Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Wauwatosa, WI
Students enrolled: 294

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Underwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
I have put three children threw this school and I could not ask for better teachers and staff. I had one child who really struggled with learning and was offered extra help and support from the teacher. He is now an A student in middle school. I have seen the classes get more organized with home work and making the children more responsible for there actions. I have nothing but positive things to say about the teachers and staff. Keep it up.

Underwood Elementary School 1

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
The leadership at this school is very weak. Communication between staff members is poor and the way it operates seems to be backwards most of the time.


Underwood Elementary School 1

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
A "new" principal is at Underwood and it is no longer Mr. Leach. She will tell you all about how much they will help you with whatever you have issues with such as your child is falling behind or they are bored in class but nothing is ever done. The parents they have helping in the lunchroom are horrid and there is so much miscommunication it's sad. Save yourself the trouble and the money and place your child in private or instant immersion schools. Yes, the parents are tight knit and that can be a good/bad thing depending on if you're "in" or "out".

Underwood Elementary School 2

Posted February 17, 2010
- a parent
It's true, a tight-knit family-type community here at Underwood. However, my child is there to learn and they didn't adapt or do anything to help my child learn. She is bored in the classroom and is far beyond the level they are teaching and even after meeting with various staff members (sure, they were nice and 'said' they would do something) nothing has been done. Socially, it's great, Academically, well, she hasn't learned a thing but the kids names in her class. She would do well 2 grade levels beyond where she is, even if it is in just reading or math and then go back to her classroom for everything else.

Underwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful Wauwatosa school. All the families have been there a long time and the community is very tight knit.


Underwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Underwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2008
- a community member
I went to Underwood in kindergarten. Then I left to attend Wilson with my brother. I returned to Underwood within two years because i liked it so much. Great school and great teachers. I am a third generation Wauwatosa native and I love the feel of Underwood.

Underwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2007
- a parent
The principal, Michael Leach, refers to the children and parents daily as the 'Underwood Family.' His leadership is taking the school into new and better directions. There are wonderful reading specialists who care about your child, whether they need extra help or are high achievers. The 4-yr old and 5-yr-old kindergarten teachers are creative and the environment is caring and relaxed. The art, music, library and phys.ed. specialists are super and the school has a computer lab. Most of the classrooms utilize a SmartBoard, which is connected to a computer. Each week a class is voted 'FLASHY' for outstanding behavior. The playground is large with lots of space to run and play. This is an excellent school. One area that needs improvement is parent involvement, because it is difficult to become involved if you aren't in the PTA presidency. The teachers are open to parent involvement in the classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Underwood Elementary School
11132 W Potter Rd, Wauwatosa, WI  53226
(414) 773-1700
Last modified Underwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Underwood Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top