Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-12|Private
355 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The Altamont School is a coeducational, traditional college preparatory independent day school enrolling students in grades 5-12. We are located on the crest of Red Mountain in a secluded residential neighborhood five minutes from downtown Birmingham. Altamont is a small family with socio-economic, ethnic and religious diversity. We have an intensive college preparatory academic program with a personalized college search program, including an optional annual college tour. And we offer many opportunities for children to develop multiple talents by participating in arts, foreign language, leadership, community service, clubs, class projects, science competitions, and sports – all at the same time.
July 08, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Altamont School 3

Posted October 03, 2015
- a student
The academics are excellent! Amazing teachers and staff but the social part of the school is terrible!! The grades are so small that you don't have more than 4 to 5 good friends. The students are very stuck up and act like they are better than everyone else. If your child does not like stuck up people with limited number of friends I would not send your kids here!! Take it from me I am in the middle of my fourth year at this school and I can not stand it! Another issue with the school is if you play sports you are not given any room on homework and test sometimes I play until 9:30 at night and I'm expected to do 2-3 hours of homework on roughly 6 hours of sleep!! In conclusion if you want your child to have a normal high school experience do not send your kid here.

The Altamont School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted July 08, 2015
- a school leader
In order to establish an environment of trust and honor at The Altamont School, the Honor Code stresses individual integrity. The Honor Code is essential to the fulfillment of Altamont's mission. Its tenets are simple: to not lie, cheat, or steal; they allow students to establish sound moral and ethical standards that will serve them for the rest of their lives. Honor is habitual. The more it is practiced, the easier it becomes. Whether in the classroom, on the playing field, or in the school community, Honor is taught, discussed, and lived.


The Altamont School
no rating

Posted July 08, 2015
- a school leader
The Altamont School is a coeducational, traditional college preparatory independent day school enrolling students in grades 5-12. We are located on the crest of Red Mountain in a secluded residential neighborhood five minutes from downtown Birmingham. Altamont is a small family with socio-economic, ethnic and religious diversity. We have an intensive college preparatory academic program with a personalized college search program, including an optional annual college tour. And we offer many opportunities for children to develop multiple talents by participating in arts, foreign language, leadership, community service, clubs, class projects, science competitions, and sports – all at the same time.

The Altamont School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
The Altamont School is preparing me for college wonderfully! It is quite challenging at times, but I know in the long run it will help. I believe Altamont is one the best or the best school in Birmingham. We welcome all races into our community. ~Student

The Altamont School 5

Posted December 13, 2013
- a community member
The Altamont School has provided far and away the best high school experience anyone can ask. The students strike that delicate balance between intellectual quirkiness and people skills. Class sizes are luxuriously small--in my senior year, I have a class of one, a class of three, a class of five, and a couple classes of around twelve. The attention afforded to us by the faculty and staff is unparalleled, and the support network the school provides is phenomenal. And the resources...oh my god the resources. I've literally gone to school some days to find things in the Morning Report like "if anyone wants to dissect some human brains, meet in the bio lab." I have had two independent studies (I created my own course, got it approved/funded) in which UAB professors came to the school every week to oversee my experiments. About a solid half of my high school teachers have doctorates in their field--i'm not sure that's true of many colleges. Altamont does a fantastic job of providing for a student's need from 5th through 12th grade--for those of you with smaller children who are afraid of the high school-middle school mixing, DON'T BE!! Cannot say enough about this life-changing school


The Altamont School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a community member
Altamont is the greatest school I have ever gone to. When I'm there in class I feel so much love and acceptance from everyone. The teachers genially care about all of the students. They treat you like family. If you are a parent and are reading this consider sending your child to Altamont. Everyone finds heir place there.

The Altamont School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
This is the best secondary education environment in Birmingham. Teachers and staff truly care about all aspects of the child and the education is exceptional. Each child is respected for their individuality and the students are very accepting of each other. Wonderful school community which embraces everyone.

The Altamont School 5

Posted September 18, 2011
- a parent
Sarah Whiteside is a wonderful principal and academician that permeates down to the whole staff. Altamont is a very special place that fosters the development of the "complete" child. I would recommend this school to anyone considering a top notch education for their child.


The Altamont School 5

Posted May 28, 2011
- a community member
Love this school!! Great teachers and board. the arts are important to everyone here, which is unusual but really appreciated! enough freedom to have fun but also learn responsibilities.

The Altamont School 2

Posted July 16, 2009
- a parent
The academics are great. The teachers are amongst the best, however the administrative staff of this institution of 'learning' are absolutely horrible! Particularly the financial staff. Education is no longer the main focus of this once top-rate institution of learning; they are now more focused on courting those with a great amount of income and doing whatever is necessary to eliminate and force out those who are not as fortunate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Altamont School
4801 Altamont Road South, Birmingham, AL  35222
(205) 879-2006
Last modified The Altamont School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
The Altamont School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top