Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Birmingham, AL
Students enrolled: 316
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Advent Episcopal Day School 5

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
I have two children that attend Advent and we have been at this school for going on 8 years. Advent is not only a stellar academic education, but provides superb instruction in music, arts, and foreign language as well. The faculty and staff are dedicated, caring and committed to educating the whole child, recognizing that a child's success is based on more than just achieving high test scores. There is also wonderful community among Advent families. We are so pleased with our experience and highly recommend it to anyone!

Advent Episcopal Day School 1

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
I only recommend this school if your perception of a great private school is one with among the highest tuition in the area. What I observed over a two year period: (1) teachers are rigid with old school thinking and methods (2) little to no collaboration between teachers / disciplines (3) I personally observed in-fighting / squabbling among teachers and outright lying by office staff (4) school has a "no news is good news philosophy (5) staff customer service is non-existent (6) doesn't have a PTO, consistent with their other philosophy "it's our way or the highway" but does have two parent fund raising organizations (7) Advent's emphasis is on liberal v. math/science education (8) as compared to other private schools in area homework is tremendous - indicative of old schooling v. in-school teaching (9) Advent doesn't/can't boast its students proceed to mostly 9th grade AP classes as other private schools can. (10) Advent Episcopal School's greatest proficiency is the ability to sell itself as something it isn't; a quality private school that's a good/great value as compared to tuition. Look at the retention rate and you'll see many parents eventually figure out it isn't.
1 person found this helpful


Advent Episcopal Day School 5

Posted October 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Advent Episcopal Day School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Advent Episcopal Day School 5

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
Excellent School - Outstanding Music, Art, Science & Math Programs. The teachers are wonderful at all levels. My son attended this school after leaving the Homewood School System and he was no where near ready for this school. I held him back a year in order for him to get on their level and he is doing excellent. It was like they opened up a whole new way of thinking for him and I'm proud to say that he attends the Advent. I believe that every child that is able should 'Share in the ADVENTure!'


Advent Episcopal Day School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2008
- a parent
This is our second year in the school and we have not seen any academic advantage compared to other schools in Birmingham. The atmosphere is stern even for the younger students. Teachers do not seem to spend much time meeting with parents. 'No news is goods news' is their motto. Staff can be cold and even rude depending on the mood of the day. Advent is set on their ways and whoever does not fit them is quickly informed directly or in subtle ways. If you decide to try it, be prepared.

Advent Episcopal Day School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
Advent offers a wonderful balance between high performance expectations and genuine caring for the children. The academics are rigorous but the teachers are committed to each child's success. The music program and the math team are exceptional. The science program is solid and engaging. Parents are very involved, and there is great sense of community among the families. I believe it is the best k - 8 education, public or private, in the state.

Advent Episcopal Day School 4

Posted February 27, 2007
- a parent
Great academically and wonderful student/teacher ratio. Wish that the children had more physical activities. This is a hard school for younger boys especially because there is so much time spent on worksheets and sitting at a desk. Each class needs a P.E. break indoors when weather is bad. Oftentimes, they spend that time remaining in the classroom and get 'free-time'. They are a hyper ball of nerves upon leaving on those days! Also, French instead of the more practical Spanish is taught as the primary second language. Not very practical in today's world!


Advent Episcopal Day School 5

Posted January 10, 2007
- a parent
The Advent Day School is an incredible school. I have had three children attend there and a forth will attend there in a few years. The staff, teachers and administrators are all wonderful to work with. The Christmas program - Lessons In Carols that the kids participate in every year is amazing. The music teacher is wonderful with the children. If you have never had the opportunity to see this performance you should attend one soon. I wish the Advent School had a high school! Anyone considering private education for their children in Birmingham should go visit here first!

Advent Episcopal Day School 5

Posted September 14, 2006
- a student
This school is an amazing school. The academic programs are very advanced, with high school level math, sciences, and arts, and college level music classes. Music, art, and sports are in the required curriculum.The Literature and Composition class is taught by a former college teacher, who keeps true to her roots of making children learn critical thinking skills. With two parent organizations, the Advent Parents' Organization and the Advent Episcopal Association for Education, the parents are immensely involved in the school and total learning process. To give a child a head start in life, send him or her to Advent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Advent Episcopal Day School
2019 6th Ave N, Birmingham, AL  35203
(205) 252-2535
Last modified Advent Episcopal Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Advent Episcopal Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top