Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West High School

Public | 9-12 | 1232 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

It's extremely accepting and welcoming to new students, the teachers are entertaining and really know how to teach the material in ways you'll remember it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2014

This school does not prepare students for academic success after high school. My son got A's in his AP classes and did very poorly in the same subjects (intro level) in college. His fellow graduates that were 3.5 or higher grade point average are struggling and some have dropped out of college after their first year. The new grading system is very disappointing and unrealistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

I'm currently a junior at Waukesha West and things have gotten better now that we have a new principal. So far, I've really enjoyed the experience, especially my freshman and sophomore years. Naturally, junior year is much harder and stressful. Therefore, I haven't been enjoying this year all that much. There are the few who love their job and do everything for the students. However, there is the other side with a few teachers who make you want to explode. We have gone through many issues throughout the school years and it's all about what one makes of it. Some kids complain about how it's a drug-associated and snobby kind of school, but if you hang around with the right people, you don't really encounter that kind of stuff. The administration consisting of the principal and 3 vice principals are generally caring and helpful. Unfortunately, the secretaries in the office are rather cold-shouldered and unfriendly. The student body is pretty friendly and welcoming; there's always someone who'd want to help you out. To wrap things up, this school is a great place with so many opportunities to get involved; there is a place for everybody here, and you just have to find it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2011

Our daughter is finishing up her freshman year at West and she is loving attending school there. In my opinion, she does not have a mediocre teacher...every one of them is outstanding. She is an active participant in band and she enjoys it. She has become very invested in her own high school experience and I feel that the teachers at West have encouraged this. I am very happy to have my daughter attend West. We moved to Waukesha from the Chicago area and I know that her experience at West far exceeds what it would have been if we hadn't moved here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Ever since the administration was redone, the school has taken a nose dive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2010

I am a sophomore here and I don't like this school. Few teachers are willing to help students outside of class and it seems like the faculty as a whole doesn't care about the kids once they're out of their class. The administration assumes the worst out of students without looking into their side and are super strict. The kids, for the most part, are exactly what other schools make them out to be, spoiled rich kids who complain to mommy and daddy when they don't get what they want
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2009

This school is subpar to say the least. I sent 2 children here and we had to change districts to send my younger 2 children to a better school. The parents talk the talk about caring, but only a select few truly enjoy teaching. Drugs and Alcohol are common culture for upperclassmen and the school provides very little discipline. This is not the school for a student who wants to do more than graduate from High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

My daugher graduated last year 08 and had a great experience. We made sure our Freshmen twins got in at West also. We are in the North district. First month of school and they are adjusting well. Web grader helps the teachers and parents stay informed. Sports activities are going great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

As the parent of a senior I can say that I love this school! My daughter has has a great education, contact with great teachers and tons of extracurricular activities to keep her busy. She has been involved in softball (frosh/soph and JV) and Drama (including Drama Board) as well as SADD (Students against distructive decisions). I would highly recommend this school, it is well maintained, the teachers are happy in their jobs and the parents are quite involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2004

I am a student at Waukesha West. I will admit that freshman year I hated it but after another year I really saw the best of West. West has many excellent teachers, but there are always a few that are less than stellar. Most of the staff is helpful and many will help you before the vice-principals are very helpful and involved, but I must say that the principal is rarely seen and most students would have to think hard to remember his name. There are many excellent opportunities for kids who need to be challenged academically and West also has a great art and band program. I would suggest sending your kids here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2004

I attend Waukesha West and I am currently a Junior. This school is like being in prison 8 hours a day. The adminisration cares more about the students being in class then the over all wellfare of them. In the last year they have put security cameras in all of the hallways to see what kids are skipping. I am a decent student and am involved in many activites so it's not like I am the kind of person to bash everything. But this school is horrible. I don't suggest you send your students here if at all possible!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2004

Amazing school, I love it and I'm currently a sophomore. The teachers at West are very interested in their students learning as much as possible and make accommodations to help whenever needed. Sports programs have excellent coaches and they are so fun to play on, softball particularly. It's a great school where you can learn and grow as you pass through it. I would highly recommend West over the other two public schools in the district (South and North).
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

As a young freshman first coming into West, I'll admit, I was a bit taken back. At first I thought it would be horrible, but it was great! The administration and staff are so helpful and are really appreciated. West has some of the best academic and athletic programs in the state, not to mention the only school in the city with skylight windows, beautiful scenery, and a well-kept building with excellent murals around the school painted by students themselves. As a sophomore, West has become my second home. I'm involved in about ten extra curriculars! West is one of the best schools, in my opinion!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2004

Both of my teens attended this High School and we are very impressed with the level of professionalism of staff. Enrichment courses such as photography and tech classes were appreciated by both of my children. Top notch design and beautiful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 70% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 76% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students72%
Female88%
Male61%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin78%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled78%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant72%

Math

All Students57%
Female63%
Male53%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin62%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled62%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant57%

Reading

All Students46%
Female52%
Male42%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic5%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin51%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities12%
Non-disabled49%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant46%

Science

All Students79%
Female81%
Male77%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin82%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities32%
Non-disabled83%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant79%

Social Studies

All Students79%
Female88%
Male73%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin83%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities32%
Non-disabled84%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 87% 73%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Asian 3% 4%
Black, not Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 10%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 1%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 83%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 70%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 99%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3301 Saylesville Rd
Waukesha, WI 53189
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 970-3905

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



North High School
Waukesha, WI


South High School
Waukesha, WI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT