Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Caspar Academy

Public | K-6 | 444 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

We LOVE Fort Caspar Academy!!!! I currently have three children that attend and one more starting next year. They have a new principal this year who is amazing! My youngest child needs to work harder than my other two on his homework, but none of them have to "to much." Fort Caspar is a more challenging school than most, but the students still have fun. I believe there is a huge difference between fun, and fluff. Fort Caspar has fun, they do not have any fluff. They don't do 2 hour, nonsense assemblies on how to brush your teeth (I have sat through one at another school), they don't have parties for all the different holidays, and they don't celebrate meritocracy. They do have fun and it's in a more meaningful way. They have fewer parties and are more low key. Education comes first and it's a school, it should. I'm happy and my kiddo's are too. The children that succeed at Fort Caspar are the children who's parents are fully supportive. They understand our curriculum and work close with the school to insure that their child is getting all the support they can from both places and reinforcing what's being taught at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Be warned stay away from this school. My daughter,who is dyslexic, went here when we first moved to casper in 2012. Her teacher, and I use this term in its loosest possible definition,told her in no uncertain terms she was too stupid to be in his class.we moved her to Dean Morgan for her next year and low and behold she's getting A's and B's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

Fort Caspar Academy is an amazing school. The teachers are compassionate, flexible, and exceptionally competent. The curriculum is rigid, and there is a strong expectation regarding homework. It IS a good school... the best in Natrona County. With that said... this school is NOT a good place for a child with Learning Disabilities such as ADHD/ADD, Dyspraxia, or Dysgraphia. There are multiple reasons for this observation. The school counselor ONLY knows how to test for ADHD. She does not know what Dyspraxia or Dysgraphia are, both of which are debilitating for a child at a school this demanding. Our son has all these conditions, and the school was not equipped nor knowledgeable enough about them to provide him the best care. They did not know how to fill out a 504 plan, he was bullied by his P.E. teacher, and it was a horrible experience. When the principal was approached about all this, with documentation in hand, he was speechless. He could not respond, and he did not offer solutions. I think because he had none. If your child has diagnosed or suspected Learning Disabilities, consider a different school within this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

My kids attend Fort Caspar Academy and LOVE it! My husband and I LOVE it too! Academically it is the best, the children perform well and learn quickly. But they are taught more than reading, writing and arithmetic, they are taught respect, service, morals, responsibility, ethics and more. The dress code isn't terribly strict, but it's nice to know that children will look decent when coming to school (no halter tops or pants hanging down around the knees here!). The office staff is friendly, the teachers are enthusiastic and work well with the parents, and the nurse (I saw some negative comments in older posts) is great. My daughter is constantly getting bumped and scraped on the playground (just clumsy) and I always get a note or a phone call to update me, even when it's nothing serious. The principal takes time to set up meetings if I'm ever concerned about anything. And my kids definitely have FUN in class! I could go on and on. We may be moving soon and the thing I am most upset about is that I have not been able to find ANYTHING that comes close to this amazing school. I may end up homeschooling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2012

We have had children at this schools for 12 yrs. The education provided is 2nd to none. It is not for every family, but that is made abundantly clear at the parent meeting before school starts. Randall Larson is a fantastic principal, and the office staff is wonderful. Our 3 children that have and do attend this school enjoy every day. The teachers are amazing and the structure is how school should be. We have had nothing but positive experiences here. The study habits that children learn carry them through high school. Children at his school receive an education that costs thousands per year in other states. Take advantage of a rare opportunity to get this kind of schooling for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

This school is proud that it teaches a full grade level ahead of the other schools in the area which is fine for the students that have gone there all their school careers however it penalizes the matriculating students who have to work to catch up. They are proud to say they are a partnership of parents and teaching staff yet when a concerned parent calls they blame the parents and take no ownership of any issue raised laying blame solely at the parents feet. Despite the advanced curriculum or maybe because of it,the rest of the school operates in a form of chaos with no one knowing what is going on. Our child was hurt on the playground and despite going to the nurses office was never seen by the nurse and sent back to class with out medical attention.A office staffer with no medical training determining she was fine. The office staff is rude and argumentative. I am very disappointed this school's reputation has far exceeded the reality. Lastly the parental involvement they so proudly crow about has become a situation of too many cooks spoiling the soup.If your family can fit their rather narrow mold they will do well otherwise I would keep your children well away from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2010

This is our first year at FCA and I am thrilled at how well my son is doing in his Kinder class. His teacher gives 110% and I appreciate that they have strong values and hold their students to them. As other parents have stated, parental involvement is a must and I am very fortunate to be a stay-at-home-mom and can spend quite a bit of time with his class or participating in other departments. My son's homework is about 10 minutes a night and some reading. I have heard that it has become much less strict than when the school first opened (especially in reading previous reviews from earlier years). I can tell you that we as parents love this school, the staff and the expectations that are laid out before the first day. I am looking forward to my daughter attending next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

this school is to rough on kid. i went here and cried on a daily basis.


Posted October 26, 2009

Fort Caspar represents the finest in public education. From the core values taught and displayed throughout the school to obligation of parents to be involved in their child's education. Schools are not babysitters at Fort Caspar. The parental involvement in so critical for the success of these students. Yes, they have homework. My first grader and I sit down everynight, and complete 1 or 2 math sheets and we read for 10 minutes. That is not overload for a child. The dress code is outstanding! It teaches the children self respect, it does not strip them of their individuality. To expect a young man to wear a belt and tuck in his shirt and wear his jeans around his waist is not what i would call strict and outrageous. As long as I am in Casper, WY my children will attend Fort Caspar Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

We are new to Fort Caspar Academy. The school has a strong belief system, sets high expectations for the students and have teachers that are willing to assist parents in making their children successful. Yes, a lot is expected of children and parents, but isn't that what so many parents around the children are complaining about- lack of support, poor learning environments, and low expectations? Children have behavioral expectations but in no way is the atmosphere such that they don't have fun. That is ridiculous! As well, typically customer service is not a big part of the schools that I have experienced - this is not true at FCA. And they truly have a no tolerance policy for bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Fort Caspar Academy is an excellent school. Their consitant methods and high expectations create a unique atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I have many friends that ask what school do I choose for elementary in Casper (since I work in the school district)? Depending on the family I choose FCA. You must be willing as a parent to help your child learn self-discipline, schedule in the homework around after school activities, and learn to follow rules such as wear a belt. As a parent I have high expectations so Ft Caspar is the place I choose to send my kids! I believe that kids in other schools have behaviors in the classroom and it disrupt their learning. Ft Caspar expects the children to attend and learn, I like that! I also believe that while the kids are young and like to learn, you need to teach them everything you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Although my child has done well academically at Fort Casper Academy.I feel like this school is rigid. The dress code is ridiculous, the kids do not have fun, and this school gives way too much homework!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

My oldest child had a wonderful experience at this school especially since she did not worry about excelling and just learned. She tested well above the standards and was on the principal honor roll almost every time. My youngest is not so lucky this year because of new teachers. Parent involvmet is especially needed when it comes to making sure that the child is learning and have to tutor when it is not being done at school to ensure their child is learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

The teachers at this school are good but they have unrealistic expectations. The homework load is ridiculous. The academics are too fast paced. This school has a lot of retention. They teach a grade ahead, which is why they have such high test scores. However some things require brain maturation for students to learn. I would not send my child to this school if you have more than two kids, kids who are not naturally motivated academically, a child past 2nd grade, and kids with just average intelligence. Girls seem to do better here than boys. The average student would get c's and d's at this school. This school expects all children to learn at the same pace. Their parental involvement cannot be beat, and the kids are very polite. Even though they do use the same curriculum every year, it does change slightly. Kids don't have fun here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

I have two children at Fort Caspar Academy who love to go to school and love to learn. I chose Ft. Caspar for them for many reasons. I love the curriculum which provides a strong foundation for learning and is consistent K-6. The curriculum does not change every year to meet current trends and therefore allows both teachers and students to become proficient in the teaching/learning process. I also love that my children and their classmates are taught respect for themselves, their teachers and fellow students, and there is no tolerance for disrespect on any level. Finally, the discipline policy allows every child to learn without distractions, and allows me as a parent to to be 100% involved in the discipline of my own children. It's a fabulous environment to learn in, and your child need not be brilliant, only love to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

If you want your child to succeed academically FCA is the school to send them to. Children are also taught respect and self discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

We moved our child from another Casper school, in the middle of last year. He was in 2nd grade. We felt so welcomed because everyone is so friendly! Since Ft. Caspar is academically so far ahead of other schools in Casper, he had a lot of catching up to do. He rose to the occasion, and did very well! He is where he needs to be this year, and so far it has been a great year! We are amazed how much he has learned at this school! The teachers are awesome, really care about the kids, and love their jobs! We haven't had any problems with the dress code or homework load. The parent involvement is amazing! The discipline policy is strict, and the children rise to the expectations! They are there to learn, but also have fun! We wouldn't go back to any other school in this district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

If I could give this school '0' stars I would. Despite the fact that my child did well academically, we were frustrated by the regular 'belt checks' (due to the dress code) and unreasonable expectations of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

I would choose to have my child at no other school, than Fort Caspar Academy. Superior school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2009

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2011.

40 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2011.

50 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
>=95%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2011.

20 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=95%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learners50%
Proficient in English>=95%
Non-migrant94%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homelessn/a
Full Academic Year>=95%
Non-Full Academic Year75%

Reading

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learners<=20%
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant81%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homelessn/a
Full Academic Year83%
Non-Full Academic Year63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Wyoming Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female87%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homeless91%
Full Academic Yearn/a
Non-Full Academic Yearn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homeless91%
Full Academic Yearn/a
Non-Full Academic Yearn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homeless81%
Full Academic Yearn/a
Non-Full Academic Yearn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Wyoming Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

All Students>=95%
Female94%
Male>=95%
Hispanic>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant>=95%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homeless>=95%
Full Academic Yearn/a
Non-Full Academic Yearn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female90%
Male>=95%
Hispanic>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homeless93%
Full Academic Yearn/a
Non-Full Academic Yearn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Wyoming Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homelessn/a
Full Academic Yearn/a
Non-Full Academic Yearn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Non-Homelessn/a
Full Academic Yearn/a
Non-Full Academic Yearn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Wyoming Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 81%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 West 38th St
Casper, WY 82604
Website: Click here
Phone: (307) 253-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT