Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cumberland Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 724 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

I had children in this school for 12 years, 2 are now in excellent colleges, the others will get there. The principal and staff will try their best to bring out the best in every student. It is a warm atmosphere with rules to make community possible. People are there from every walk of life and parents are choosing the school and if possible move there to give their children the best education. One child's favorite are gym, recess, and math. Others love music, art, English, Spanish. Please bring your ideas to this school to make the world a better place . . with love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Cumberland is an excellent school that has worked well for all five of my children. My youngest two are currently in their last year there, and my first began in the second grade over thirteen years ago (He is currently in college on a full academic scholarship). We came from the East Coast and so we were outsiders at first, however, I found a wonderful home in this school community. The teachers are quite skilled, kind, and enthusiastic, the atmosphere is warm and nurturing, and the principal is very fair and professional. I am also a former teacher and school district professional (in Maryland) and so I have seen many schools. I can say with confidence that Cumberland is a very special place which seems to have struck that allusive balance between challenging academics and nurturing atmosphere. I am delighted with Cumberland and I expect to see continued excellence in the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

I went to this school and it was terrible. The teachers were mean the students were horror and the teachers dont do anything with bulling. They make you sit with a counsler who just makes you cry and really just dosnt do anything. Dont go to this school i would give them no stars.


Posted January 6, 2014

This is a amazing school with parent involvement at the highest! The principal and teachers work very hard with every student! The principal is strict but I believe she should. I have enjoyed all of the teachers that my boys have had here and at the middle school. If you are looking for A great community to live in which children can walk to schools, parks and the library and this is the place would want to be. You will not be disappointed in the WFB schools and will fall in love living here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

Excellent school, excellent teachers, excellent leadership (particularly the Principal). School works very hard to ensure each indiviual child is engaged and challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

My two children transfereed to this school in 4th and 3rd grade from a local catholic school. The transisiton was difficult for the entire family. We did not start here and we for sure were outsiders. It was a difficult choice we made as parents based on our children's educational needs. However, I could not be more pleased with the outcome. The comments regarding the principal are unwarrented. She is extremely professional. More importantly she is effective! She knows every child's name in that school. My children will go on to succeed because of Mrs. Heffron. I have never seen a school try so hard and execute as they have with my two children. I am a fan. A BIG ONE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

The principal seems very unprofessional and she is strict on the kids. If she has a problem with the parent(s), she will take it out on the kids. The school is VERY cliquey, and bullying is a big factor at this school. Other than that, the education is great at the school and don't get me wrong, I would say it's way better than MPS schools. The guidance counselors try to help but it almost seems like they can't control the kids who are bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Great school. Strong leadership from principal who has been very helpful to my family. Great teachers. We are blessed that our son goes here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

Mediocre teaching, one size fits all model. I'm not sure the teaching rises to the caliber of the student body,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

Cumberland's strengths - Most Teachers are excellent, parent involvement is extremely high and the PTO does a lot of great things for the school. Weaknesses - Not a fan of the Principal. I've seen her handle many things poorly. She talks a lot about 'Capturing Kid's Hearts,' but I have yet to see it happen. She sets a tone for the building that many are uncomfortable with (children and parents alike). I guess I had higher expectations for my childrens' school in that department. I hope the new beyond teacher has a better way with kids than the last one did. There could be more extra-curricular activities, and there are a lot of fees at the beginning of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

Both my kids went through Cumberland and are now at the Middle and High School. While school districts cut budgets, WFB schools still have strong music, art and gym classes. The 'Beyond' program for advanced students was a godsend for both my kids. A public school that has accelerated programs through high school! Can't beat that. Everyday Math doesn't work for all, and many teachers tailor their lessons to the class anyway. Involved parents are a mixed blessing. Teachers welcome extra parent help, but no school can cater to each parents' ideas. We've met many wonderful Cumberland parents and kids over the years. Fun lunch complaints? OK, you try to feed hundreds of kids quickly, and inexpensively with no kitchen facilities. My kids packed their own lunch when McDonald's was brought in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

All WI public schools are not equal. The faculty and staff are dedicated and more than qualifed to teach. The students and families are wonderful. Parents are very involved. This school is in an 'affluent' neighborhood, but lacks basics like handicap access and school lunch. The principal is great at public relations, but is extremely reluctant to change or even consider change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

We recently moved to the area. We looked around a lot for the best schools for our 3 children. I have found it a very hard transition for my children to go to Cumberland and the Middle School. There is no hot lunch program, which is very difficult when you have picky eatters!! And they are very fast paced. After being in a 'regular' school and being above average for 5 years in school my daughter has had some issues catching up at this school. They move very fast and do rely on parent volunteers ALOT! Also they seem to need money from you every week for one thing or another, it cost us over $350 to register all our children. That isn't counting all the supplies they needed!! It was crazy after attending a school that had a $5 registration fee!!! overall good, but make sure you can afford it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Given the restrictions and mandates that all public schools face, Cumberland seems a good place for children to learn. Cons: ~They still use the ineffective 'Everyday Math' program which has produced horrible results nationwide. ~Because parents in the community are active, it seems some teachers rely a bit too much on volunteers and ask a lot of us. ~Like all public schools, a bit too much emphasis on guidance programs (i.e. anti-bullying curriculum, which is just dumb; wherever kids gather, bullies will exist, period) and incorporating moral relativity. Just teach my kids math, reading, etc., and I'll take care of the rest, thanks. ~It's a public schools, so even though Cumberland is teeming with excellent teachers, they're not allowed much freedom. Pros: ~The staff is outstanding. The principal has a real gift for hiring gifted, enthusiastic teachers. I have yet to run across a 'time clock puncher' or a teacher who was unwilling to work with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

Quoted from another review: 'The school relies heavily on the volunteer pool that parents comprise but parents with any suggestions or differences in opinion are treated in low regard and at times with hostility.' I agree! I also agree about the parent gossip - shameful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I think this school is outstanding. To think that anyone would complain about the fun lunch, the Principal the parent involvement is ludicris. Pack you child a lunch (there is not any money made on fun lunch) if you don't like what is served and take the time to get to konw the Principal. It is wonderful to feel so welocme as well as needed in an arena where my children spend the better part of their week. Truely an outstanding school with great staff, parents and kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

Having two children attend the independent private school in the area and then transfer in to Cumberland, I can offer the following observations. A parent must advocate for their child, regardless of the school. For the past five years, we have found professional responsiveness on the part of the principal in matters varying from curricula to social issues. The school representatives, from principal to teacher, give the same measure of respect and privacy to other students that I would want shown to my child. The students' academic needs vary and I am appreciative that the principal and the district administration sets the bar high regarding academics. The curricula emphasizes reading and writing, and there is increased emphasis on differentiation in mathematics. History, geography and science is taught in a fun, interactive way. Cumberland School and the entire WFB district offers a high standards education at a tremendous value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

I have two young daughters at Cumberland and we all absolutely love it. I have found all of their teachers to be incredibly responsive to questions and concerns. Although my children are very different, both have found the community they need at the school. The principal is extremely hands on. She knows all the childrens names and gets involved in everything from safety during drop off to goings on in the clinic. Parents are very involved and are welcome in the classroom for all kinds of activities. I feel very lucky that my children are at Cumberland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

In a time when most Principals across the country are having a real discourse about 'partnering' with parents, Cumberland's is not. The school relies heavily on the volunteer pool that parents comprise but parents with any suggestions or differences in opinion are treated in low regard and at times with hostility. There also seems to be a problem with parents in the classrooms not respecting the privacy of the children(gossiping at pick up time about the behaviour of so and so, etc.) The school still relies heavily on antiquated, aversive procedures in dealing with children's behaviour and relational aggression among young girls runs rampant. The curriculum is interesting but very fast paced, many children complain there isn't time to finish eating or drinking and using the bathroom during class time is made difficult. I strongly encourage you to check out Richards School, I wish I had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

The principal at this school is not interested in working with parents. The parents work for the principal and everyone kinda keeps there distance as a parent because of the way she treats you if you don't agree with her. The area is safe, it's not a bad school compared to the city ones,the teachers are good, alot are really good. Still, I don't feel great as I'm sending her off. I don't feel she's at a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 34% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 75% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 36% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 91% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 33% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male70%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled69%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students61%
Female61%
Male60%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin68%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled62%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Black, not of Hispanic origin50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled87%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant84%

Math

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
Black, not of Hispanic origin36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled72%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students55%
Female44%
Male65%
Black, not of Hispanic origin28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin57%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled58%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant55%

Science

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black, not of Hispanic origin50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled91%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant89%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black, not of Hispanic origin86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled99%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female70%
Male74%
Black, not of Hispanic origin31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin76%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled76%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant72%

Reading

All Students61%
Female59%
Male63%
Black, not of Hispanic origin15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled64%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 73% 73%
Black, not Hispanic 12% 10%
Asian 8% 4%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 8%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 2%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 78%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 98%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4780 N Marlborough Dr
Whitefish Bay, WI 53211
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 963-3943

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family Parish School
Whitefish Bay, WI


Whitefish Bay Middle School
Whitefish Bay, WI





St. Monica School
Whitefish Bay, WI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT