Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Decatur High School 3

Posted August 02, 2014
- a community member
The school is all about football and revolves its whole student life around football. If you don't play football it is very annoying that the football students get all this special treatment such as 10 pep rallies a year that students are required to go to and bow down to the football players as if there kings. They get there own decorated lunch tables on game days, unlike any of the other sports. Female sports have no rep unless its cheer leading. The student body is very cliquish and the school is ran by the preps and the "upper" families of Decatur. There are a number of good teachers here that love their job and there are teachers that do absolutely nothing unless admin comes to observe. The Language, Gov & Econ, Engineering,Bio, and UPPER math depts. are strong. Along with the arts classes. The new principle is great and is helping the school move in the right direction. The school needs to work on catering to the entire student body ensure everyone is heard and represented equally in clubs, sports, AP/IB and so on. They also need to push students to try harder and more advanced classes. The janitorial,office, and lunch staff are exceptionally nice and enjoy their jobs.

Decatur High School 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
Decatur High is a very personalized school system. The teachers/staff and administratoin provide something for everyone! Whether your child excels in the math and sciences to sports to art/theatre/band/chorus - there is something for everyone. The school is small enough to have personalized attention. We could not ask for a better place to raise our three children and have them receive the education/life skills needed to excel in college.


Decatur High School 3

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
There are some amazing teachers at DHS. There are some who need to step up and teach! I want my child to excel in college and am nervous that she might not be ready. The administration needs to find a focus and get their teachers working towards the goal.

Decatur High School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Great school and community spirit and support. Prepared my kids for college!

Decatur High School 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Decatur High School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
My student is in her first year at the school. coming from the city of Chicago, so far, I am especially please with the class size and teacher to student ratio that yields more of a hands on approach. I believe my daughter is going to do very well here.

Decatur High School 0
no rating

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
By and large, the teachers at Decatur HIgh School are dedicated professionals. They have been incredibly accessible and flexible in terms of accommodating for my son, who has high-functioning autism and Tourette's Syndrome. Mr. Ward, the principal, is practical and fair. My son has even said nice things about the custodians, the lunch staff, and the office workers. Overall, Decatur High has been a good learning environment for my son. It is not without it's faults, but the majority of the faults stem from problems caused by students whose parents have not taught them about the paradigm of school and responsibility. Keep up the good work, DHS.

Decatur High School 0
no rating

Posted November 01, 2008
- a parent
So far Im very happy with Decatur High School. My son has had so many issues in the past but he is so excited about school this year. The teachers seem very intrested in the students.


Decatur High School 5

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Decatur High School 3

Posted May 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Decatur High School
1011 Prospect Dr SE, Decatur, AL  35601
(256) 552-3011
Last modified Decatur High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Decatur High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top