Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chelsea High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

the test scores look good, but the school isnt so good. the teahcers are rude and dont communicate and barely can really help you. they just go with the flow of what the governemnt says. theres better educ. out there. the students are disrespectful to everyone including teachers. and the hallways are full of transgression. its terrible. plus, the discipline has gone down hill so that may be why its gotten bad.the lack of courses makes it hard to be challenged and to go after more because i dont feel challenged at all. the sports is all about football and maybe guys basketball so sorry girls and baseball and soccer. its so clickish and ten times worse than the normal cuz ive been to two schools in the last 4 years and chelsea has been the worst. ive never been so ready to move again.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2013

Some teachers are nice and seem to care but the rest have no respect for the students and make the time at school miserable. Zero stars if possible and I don't think parents should comment on these school because they don't go to school there and they only see the fake smiles. They don't really know anything about this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2013

My kids attended Chelsea Elementary, Mt. Laurel Elementary, Chelsea Intermediate, Chelsea Middle and are currently in Chelsea High School. These are all great schools. I am so proud of our schools in the Chelsea area and the dedication of the teachers. I did not dedicate time, but did donate money because I knew how it would be spent! Chelsea High students are eligible for the School of Technology and offers the only Cisco Networking program in the entire State of Alabama. Thank you for educating our kids with the low tax base we pay in Chelsea, AL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

Chelsea high school is very good and has improved drastically in the past two years. It others courses that students can excel in and has teachers that are fun, cool, good, and teach. Chelsea offers a brilliant band program with some all state musicians, state wide recognized artists, brilliant theatre program, and the football team does fairly well for now being in the region with Spain park and oak mountain. Expect highly of this school. Lots of new teachers, and good principal
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

I raised 5 children and they all have gone to Chelsea. One is a Junior this year. They have challenged each child to be their best. The teachers are awsome, There were times when my girls thought differently but when they were in college and realized they where ther because someone cared enough to help make sure they were ready.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

chelsea is a small town school, thats exactly what defines it. most of the students have grown up together. our biggest rival is shelby county high school. it's an average school, but I always feel safe, and I always feel welcome and comfortable. we're in the middle of the bible belt of course, so a good majority of the student body is christian. many of the students take ap or honors classes and a lot of the teachers are very good. overall if you want your kid to have develop academically and socially, chelsea is a good, welcoming, small town school. but, if you want them to to be actively involved in a very good athletic program, chelsea may not be right for them. I personally love chelsea, and have basically grown up here. people are always welcoming towards others. but its up to you to choose.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

Good School. Needs more classrooms and funds for grounds up-keep! Teachers are good and very easy to talk too. Too many changes with the Admin. Seems about every 2-3 years a new person at the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

I have been going to this school for two years, and I will soon be a Junior. I absolutely hate this school. Half the time, it's the kids teaching the class; not the teachers. They don't have any idea what they're talking about. As far as sports go, woohoo. Go hornets. We aren't known nationally or state-wide for any sports. Our cheerleading squad complains about how their new coach is so mean, and says the rudest things to some of them. I will probably be moving to Oak Mountain, or Hoover or something for my senior year, or if I get lucky, somewhat into my Junior year. If you want your children to excell in sports, or academics, do them a favor and send them to a school with a more higher-quaility educational environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2007

With the exception of a teacher who is terrible, all other teachers for my girls have been great. Teachers are responsive to our questions and we are very happy with the quality of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

My son was fully prepared for college. My daughter will be too. Chelsea offers a lot of choices for the kids to participate in. The parents that help out at football games, soccer, baseball etc..are great. It's the parents that whine and complain about what the coaches are doing wrong instead of joining the QB Club or Booster Club or just show up and help clean up, anything to help their child. They fail to realize that you have to raise money sometimes and that means sacrificing their time. Money don't grow on trees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2005

The teachers at Chelsea ,as much as they would like to help ,I am not sure they could.The teachers I have met with seemed puzzled about most things I would ask them .I plan to remove my kid from the school after this school year is over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

WHAT extracurricular activities? Of the very few extracurricular activities offered, even fewer are actually developed. The teacher quality is balanced, as there are both good teachers and highly underquailfied teachers who don't even like students. As for disipline, the only thing that gets punished or noticed in Chelsea High School is tardies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

This is our first year at Chelsea and it has been great. Teachers know the students on a one on one basis..Parent involvement is amazing. My son is quite happy with his new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2004

My sons experience at Chelsea has been awesome. The staff and students are a blessing. Teachers seem to actually care about the students. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

238 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

238 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

141 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

236 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

152 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education64%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students89%
Female92%
Male85%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education27%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty65%
Non-poverty93%

Math

All Students90%
Female94%
Male87%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education45%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty62%
Non-poverty96%

Reading

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education27%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty68%
Non-poverty95%

Social Studies

All Students83%
Female79%
Male86%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education27%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students100%
Female100%
Male99%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty99%

Math

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 58%
Black 7% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10510 Hwy 11
Chelsea, AL 35043
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 682-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oak Mt High School
Birmingham, AL




Indian Springs School
Indian Springs Village, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT