Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Jude the Apostle Grade School

Private | PK-8 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wauwatosa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

Do NOT put your kids in this school!! Very disappointing experience. Like someone else mentioned here, the schools motivation to fill classrooms is monetary based and has nothing to do with meeting the needs of students. School admits kids that are +5yrs old into the 3K program and fails to disclose the age gap to prospective parents. Worst of all, the Principle is unprofessional, dishonest and can not be trusted to keep her word on any issue. Get anything discussed with school staff in writing. Do yourself and your child a favor and look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

This is an awful school. The education is fine but the amount of bullying that takes place is appalling! The students (unless they are popular or have large bank accounts), are treated like they don't matter and not one teacher or the principal will do any thing about it. This school sickens me. They call themselves a catholic community but NEVER act like one. I recommend keeping you're children away if you want them to grow up with any kind of morals or values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

I highly recommend St. Jude school for the academics, Catholic education, and the school/parish community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

I was disappointed to find that several of the 3K students were not 3 years old by September 1st. I feel the motivation to make exceptions of what I thought was a state law were monetary and not exactly for the students best interests. Otherwise , I feel if you can afford this school, it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

Great school and well worth the money you spend on it. When my boy started the school in kindergarten he barely could speak few words in English, and the staff made much effort to help him catch up with the rest and encourage him in everything he did. Now as grade 1 student his English is perfect, self-esteem great and he is participating in language enrichment classes so he could learn more than is in the curriculum. I am definitely recommending this school for every immigrant or newcomer to this city. You get what you pay for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

This is by far the greatest school ever created. They challenge you in the classroom, but if you nalwaeed help, they are always there for you. The teachers are always there early and stay after school. They make you feel welcome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2007

Although the academic program at St. Jude is an excellent preparation for higher education, there are quite a few not so minor details detracting from what, overall, has the potential to be a fantastic school. They claim to be a diverse, tolerant, open minded school, when in reality, the majority of the student/parent/staff population is extremely conservative, discriminatory, and elitist. The administration also employs a few teachers that could be considered inadequate, and certainly, based on past interactions with students, are not equipped to deal with children in a proper manner. Frankly, without fixing these, and many other problems, St. Jude will be cheating their current and future students out of obtaining the education they deserve, and, in the process, they'll be cheating the parents out of the exorbitant amount of money the spend on tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

As an alumna of St. Jude the Apostle, I have nothing but positive memories of my 9-year tenure at the school (K5-8th grade). I believe St. Judes prepared me for the rigor of higher educational pursuits and would recommend it to anyone looking for a Catholic school that provides excellent academic programs along with top-notch facilities. Furthermore, I would like to highlight that the friendships I developed at St. Judes have continued into adulthood. It truly provides a lasting support network and has a number of successful alumnae.


Posted May 3, 2006

St Jude's is more than a great school. It is a community of parents, students, faculty, administrators, and clergy joined in the pursuit of a common goal - providing our children with an environment that fosters leadership, respect, tolerance, independence, and academic excellence. And the proof, as they say, is in the pudding; St Jude has once again ranked in the top 1% of all schools nationwide in the Iowa Test of Basic Skills, across every category and within each grade level tested, a record I might add that the school has maintained for each of the three years my own children have been in attendance. I cannot say enough good things about St Jude, but I will summarize with this - St Jude, in my humble opinion, may be the best elementary school in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This is a very good school. I cannot say enough about the academics and the quality of the teachers. My kids do not go to this school anymore as we have moved, but none of the other schools that we have gone to match up to the quality of this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 26, 2003

Outstanding school. Challenging classroom instruction with strong, experienced teacher base. Many opportunities for parental involvement. Very good facilities, with new activity center/gym. Great administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 85% 74%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black, not Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 4%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Catherine LaDien
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (414) 771-3748

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Milwaukee
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Glenview Ave
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 771-1520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wauwatosa Stem
Wauwatosa, WI



Kradwell School
Wauwatosa, WI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT