Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Princeton Alt School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2012

Princeton is the Ivy league of elementary schools. The have excellent teachers and they really care about our children. I really hated when it was time for my child to move on. I just wish she could be educated at Princeton all through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

I am a parent who was not brought up in the Birmingham school system, and was skeptical about Princeton when a friend who is a school teacher reffered us to Princeton. That was four years ago and Princeton has GREATLY EXCEEDED every expectation that I have for any elementary school. The parent participation is excellent. I love the way the Principal there knows everyone on a first name basis. Its not just a school but an extention of the family. The teachers there are the best and host parent teacher bootcamps, so that the parents can understand how to help their kids at home. I have never seen a school that had such good parent,teacher,and principal communication, and people wonder why Princeton Elementary is called " THE JEWEL OF THE WORLD, and the BEST IN THE WEST." When a school has a motto like Endless believing Leads to Endless Achieving, You cant help but to wonder why the rest of the Birmingham School System hasn't jumped on the band wagon???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

Hey! I am a student at Princeton Elementary School. I have been at Princeton since kindergarten. I really enjoy the staff and this is an excellent school. Bye!


Posted July 25, 2010

School leadership, high levels of parent involvement, and outstanding quality of teachers are the ingredients to what maes Princeton Elementary a perfect 10. I have two children who attended over the last 5 years and I can say that we witnessed first hand the recipe for success that I listed above.We will be moving to the Pacific Northwest this upcoming school year, where schools in the area are meeting 80-90% of objectives. I know that test scores alone don't paint the complete picture of what makes this school so special, it is worth noting that last year Princeton met 100% of AYP for grades 3-5 in Math and Reading. This school gave my kids have an excellent foundation and I know that they are prepared to succeed any where we go. Princeton is the jewel of public education not just in Birmingham but in Alabama. Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

I am an ancient alum of Princeton (Class of 1980). The school was impressive then, and it continues its tradition of excellence.


Posted April 23, 2009

I love Princeton. My son went to Princeton and Finished in the top10. Now I Have a First grader and he loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

My children has attended this school since kindergarten, I have been extremely pleased with the faculty and staff. I know that my children can leave this school and be able to compete with any other child from any school district in Alabama.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

I attended Princeton in the 70s when it was K-8 and it was a great school then as well as today. I believe in Cynthia Ward and her staff and love the time and attention devoted to the students. My oldest attended K thru 5th and is currently an honor student at Phillips Academy. My two youngest are in 1st and 2nd grade respectively and they love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

My daughter gradutated from Princeton this year and I have to say that the best decision I have made regarding her education was getting her into Princeton. The teachers and the principle all want our childrent to succeed. I have never been happier and I hope we continue on the path that Princeton has laid out for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

I am thrilled to death that my child is receiving the best education in Birmingham right here at this school. The teachers are wonderful! They really are dedicated to their professions. They love our children as if they were their own. They are always striving to improve the delivery of content through embedded professional development. The principal always tells the staff that good is mediocre and that they will strive to be the best. She is on the right track. I am really proud of the Panther Pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

i love this school. my teachers are great and they expec alot. they help me through my struggles and they give me indiviual attention when i need it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2005

I am a substitute teacher and I have filled in at several Birmingham City Schools and I am estatic to say that Princeton is the best yet! I enjoy the fact that the administration is an ever present figure in the school always willing and ready to help. Princeton is a small school with only two sections per grade level, but the quality of education that I have observed here is tremendous! I also enjoy the fact that dicipline problems are slim to none, and if there are any problems please believe that Mrs. Ward is on top of it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2005

Looking for a way out of the drab B'ham City Schools? Princeton Alternative is your answer. The principal and her staff are wonderful! Princeton is a small school that lacks the funding it deserves; however, the teachers are so creative and resourceful the children do not suffer one bit. Princeton has the greatest parents! Whenever we find information that will be helpful for our children/students we share that information with the staff and other parents. We don't keep great tips to ourselves. My child who is kindergarten is reading on the first grade level with minimal problems, counting by 2's, 5's and 10's and is excited about learning and I know it is because of the uniting between the teacher and I. For those of you who cannot afford private school even on the strictest of budget and want a quality education for you child.....need I say anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female92%
Male100%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 58%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1425 2nd Ave West
Birmingham, AL 35208
Phone: (205) 231-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ephesus Academy
Birmingham, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT