Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Private
Birmingham, AL
Students enrolled: 314

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Altamont School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
The Altamont School is preparing me for college wonderfully! It is quite challenging at times, but I know in the long run it will help. I believe Altamont is one the best or the best school in Birmingham. We welcome all races into our community. ~Student

The Altamont School 5

Posted December 13, 2013
- a community member
The Altamont School has provided far and away the best high school experience anyone can ask. The students strike that delicate balance between intellectual quirkiness and people skills. Class sizes are luxuriously small--in my senior year, I have a class of one, a class of three, a class of five, and a couple classes of around twelve. The attention afforded to us by the faculty and staff is unparalleled, and the support network the school provides is phenomenal. And the resources...oh my god the resources. I've literally gone to school some days to find things in the Morning Report like "if anyone wants to dissect some human brains, meet in the bio lab." I have had two independent studies (I created my own course, got it approved/funded) in which UAB professors came to the school every week to oversee my experiments. About a solid half of my high school teachers have doctorates in their field--i'm not sure that's true of many colleges. Altamont does a fantastic job of providing for a student's need from 5th through 12th grade--for those of you with smaller children who are afraid of the high school-middle school mixing, DON'T BE!! Cannot say enough about this life-changing school


The Altamont School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a community member
Altamont is the greatest school I have ever gone to. When I'm there in class I feel so much love and acceptance from everyone. The teachers genially care about all of the students. They treat you like family. If you are a parent and are reading this consider sending your child to Altamont. Everyone finds heir place there.

The Altamont School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
This is the best secondary education environment in Birmingham. Teachers and staff truly care about all aspects of the child and the education is exceptional. Each child is respected for their individuality and the students are very accepting of each other. Wonderful school community which embraces everyone.

The Altamont School 5

Posted September 18, 2011
- a parent
Sarah Whiteside is a wonderful principal and academician that permeates down to the whole staff. Altamont is a very special place that fosters the development of the "complete" child. I would recommend this school to anyone considering a top notch education for their child.


The Altamont School 5

Posted May 28, 2011
- a community member
Love this school!! Great teachers and board. the arts are important to everyone here, which is unusual but really appreciated! enough freedom to have fun but also learn responsibilities.

The Altamont School 2

Posted July 16, 2009
- a parent
The academics are great. The teachers are amongst the best, however the administrative staff of this institution of 'learning' are absolutely horrible! Particularly the financial staff. Education is no longer the main focus of this once top-rate institution of learning; they are now more focused on courting those with a great amount of income and doing whatever is necessary to eliminate and force out those who are not as fortunate.

The Altamont School 3

Posted June 29, 2009
- a student
This school suffers severly with a lack of communication and polotics. The school has some great teachers left, but the majority now have no communication skills. The administration at the school needs to be reconsidered. The school has lost it's main focus, the students, and focuses on nothing but satisfying the parents in order to obtain their money and keep the school alive. The number of enrollments has saignifcantly dropped due to the sharp decline of excellance at this institute. It needs to change, or it is going to fail even more.


The Altamont School 5

Posted January 02, 2009
- a parent
The best voice my husband and I have made - was to send our daughter to Altamont. The teachers are all very dedicated to their jobs.

The Altamont School 0
no rating

Posted November 16, 2008
- a student
This is just about the best school in alabama! i love every aspect of it and hope that many more students will choose to attend Altamont.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Altamont School
4801 Altamont Road South, Birmingham, AL  35222
(205) 879-2006
Last modified The Altamont School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
The Altamont School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top