Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

University Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

The teachers at this school (and the principal) lie to parents instead of admitting they did something wrong. They don't pass along important messages for things like medicines and allergies and treat parents like they are dumb and don't deserve the time of day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2012

For its high academic standards in student learning, University Park Elementary has been recognized as 2008 National Title I Distinguished School and 2011 National Blue Ribbon School.


Posted December 3, 2007

This is an excellent school and both of my children love it. The students are held very accountable and learn a great deal in a day. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

My two children go to this school and I think it is the best school in town. The teachers try to help every child achieve to the best of their ability no matter where they are in the learning curve. I have one son that is very bright and one son that struggles. Both of my children are getting challenged every day. The teachers care about my children and are very easy to talk to. I had my child in another school in town and this school has really been a blessing in disguise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

I did a long term substitute job for U. P. and must tell everyone that this is a school that is really striving to 'teach' the children and better their school daily. The 'Reading First' program is a fantastic teaching curriculum that I saw progress reach each child. I was amazed at how Kindergarteners were reading! This is a structured school, but also by this, one receives respect. The children are respected as well, and I felt there was a great attempt to understand 'their' feelings. Kudos to you University Park for a job well done.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2007

I placed my daughter in 2nd grade at University Park this year from another Casper school. I was impressed with the dedication to student acheivement in this school not only from the teachers, but from the administration (Sally Huber rocks!), the support staff, and the front office. My daughter's reading scores dropped significantly in 1st grade, and I was worried she would not be able to recover. She has not only recovered, she is now reading at benchmark and continues to grow. This school really is top of the line. Their philosophy and values are right where they should be. Focused on the students, and helping them to be successful. I know I am welcomed into my child's classroom, and can comfortably approach my child's teacher with any concerns or questions. I find the staff knowledgable, and student focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

In my opinion, this school is only one step away from military school. Structure and rules are fine but they take it way to the extreme and it is because of schools like this that our children don't want to go. Send your kindergartener to this school and he will come home tired, confused and scared to death of school. The teachers speak to these 5 year old with total indifference in their tone. No caring, no compassion, just 'structure, structure, structure, with no regard to the childs feelings and/or needs whatsoever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

My child attended 2yrs at this school. It seemed totally unorganized. Every time I talked to the teacher she informed me that had integrated a new math or language arts program. They must have obviously felt like the ones that had were not working. I could not believe the principal would allow so much change to occur in one school year. A teacher can't teach when the content material is always changing and kids can't learn. Frankly I think the original programs were good but the teachers lacked the training or ability to teach them to get the scores where they wanted them to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2011.

30 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2011.

30 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2011.

20 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female77%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities>=95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant85%
Academically giftedn/a
Not Gifted85%

Reading

All Students59%
Female46%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant59%
Academically giftedn/a
Not Gifted59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Wyoming Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female71%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant75%
Academically giftedn/a
Not Gifted75%

Reading

All Students69%
Female59%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant69%
Academically giftedn/a
Not Gifted69%

Science

All Students53%
Female47%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant53%
Academically giftedn/a
Not Gifted53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Wyoming Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female>=90%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant79%
Academically giftedn/a
Not Gifted79%

Reading

All Students68%
Female>=90%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant68%
Academically giftedn/a
Not Gifted68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Wyoming Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 80%
Hispanic 13% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:30 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 North Huber Dr
Casper, WY 82609
Website: Click here
Phone: (307) 253-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT