Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

948 students|Alabaster City
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thompson Middle School 4

Posted May 04, 2016
- a student
Most of the experience has been great, however my child does have one teacher that is disrespectful to students not in a clique. Admin staff and counseling have outstanding.

Thompson Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 04, 2016
- a student
Mrs. Wilson is the best counselor I have ever had. She has welcomed me from the beginning and always been there for me. (Ms. Caldwell has been great in extra activities)


Thompson Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a student
I have some very good teachers and some that are poor. Gym class is often idle and offers little physical activity or learning. I have a science teacher that is rude and disrespectful to me and other students who have more quiet personalities.

Thompson Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 04, 2016
- a student
There is ample amounts of homework, however I have enough time at home to get it completed. I think if I had extra curricular activities it would be more difficult.

Thompson Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a student
Students are encouraged to study and continue to raise their academic levels of achievement. Sports and gym teachers stress persistent performance.


Thompson Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a student
Manners are encouraged and mistreatment of other students is not tolerated. Students are quickly addressed if they interupt fellow students in class.

Thompson Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a student
Outside projects like Vietnam veterans support projects and free holiday face painting in stores frequented by economically disadvantaged have been successful.

Thompson Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a student
Most of the teachers are trustworthy and expect the same from students. Make up exams/homework is available.


Thompson Middle School 1

Posted September 19, 2013
- a community member
i attended TMS in the 2012-2013 school year i honestly did not like it very much i had very few teachers who i would considered good instructors some would give us work and sit down and get on their phone the whole time i do not recommend this school i was voted on of the smartest people in my grade and got many awards but honestly everything was just too easy they practically gave us the answers all the time.

Thompson Middle School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
After reading all these comments, it surprises me this school got a 8 out of ten stars. There is a lot of whining going on by parents blaming the school for something they need to take responsibility for their kids. If you do not know that your kid is failing a class, YOU need to keep up with the grades. You will not always be in your child's life so you better step away now so they can learn for themselves!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thompson Middle School
1509 Kent Dairy Rd, Alabaster, AL  35007
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (205) 682-5710
Last modified Thompson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top