Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East High School

Public | 9-12 | 1435 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2012

If you have a really dedicated student, the IB (International Baccalaureate) program at East can't be beat. When I went there, there was only the diploma program that required its students to take all their classes (core, foreign language, and a liberal arts class) at the higher level. Learning at this advanced state in everything, I really have been able to excel college and my jobs since then. IB made me a better person. That being said, East is definitely a difficult school to attend. While it isn't as clique-y as Central, there is a very strong sense for most students of whether or not they belong with certain people. Being in IB, I was isolated for the first two years until I joined Drama and the Step Team. If you send a student there, be aware there are fights and a lot of drug culture in almost every group. The administration is willing to help for a while, but I saw a lot of my friends just get shipped to CBOE or Triumph. I know nothing about South (the third high school in the town), but I prefer East to Central. The environment is much closer to what your student will experience in the real world and there are great opportunities for nearly everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2011

I went to East high school and it was the best in Cheyenne. The teachers there really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

East High School allows opportunities to advance skills in any subject whether it is academic or extracurricular. Teachers are almost always available for students who need extra help in anything and are always willing to sit down and help. Education is a main focus of both the students and teachers in most classes. The variety of activities and clubs is astounding. The music faculty and programs are the best in the state.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2009

Its a great school, no matter what things that you are interested in there is a club for you. No kidding we even have a 'hack club' (for hacky sack) and our admistrators care. The only sugestion i have before you come to the school is to find your classes before school starts. The biggest problem for new comers is our school can be confusing at first, because of the numbers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

East high school is the school of excellence. We are the largest and best high school in wyoming. As a adopt-a-school partner of east for the last ten years i saw how great our students, teachers, administrators and staff members are. We get better every year. We only have one mission at east and that is student success.


Posted September 27, 2008

East is Amazing! I go there and let me tell ya, it is an awesome place to be. The teachers are very helpful and will stay during their off times to help students. its a fun school to go to, and they have amazing extracurricular activities and even the school police officers are nice. Fer sure East Rocks my socks! and is the school of excellence! Go Thunderbirds!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2008

East's environment makes it really difficult to learn. The teachers are great, but I've encountered some that only seem willing to help when it's convenient for them. East is an okay school, but it could definately be better for students and teachers alike.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

Extra- and co-curricular activities are great, many of which win state and regional competitions (DECA, FBLA, band, orchestra, choral, speech and debate, mock trial, drama, culinary arts). Teachers are dedicated and hard-working. Administration is excellent. First school in state to offer International Baccalaureate diploma. Social structure among students very relaxed. School as egalitarian atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

Great principal, teachers and administrators. The school offers both the IB (International Baccalaureate) Diploma Program as well as AP (Advanced Placement)classes. It has a strong academic record, variety of vocational training programs, great sports programs and coaches, top band teams, safe environment, many extracurricular activities. Many college bound students have been accepted to the top universities in the nation, many students headed for the work force have been aided by the school's strong DECA & FBLA training and experience. Our kids have gotten a great education at East High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

At East High School, it is like a communistic society. Like all schools, but the most disturbing thing is that in our school district, whick includes this school, P.E. is a required class. Not everyone is Athleticly inclined. Just like having a knack for art or music or even drama. You don't see those classes being required. I think that this communistic behavior must end before the creativeness of the next generation is completely lost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2003

Teachers and counselors and administration very helpful. Very safe environment, and speech and debate team always takes first in the state. Language classes always take trips abroad, and the band goes on a neat trip every other year. Curriculum has a lot to offer, lots of choices, and they are on the block system which is a real plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

360 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

360 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2012.

360 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2011.

430 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female67%
Male73%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant70%
Homeless<=20%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Gifted70%
Non-Homeless71%
Full Academic Year71%
Non-Full Academic Year38%

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male82%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial>=90%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant85%
Homeless67%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Gifted85%
Non-Homeless86%
Full Academic Year86%
Non-Full Academic Year63%

Science

All Students55%
Female55%
Male55%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant55%
Homeless33%
Academically giftedn/a
Non-Gifted55%
Non-Homeless55%
Full Academic Year56%
Non-Full Academic Year38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Wyoming administered the Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) in reading, writing and math to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. PAWS tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wyoming. The goal is for all students score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Wyoming Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Wyoming Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 81%
Hispanic 15% 12%
Black 4% 1%
Asian 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 East Pershing Blvd
Cheyenne, WY 82001
Website: Click here
Phone: (307) 771-2663

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Keystone School
Cheyenne, WY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT