Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Laurence School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Laramie

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $188,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $642.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

A great school where every child knows, honors, and respects each other. Value-based education where everyone is encouraged to learn at his/her own level. Spanish, Latin, art, music, basketball, running team, dance club, and newspaper club make this a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

I love this school! I love the relationship that I have with the school, the teachers and the staff. Everyone is so approachable and creative in their teaching styles. One of my three children is not what you would call a 'traditional' learner and this school has gone above and beyond to make sure that she is learning what she needs. She started at a public school, after a great kindergarten teacher her next two years were struggles. She would wear her teachers down after a couple of months and would skate by for the rest of the year. Getting her to even go to school was WORK! St. Laurence has never given up on her. They always make sure that she is doing the kind of work that we all know she is capable of doing. She would rather do just about anything to keep from doing school work. But this school has gotten her interested in learning with trips to Yellowstone for a week and countless other activities. What a difference this school has made in my children's lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

We chose this school for the high quality education and family like atmosphere. We felt that the first two years our childen were there, but while the teachers all seem hard working and dedicated, I am sad to see that some aren't licensed by the state, and some seem to have few resources to help the students. When we made the hard choice to transition to public school, we fully intended to return when our third child was ready for Pre-K, but the lack of teacher licensing and academic curriculum in that grade level made us reconsider and go with another area program. It's too bad that such a great school is no longer great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

The caring and individual attention the student s receive far exceeds any school we have experienced. Parent involvement is a big part of what makes the school work. Personally I have experienced that the Teachers and staff are quick to bring appropriate attention to any issues my children experience. Teacher/parent involvement is not set by the quarterly calendar; there is consistent and appropriate communication. The school would benefit from stronger leadership from both the Principal and the Pastor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

PreK and First grade are pretty good. Third and Fourth grad are combined and now 5th and 6th grade are combined. The school has tried to progress but the facilities are very old and the teachers are working to their limits. The kindergarten teacher at one point had 20 children with no helpers. They do try to care for the kids but resources are becoming limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

Leadership at this school is not as strong as in the past. The principal is also the 6th grade teacher which does not allow for much administration time. Parents are not encouraged to be involved in the classroom to a large degree once you are past PreK. There is an emphasis on not allowing boys to be in kindergarten unless their birthday falls in May or before, regardless of academic or social ability. Overall, if you are looking for a religious school and do not mind working to catch your children up in math studies it is not a bad place go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

I had reservations about sending my children to a Catholic school since I am not of the faith (while my husband is). The teachers and staff are great! My children have really done well. The test score for my oldest puts her in the 95th percentile or above compared to other students (nationwide) in her age for all her subjects. Parents are really involved. The smaller school size really is like a community where everyone gets to know everyone. As a grade school there are no sports but he music program is great. I would like to see a more in depth art program as currently they only have art in the classroom. A really great nourishing palace for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

The focus at St Laurence is on the whole child. I found my first graders work to be quite challenging. The small class size allowed the teacher to teach them subtraction and addition of several digit numbers. They also had spelling tests, reading comprehension, writing, editing, problem solving, time, money, PE, religion, and much more. The parents are highly involved as is their principal Dawn Staver. The principal knows each student by name and is so cheery! I had reservations about sending my kids to a Catholic School, but I am now convinced we made the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 82%
Hispanic 26% 11%
Asian 4% 1%
Black 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Cheyenne
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

608 S 4th St
Laramie, WY 82070
Phone: (307) 742-6363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT