Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 7 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School 3

Posted March 14, 2013
- a parent
Very disappointed with the direction the school is headed! We began Leon Sheffield 5 years ago and now with our second child, I have to say the quality of teachers and curriculum offerings are sliding quickly. Leon Sheffield really offers nothing different than the neighborhood schools now with the exception of the outstanding school play at the Princess. They have eliminated foreign language and really don't follow IB principles as Ben Davis does. Struggling now with the decision of whether to allow our next child to attend after completing Ben Davis or to go back to our neighborhood school/private school.

Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2013
- a parent
Having had children in both a neighborhood school and the magnet program, I can truthfully say what an amazing job I think the faculty,staff, and administration do here at Leon Sheffield. As far as the foreign language program no longer being in the school, that is not entirely true. Our students are being taught Language Exploration and are learning Latin, French, German, etc. They have been exposed to many different lanaguages and cultures, which in this day and age with the US cultural diversity, is a plus in my book. The students will take spanish and french when they move on to middle school. I can't say enough wonderful things about this program and Mrs. Hill who is teaching it. And as for the administration, Dr, Rachel Poovey does an amazing job communicating with the parents and students on a daily basis. We are very pleased with our years at Leon Sheffield and look forward to many more.


Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
Gordon-Bibb School is no more. The magnet program once housed there has moved to Leon Sheffield Elementary School. The buildings were torn down and replaced with a new school, Banks-Caddell Elementary School. It is a 'regular' school, and does not house a magnet school program.

Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2006
- a parent
This school is amazing! They have moved this year because of construction and everyone was feeling nervous at the begining of the year about the new place. They did a wonderful job and the kids are very happy. They are as strong as ever in academics, music and arts. The only drawback though is that the kids do not have a playground.

Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2004
- a parent
Has a great technology lab and teaching. My child is receiving the best education that can be found in Decatur...let the scores tell you the story.


Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2004
- a parent
The administration, faculty, and staff at Gordon-Bibb are all committed to helping each child excel.

Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2003
- a community member
This is the best school for my gifted children. They really excelled.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School
801 Wilson St NE, Decatur, AL  35601
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. (256) 552-3056
Last modified Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K, 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top