Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public
Meeteetse, WY
Students enrolled: 125

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Meeteetse School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Most of these reviews are older and no longer reflect the school. The administration is very flexible and there is a PTO. Students have some of the highest scores on the state test. HS students are given opportunities to take college courses in order to individualize instruction for all. This is an excellent school and learning community.

Meeteetse School 3

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
I am new to the area somewhat and dont quite know exactly what I think of this school. I have seen the difference between 3 of the areas local schools and each is very different.


Meeteetse School 2

Posted March 27, 2010
- a community member
Our own experience with a transfer student from a much larger school to Meeteetse is just the opposite. All the students from 1st grade to H.S. senior have been friendly and helpful. This is our first experience with the 4-day school, but is working well for us and there are several small schools in WY and neighboring states that seem to approve of the 4-day week after using it a couple of years. Change takes time to become confortable. Our student's grades have improved from C, D, and F's to A, B, and C's. We'll take that any day in addition to a happy, well adjusted youngster.

Meeteetse School 2

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
They are now cutting programs/classes because the funding is not there. The teachers are great, but the admin is not. Bullying is a problem that they cannot seem to fix, and many students have left because of it. The admin calls it 'personality conflicts.' They do have a good sports program and because it is so small everyone usually gets playing time.

Meeteetse School 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a student
Talking about how the students aren't friendly it is a two way street for everyone it is very easy to get along. I love this school because every student is more like a brother or sister. The relationship that the students have with each other is the most unique bond that you will ever see. The academics are great, last school year we were the number one school on the paws test in writing. Some people think that the four day week is no good and that it doesn't work but i believe that we have shown everyone that it does work.


Meeteetse School 2

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
Students are not very friendly to outsiders and new students often have a hard time 'fitting in.' Student to teacher ratio is excellent, but curriculum in the same middle school class is not very differentiated. They have four day school weeks, with 45 minute classes each week in middle school; that means 45 minutes less in science, math, language arts, etc. per week than 5 day schools which does add up over the year.

Meeteetse School 5

Posted March 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Meeteetse School 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Meeteetse School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
Meeteetse schools is a k-12 facility...thats ok but the real problems lies in the administration...... we have lost several good students and excellent teachers due to this. Teachers aren't allowed to speak their opinion unless they want to loose their jobs along with parents aren't allowed to express their thoughts and if that happens the superintendent will ban you from the properties. We go through principals every two years due to the superintendent. The students are the ones suffering...the school board lets the superindent do whatever he wants

Meeteetse School 0
no rating

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
This school could be great - it has an excellent teacher/student ratio, good teachers, and substantial funding. There is a lot of pressure to participate in sports, however, often at the expense of academics. Parent involvement is discouraged by the administration and there is no PTA. Small town politics often get in the way of the student's best interests. I would recomend it for k-5 only.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meeteetse School
2107 Idaho, Meeteetse, WY  82433
(307) 868-2501
Last modified Meeteetse School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Meeteetse School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top