Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Davis Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
We have 1 child in Davis; having moved here at the start of the school year. The school is brand new (Aug 2015), clean and the staff is friendly. Mrs. Emmons is fantastic with the students and handles conflicts immediately. She does not lead the kids to answers( which seems typical nowadays). She asks open ended questions. We aren't from this area and while there is an adjustment whenever moving; we appreciate the responsiveness and willingness of school staff to answer questions. The secretary has always been friendly and happy to answer questions. Our Childs teacher was consistent identifying strengths and meeting 1:1 with student to set goals that encouraged student to work harder. I've been to school/class functions and the kids are always happy and well mannered. The school acknowledges honor roll with a small assembly and the music/holiday performances are really cool with participation by all students. We are Very happy with our and our child's experience at Davis Elememtary!

Davis Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Our child's teacher Mrs W is incredible!. She brings out the child's strengths and ignores the quirks of kids this age (probably why the kids love her because she reinforces the good). She really is amazing how she has total control of her classroom and makes it look effortless.


Davis Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Having been to other schools in other states; it's the perfect amount. They do a lot of their work in the classroom. Which at this age is how it should be...

Davis Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Yes. The kids are respectful and use manners. It does not seem as though teachers ignore the undesirable behavior; they actually deal with it in an age appropriate way. I do think that helps set a tone and an example for the students to model

Davis Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
I've seen first hand (while volunteering) other students offering to help others without being prompted. With older elementary age kids, this isn't always the case (in other schools our child has attended).


Davis Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
We've been here 1 school year, but in our experience, our child's teacher and the principle have handled conflict fair.

Davis Elementary School 4

Posted January 09, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in kindergarten at Davis. While the school has its concerns as all schools do, I am satisfied with her development overall. They are very much about the 'no child left behind' policy. My daughter is more advanced and therefore gets bored in class often as she sits and waits for everyone else to get done but the teacher is great. The setup is great. Small atmosphere feel. Welcoming school. I would highly recommend this school.

Davis Elementary School 4

Posted October 02, 2007
- a parent
This is a fantastic elementary school. There is room for improvement for the outside maintenance of the playground. I would prefer they build on rather than put students in the modular detached from the school. New principal, great teachers, this has phenominal potential!


Davis Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2007
- a parent
Davis is a great school. Staff is welcoming and engaging. It's a safe learning environment. As a military family, we've felt welcomed and the parents are encouraged to visit, eat lunch or attend pto meetings. bullying is addressed in a timely manner and a solution is reached quickly. my children have enjoyed the last 3 years here. all day kindergarten, with p.e., music, and art offered to all grade levels. teachers are highly trained, many with masters degrees. lots of extra curricular activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Davis Elementary School
6309 Yellowstone Rd, Cheyenne, WY  82009
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (307) 771-2600
Last modified Davis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top