Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Valders High School 1

Posted July 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Valders High School 1

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Valders High School 1

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Valders High School 0
no rating

Posted January 14, 2009
- a parent
This is a response to the negative comments made in an earlier entry. Regarding teacher notification of late homework; it seems to me personal responsibility is the bigger issue. Our school has taken meany measures to keep the parents informed of their child's academic standing. For one, the skyward site is accessible to anyone who has access to a computer and the internet. I check my children's grades regularly, and I make them accountable for late work, not their teachers. Assignment notebooks are given to each student to record their daily homework. A daily check of this by the parents may help. Making our children accountable for thier homework will make them responsible individuals that do not need to rely on blame and excuses to justify their behaviors. I am proud of our school and the high standards it sets for our students both academically and in extra curricular activities.

Valders High School 4

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of 2 children in the school district and a graduate of the district as well it is an awesome atmosphere in which to raise children. The school, while small, provides tremendous opportunity in the liberal arts areas. Teachers are genuinely concerned with the well-being of the kids and go above and beyond to see them succeed. Extra curriculars are encouraged and as a whole you have a very active student body, as an example over 50% of the students participate in the music department.


Valders High School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
Valders is a great school district. I really like the 'small town atmosphere' and the fact that teachers really know their students and care about them. There are plenty of activities for students to get involved in and extra-curriculars are encouraged. I feel that Valders has an excellent teaching staff and the facilities are well-kept and something to be proud of. I would highly recommend the Valders School District to parents looking for a good quality education for their kids.
1 person found this helpful

Valders High School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
Valders has an exceptional school district. Even though the school may be small the caring teachers, diverse classes, extra-curricular activities are just a small part of what make it a great school. The Liberal Arts programs at Valders is outstanding, with teachers going above and beyond what is expected. I work in Manitowoc and many of my co-workers have students in the Manitowoc Public School District and I hear on a very regular basis, how lucky my children are to be attending Valders. Every school district has problems but you rarely hear about problems at Valders and if you do they are handled quickly and in a very appropriate manner.
1 person found this helpful

Valders High School 0
no rating

Posted January 11, 2009
- a parent
We moved from De Pere Schools (which are excellent with many chances for earning college credit in high school) to Valders for my son. It is a wonderful fit for him. He was welcomed, the teacher's try to get to know him, he has a chance at some unique learning (where one can taxidermy a fish!), small town atmosphere, and yet still gets good math and science courses. He is making friends who have similar interests - ATV riding, dogs, and working on cars. I love Valders and would recommend this small community to anyone wanting a change to the rural/small town life. We do have a Piggy Wiggly, a butcher, a vet, and a Post Office in town. Manitowoc is only 10 miles away for hospitals, library, college courses, etc.
1 person found this helpful


Valders High School 4

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
The school has a reasonable dress code which is inforced, the staff is caring and knowledgable, missing assignments are readily accessible online or by email. This is a fine school system.

Valders High School 1

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
Teachers rarely work with parents, rather the school encourages defiance. Dress code not followed, missing homework not conveyed to parents. Seems as if the kids are in charge at this school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valders High School
201 W Wilson St, Valders, WI  54245
(920) 775-9530
Last modified Valders High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valders High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top