Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Wales, WI
Students enrolled: 1,337
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kettle Moraine High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Don't see anything other than Best Buddies that works on integrity. But it may be out there.

Kettle Moraine High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Definitely depends on the teachers. I think many try, but in the block schedule, they have 90 minutes to fill. For a math teacher, that can be difficult without resorting to giving them a study hall for the last 30 minutes, which apparently is what is happening. I don't believe most teachers wanted this schedule either.


Kettle Moraine High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
You know how teenagers are. They all know they don't have to work hard because they will be graded easily (5 on scale of 5) or can re-take or re-assess any test and bump up their grade. That doesn't instill persistence to work hard, but laziness, in my opinion. Homework is not graded at all, so that too doesn't create a drive to learn the material until you really understand it. Parents have a hard time knowing how much their child really grasps because of the reassessing and non-graded homework.

Kettle Moraine High School 3

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
I think the rigor and quality of instruction has really slid in the last 5 years. I believe it's content to ride on its reputation, and it embraces every new trend in education, whether proven to be a good thing for the students or not. Parents have no voice. Specific examples are their change to a reassessment policy that parents fought and lost and their recent switch to block scheduling, which parents fought and lost again. We moved our child after freshman year because there was no challenge in the academics and the 4x4 block schedule was coming, which has many cons.

Kettle Moraine High School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
KMHS is a wonderful school. Very engaged parents, teachers and administration. Very strong academics. We have been very happy.


Kettle Moraine High School 2

Posted January 22, 2012
- a student
They have a grading system where you don't have to do any homework (it's not graded) and on the 'benchmarks' aka tests, final papers & projects where you can get a majority of the questions wrong yet still get an A. I find it extremely difficult to receive even a C, it is next to impossible. A C is like an F in any other school. They changed to this grading system in 2010-2011 school year, and I have to say people in the school don't even try and they get B's! I took a biology test one time and got half the questions wrong on the scantron, but still managed to get a 5 (a+). LOL. Oh and they use the round up system too. If you want to get a scholarship (this school is floating on past rep) or just graduate doing next to nothing for work, join this school. If you want to actually learn something go to another one, like arrowhead or something lol. Oh, BTW, 3 sem gym required, 4 years of english, 2 of math, biology is required, etc. You can only take one year of study hall a year, they don't let you have any more even if you have excess credits. Non-open campus and lunches are decent and cost around 4 dollars for a meal. Cool people for the most part, but some bullies.

Kettle Moraine High School 3

Posted July 21, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are great, but the administration is dysfunctional, creating poor morale and chaotic policies. Over the past 5 years, there has be a continuous decline in the quality of the programming, and a lack of focus on a high quality learning environment for students. District administration does not respect parents or teachers, and is obsessed with change and innovation. There is a reluctance to seriously collect and examine data. They need to go beyond survey monkey surveys that ask questions skewed to elicit the answers they want to hear. Parental input is limited to those who blindly support the administration, all others are discouraged or ignored.
1 person found this helpful

Kettle Moraine High School 5

Posted August 29, 2010
- a parent
Our three children were in KM School disctrict K-12. Our last child graduated in '09. The school system helped guide them to discover the kind of people they wanted to become, helped them work toward those goals, and make our community and country a better place. As parents, my wife and I will continue to help KM school district evolve into an even more adaptive system. We are convinced KM will continue to support our kids become what they can't even imagine, but we our community desperately needs.


Kettle Moraine High School 4

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
Most are great teachers for average and above average students. Some KM teachers need more instruction on how to work with kids who struggle.

Kettle Moraine High School 5

Posted July 01, 2008
- a student
This is the best school ever! WE have so much school spirit and the marching band Rock!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kettle Moraine High School
349 North Oak Crest Drive, Wales, WI  53183
(262) 968-6271 x4001
Last modified Kettle Moraine High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kettle Moraine High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top