honors program. Talk of new science wing? Lipstick on a pig doesn't change that it is still a pig.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
I don't think children need to attend a private school to turn into contributing members of society. Nor do they have to be WELS to be functional. I have and know students in the public system who are loving, caring, Christian and who contribute to society in wonderful ways. They also have MBAs and work in desirable positions. They have a strong faith community and values, raised in Christian homes. Unfortunately, there are those in this WELS system who judge and think that their faith/way is the only "correct" path. It isolates and turns others away. Other reviews here shared personal experiences, which they are entitled to do. Bringing someone's faith, or their supposed lack of it based on your own judgement, has nothing to do with the school's programming, politics or overall success. Don't paint with such a wide brush - there are many wonderful Shoreland students, but there are also many wonderful students who have faith and did not attend Shoreland and chose a different school for a variety of reasons. Advice? Investigate, plan an unscheduled visit and google WELS and some articles to get a accurate understanding of the school and synod. Ultimately, it is a personal choice.


Shoreland Lutheran High School 4

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Shoreland Lutheran High School is a fine Wisconsin Synod school that provides a great education. Unfortunately they have to suffer from the comments of parents that aren't Lutheran and in many cases not even Christian who make their judgements based on society rather than God's Word.. But, so be it if, if it exposes their children to God's saving gospel for their time as a student there. My 4 son's went there helping to develop them into one Pastor, one health professional, one businessman with an MBA, and one computer operator still working on his education. All four are responsible citizens that contribute to society, and the married ones are loving Christian fathers. The investment in Shoreland has given us many blessings. Our only reservation comes as a result of abandoning the great dress code they had for many years.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
Does not prepare students for college! If you just want your child to graduate and hear God's word and nothing more, this is the place for you. In my 6 years, I witnessed a complete lack of consistency in teaching/methods, discipline, and communications to parents. For example; Foreign language- every year for 4yrs there were new teachers, methods/styles of teaching- does not build from year to year. Some of the teachers are teaching the same material with the same methods they used 30yrs ago. Departments don't work together for the students benefit. Teachers and Admin have become lackadaisical and have low standards. Over 6 years I noticed an increasing number of graduates go off to college only to fail and come home after first semester. That speaks volumes! Students learn how to get away with irresponsible behaviors such as lieing, cheating, mediocrity, and worse. In addition, the administration will do anything to save face & reputation including sweeping serious situations and offenses under the rug. It's a shame that this school is allowed to operate in this manner. There are 2 or 3 excellent teachers, but in the end, that's not enough for a complete HS education.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
The last post couldn't be further from the truth. Here is the truth that is posted in the Kenosha News paper...Shoreland s composite scores led the way with 23.9 out of a possible 36 points. St. Joseph Catholic Academy followed with 23.3 and Christian Life School with 22.9. The greatest compliment that a parent can receive is one from a stranger regarding their child s actions outside of the home. I was contacted by the Associate Director for Student Success from the College that my son attends. The Director wanted to let me know what an incredible, articulate, leader that my son is. She mentioned to me that during her years of service that she rarely comes across a freshmen with his approachability, kindness and poise. I told her that it has always been a "community effort" in raising my children. We have always done our best to surround our children with wonderful people and with God always at the forefront. The teachers at SLHS all take pride in the quality of education and lives that they are building. I appreciate the faculty and I know for a fact that they are doing a fantastic job! I love this school.


Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted September 04, 2012
- a community member
Poor choice, not for all. If member of the WELS you'll do okay. Outsiders are expected to conform or expect planned "interventions" from staff. School is dirty - bugs, toilets not cleaned/overflowing, no professional janitorial service, etc.. Recent ACT scores not that great as compared to St. Joe's/public schools. Computer lab outdated/constantly crashing, and teachers are out of the room. Since not part of public school, teachers must find and pay for their own subs, so they typically do not and students end up being left unattended for class periods. Students are regularly pulled out of classes/study halls to prep for events, cleaning and set-up. Administrative staff has no real accountabilty, only to their board, which is made up families/friends, so no real change takes place. Enrollment has dwindled over the last several years and there is a reason why. Academics, lack of professionalism, resources are not comparable to area private/public schools. Ask about admin staff and count how many women are in position of "authority." Women teachers cannot lead "men" (boys over certain age) in prayer/other situations so male teachers must come supervise such situations.

Shoreland Lutheran High School 5

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
What a Wonderful School!! I had four children graduate from the school. Each one loved their high school years. Each one was extremely well prepared for college. Each one will have Christian friends for life that came from their high school relationships. From a parent's perspective all of that is wonderful but the most important part of the Shoreland experience was the constant contact with God's word delivered by faith-filled, caring teachers and administrators. I would recommend Shoreland to anyone who wants a quality, Christian based education for their children!

Shoreland Lutheran High School 1

Posted August 17, 2012
- a student
This school is a horrible representation of what Christians are. I went there, and was appalled at the bullying and language. Its true, these kids have no respect for anyone. I now go to a different Christian school, that is amazing.


Shoreland Lutheran High School 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a community member
excellent school. Great academics, activities, staff, environment, sports, location, and student body. Great Christian environment!

Shoreland Lutheran High School 5

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent and grandparent of SLHS students. I've been to Shoreland countless times, and have always been totally impressed at the quality education Shoreland offers, the sonderful, caring staff, the respectful students and the wonderful closeness the students and parents have at SLHS. I also love seeing how much the teachers and student like each other...they are very close...It is one of the best rated in Wisconsin, as well. It is definitely easier to discipline students when they use Christian principles. What would Jesus want you to do? Any child able to attend is very fortunate and it is money well spent. I did prefer the earlier dress code, which was stricter. Kids do act better when they are dressed better... One teacher was known to have told an unruly student..."The first time I have difficulty with you, I talk to you, the second time I send you to the Principal, the third time I invite myself to your home for dinner...Excellent...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shoreland Lutheran High School
Po Box 295, Somers, WI  53171
(262) 859-2595
Last modified Shoreland Lutheran High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Shoreland Lutheran High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top