Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mclane Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 603 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

I am the mother of a 4th grader at Mclane. Unfortunately, because of the changes in the West Bend school district, she will be attending Silverbrook Middle School next year. However, we thoroughly enjoyed her time at Mclane. The teachers are amazing, Mr. Kasik is a very attentive principal, the academics are challenging, and the community is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

My daughter just finished her 4th year at McLane. The teachers and staff of this school have done a phenomenal job of helping my child discover her giftings and overcome many of the struggles that every child faces growing up... she has blossomed from a kindergartner with reading difficulties and severe identity issues to a 4th grader reading at grade level who excels in art and receives constant recognition for it. Her identity struggles are long forgotten, as she has grown to dominate the schoolyard at tetherball... a feat that would have been impossible without the staff of this school who compelled her to find her strengths and embrace them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

Bottom line...A Great school, Test scores show you...do your own comparison and you won't find a better school in West Bend. Thanks Mclane!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

This school is the best school that my children have attended. Thay go the extra mile that is needed to help children be successful in all they do. I would recommend it to people moving into the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

A awesome school! Simply put. From the princpal to the teachers to the support staff. Everyone makes Mclane what it is today and has been for a very long time. And lets not forget the huge involvemnent of parents at Mclane. All this together makes Mclane an awesome school. If you are thinking of moving here make sure you live in the Mclane district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

The best teachers by far!! They are so friendly to both child and parent alike. I have been extremely happy with our choice to select public school (Mclane) over parachial school. I couldn't ask for a better education for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

We are in our 6th and final year at McLane (boohoo) and have been extremely happy with it. Our middle schooler was very prepared when he arrived and has been successful there. We chose the McLane neighborhood when we arrived and are glad we did. Excellent academics, involved parents, very conscientious and accomodating teachers and a principal who goes above and beyond for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

My daughter just started her first year @ McLane School. She is in first grade. So far things have been going great. She has started an accelerated reading program which they offer. I feel they do push the children just the right amount to be their best. They do not push fundraisers on you to sell which is great also. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

McLane school is a wonderful school with great leadership. Parental involvement is encouraged instead of discouraged. All needs of a child are worked on to be met. Teachers are caring and geuninly seem to enjoy their work and their school. Children are encouraged to work well together and figure out alternative problem solving skills and work through the problems together. Pricipal is strict but caring. Children love him for the guidlines that he expects, and you can see him in the classrooms and in the hallways. Really seems to care and love his job also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

I have 2 boys in Kindergarten and 3rd Grade. We recently transferred in from another city. I have never been so impressed with a school in every capacity as I am with McLane. My 3rd grader needs some special attention and the programs they have for him are fantastic!! The pricipal knows every child by name and personality. He is actively involved with the growth of every child. The teachers are true professionals that not only care for 'their' kids, they go out of their way to ensure every child gets maximum attention and is afforded every opportunity to succeed. I simply cannot imagine a school that I would more highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

We have two children who have attended McLane School-they are currently in 3rd and 5th grades. I would have to say that we could not have asked for a better environment for our children to grow academically and socially. The principal is a true treasure and provides dynamic leadership. Our children adore him. McLane has exceeded all of our expectations and we would highly recommend it to any family looking for an exciting and fun filled learning environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2003

My son is in 2nd grade at McLane and my daughter just started Kindergarten there. Over the last 2 1/2 years, I have gotten to know the principal and teachers very well. They are extremely involved with the students as well as the parents. The parents are encouraged to join in whenever possible with reading programs, parent groups, and fund raisers...though there is never any pressure to help if there isn't time in the parents' busy schedules. I enjoy working with the teachers on my children's growth and education, and look forward to the next few years at McLane.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 35% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 33% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 92% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 36% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female59%
Male50%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin57%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled56%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant55%

Reading

All Students46%
Female61%
Male30%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin49%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled47%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students95%
Female100%
Male89%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin93%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant95%

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin78%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant75%

Reading

All Students70%
Female63%
Male77%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin70%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Non-migrant70%

Science

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin98%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Non-migrant97%

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabledn/a
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Non-migrant100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin74%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled75%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant70%

Reading

All Students54%
Female57%
Male52%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin57%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled58%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 87% 73%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 3% 10%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Asian 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 9%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 2%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 68%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

833 Chestnut St
West Bend, WI 53095
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 335-5487

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Angels School
West Bend, WI



Badger Middle School
West Bend, WI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT