Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Templeton Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
To the teachers who challenged my son -- THANK YOU and to the teacher who is a passionate lover of learning and can't help but pass it along to his kids -- A million thanks for showing my son that learning does not have to be boring.

Templeton Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
Depending on the child, extra curriculars and academic ability it varies. For one of my kids it was 'just right to too much' an for the other not enough! It was great practice for high school and it prepared them for the rigor of AP and honors courses - which is the whole point.


Templeton Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
My child was challenged individually based on his aptitudes - he was encouraged to push himself and supported in stretching his learning in an area of interest.

Templeton Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
My son's poor decision was greeted with compassion and empathy -- even as he was given a consequence for his choice and expected to make amends. Administration was fair in holding him accountable.

Templeton Middle School 5

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
TMS strives to meet students where they are. Teachers recognize ability and work to develop individual challenges for each student. Staff and instructors are professional and parents are treated with respect. Academic achievement is regularly recognized and administrators work to maintain a cutting edge approach to instruction and learning to ensure students are supported and challenged.


Templeton Middle School 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been very happy at Templeton. Our sons have learned so much from the caring and supportive teachers and staff. So happy we moved to this school district.

Templeton Middle School 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
I have an 8th and a 6th grader this year at TMS. Last year Dr. Mielke became our new Principal. Things have been changing for the better. We've had issues with our older child not being organized and not turning things in. So far there is A LOT more communication initiated by the teachers-which is AMAZING! My son loves all his allied classes-esp. Art and Tech-there is a 3D printer. This year the "House" plan has been changed to 3 per grade with an advisement period worked into each day - to get extra help, do homework or enrichment. A program is also starting which surveys each student on what their strengths/weaknesses are in learning. With the results they will set goals, which the staff will follow up on. My kids and I are happy with TMS.

Templeton Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Schneider in 7th grade totally rocks! This teacher is so passionate about his role atTMS-he really cares about his students - made my son a cup of tea when his throat was feeling wonky!


Templeton Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
I have an 8th and 6th grader this year at TMS. There were some communication issues when my oldest started, but there is a new Principal who is making some great changes-advisement period built into the day, individualized learning/goal setting and House reorganization. Communication with the staff has improved 100% and my kids like their teachers and classes - esp. the allied classes like Art and Tech.

Templeton Middle School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Templeton is a wonderful place where my kids have grown as students and as people. Starting in 6th grade, the teachers "get" that the students will have a lot of adjustments to make into middle school, and they do a great job of helping them through the transitions. Through 7th and 8th grade, they increasingly help the students prepare for their high school experience. The new principal is in the process of taking the school from "good to great" and I have seen many changes for the better in the last year+ that he has been in place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Templeton Middle School
N59w22490 Silver Spring Dr, Sussex, WI  53089
(262) 246-6477 x4149
Last modified Templeton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Templeton Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top