Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hadfield Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 392 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

The 2012/13 school year saw many changes for this school and not for the better. I pulled my child out halfway through the year and I've not looked back. It's sad because we had been a Hadfield family for years and it was such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

My kids have attended this school for 4 years. Starting the 2012-2013 things have gone down hill. Unorganized and the principal makes it more then obvious she doesn't care about the school, children and parents. It's sad because the teachers, counselors, social worker is wonderful. This could be a great school with a principal who did her job and was supportive of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

I have had my children at Hadfield for many years. They have always gone above and beyond! As of the 2012/2013 school year I have been very disappointed. I had to pull my children out of the school. It's very disappointing because my husband and I purposely bought a home in the Hadfield district. Something needs to be done!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

Best elementary school in Waukesha, Great staff and Principal. Down to earth compassionate and sensible leadership where the needs of the kids are paramount. I only wish every elementary school could be like Hadfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

This school (Hadfield) has EXCELLENT Teachers and assistants. I have two teenage daughters, and am a single Mom. My daughters went to this school from Pre-K all the way through 6th grade. I do have one daughter who had a speech IEP for three years, and the Speech Therapist(s) at this school made great strides for my daughter. Each and every one of the Teachers always took time with each one of my daughters and their education. Being a single Mother, the principal was always available for any resources I may have needed. We had our hard times, and we could always count on Hadfield to be there for us for education and beyond! I now have two very educated teeagers in High School. They will always take what they've learned through Hadfield Elementary School throughout the rest of their lives. I highly recommend this school for ANY and ALL in Waukesha, WI.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I love Hadfield school because my son went to this school he is autistic, he isn't eligible for any autisme program (he's born in France not citizenship).Hadfield help him with special education and give us a support .I'm Hadfield elementary school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

We love Hadfield! We choice our children into Hadfield because of the community that this school builds between families, kids, staff and neighborhood. Not only is the building filled with compassionate, caring teaching faculty, but all members of the staff are always welcoming and supportive. Hadfield supports the needs of all kids: GT, English Learners and Special Education. Hadfield is growing the next leaders in the Waukesha Community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

We have nothing but praise for our experience at Hadfield School. The teachers and staff are caring and involved, the expectations for behavior are high, and there are tons of family activities to participate in. When we moved to Waukesha, we were surprised to find some snobbery between schools in adjoining neighborhoods. I would send my kids to any school in Waukesha, but I really like the diversity at Hadfield. The students are very tolerant, and my kids have never felt any pressure to dress or act a certain way. Also, a lot of the Hadfield kids in our neighborhood are leaders in academics, sports, and music in high school. If you're looking for solid academics, strong discipline and leadership, and a diverse mix of kids, you'll like Hadfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

My daughter has attended private schools before coming to Waukesha two years ago. One of my majors in college was education. I student taught in MPS and know what standards I want for our daughter. When we chose a school for her we toured all the private school in the area, as well as several public ones. We chose Hadfield for a number of reasons, and my expectations were succeeded in all areas. My daughter is doing very well in school, feels respected and is taught according to her abilities. She attends many after school programs, as well as the her values nor her discipline as I work each day. I am proud of Hadfield as our neighborhood school, and am satisfied that our research into the school system has paid off in choosing the very best school for our daughter, Hadfield Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I pulled my children from Hadfield Elementary due to their low educational standards and lack of staff direction. It was shameful and I have higher standards for my children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

I recommend Hadfield school to anyone who is not happy with the school their kids go to. My 7 year old couldn't read. Hadfield school got her a reading teacher, who was so nice, and help my daughter learn to read. My children can get to school early and have breakfast with all of their class mates. They have a fenced in play ground that keeps the kids safe. They have good communications, with me. When my kids are sick, or hurt themselves while at school, they give me a call. They really care about helping my children be happy and have a safe learning environment. I like the rules of the school where bullying, and name calling, is not allowed. They teach the kids to respect each other and to work together. The teachers go out of their way to help the kids succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

Hadfield is one of the best schools my children have ever attended. My children have gone to a few different schools and Hadfield is by far the best school so far. The teachers are compationate and understanding. They go above and beyond to help my boys and our family in general.We are moving and having to leave this school...But if there was any way to stay we would. It is great when you find teachers and a principal who care about teaching our kids not only academics but also teach them how to become a better well rounded human being. We will miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 35% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 33% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 92% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 36% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students41%
Female33%
Male47%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin38%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled48%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant41%

Reading

All Students27%
Female33%
Male21%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin33%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled34%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students57%
Female59%
Male55%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin74%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant57%

Math

All Students40%
Female35%
Male45%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin47%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant40%

Reading

All Students32%
Female35%
Male28%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin39%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant32%

Science

All Students74%
Female77%
Male73%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin87%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant74%

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female100%
Male89%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students17%
Female31%
Male5%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin19%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled20%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant17%

Reading

All Students17%
Female25%
Male10%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin19%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled20%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 59% 73%
Hispanic 27% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 5% 10%
Asian 4% 4%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 18%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 6%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 71%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Grace Hess
Fax number
  • (262) 970-1520

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

733 Linden St
Waukesha, WI 53186
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 970-1505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT