Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kelly Springs Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2014

Had a very rough year at this school. Problems with classroom communication about homework, test schedules, classroom expectations, etc. We had a meeting with the principal which resulted in a lot of talk and very little action. Our child was harassed continuously by other students and very little was done to stop it. Several students in the classroom had been sent to PASS Academy but kept returning with the same behaviors that continued to be represented throughout the school year. It was pretty clear that several discipline problems were lumped together into one classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Love, love, love this school!!!! Teachers and staff are amazing!! They go way beyond what is required of them to help the students and to be there for them...and Mrs. Gregory is the best teacher I've EVER met! This school may be relatively small, but it is the BEST school my child has ever attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

KSE is a "great school"! I love sending my children there!!! Spread the word to everyone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

It's a smaller school which needs a lot of appreciation for the good works the teachers are doing on their own to improve the education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

My grandchild went to this school. Great teachers. Why can't Girard Middle school have great teachers??? We loved your school. Someone do something about Girard Middle school.


Posted September 8, 2009

My 8 year-old triplets transferred to K.S.E. from Highlands Elem. this year and they like school once again. The staff at K.S.E. is much more friendly and professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

A wonderful school with hardworking, enthusiastic teachers. My child loves it and so do I!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

We have been involved with Kelly Springs for five years and have another child coming up through kindergarten this year. I have never been more pleased with a school! The staff has always been caring toward my children and welcoming to me as a parent. The diversity of this school is incredible, right down to the fablulous students in the special education departments. Each child is treated with respect and encouraged to make themselves the best they can be. If only we encoutered that philsophly in our world. I would hold Kelly Springs up to any Magnet School - it is simply unmatchable!! Kudos to Mrs. Kelley, principal, you are an excellent leader for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

I don't know why anyone would want to send their child to the magnet school . Kelly Springs is close by, has excellent teachers, teaches the same curriculum as the magnet school and Kelly Springs has a LinC program which the magnet school does not have.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 23, 2009

this a very good school. the teachers are excellant my daughter loves her teacher and they work very hard with her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I love love love kelly springs elemtrey itoffers lots of great programs like linc pe is great mrs.Paramore is awsome the teachers are wow wow wow they help us all the tim whaen they can they try to be there everyday they might not loike a rule but they still do it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

We love Kelly Springs. My daughter is in 1st grade and loves being at this school. They offer lots of incentives for being a good student and even offer a very affordable after school program called extend-a-day. My daughter loves it and so does her parents!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

my daughter is in kindergarten, and she really loved the school, Mrs. Forehand her teacher and the principal Mrs. Kelly It is a good school, thank you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

Kelly Springs' administration, staff, students and parents are awsome. I'm extremely glad to be a part of the atmosphere of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Kelly Springs and I can't say enough great things about it. Her teacher, Mrs. Forehand, is excellent. The principal, Mrs. Kelley is wonderful. The school is imaculately clean. Academics are stressed in very caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2007

I love my school! I first moved here in second grade I loved my teacher Mrs. Sanders. She was the nicest teacher and now I almost know everyone at my school counting students and teachers! My teacher this year is also awsome her name is Mrs. Coachman. I am in third grade. My principal Mrs. Kelly is the best principal I ever had! I just looove my school! Samantha Mayock
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2005

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Kelly Springs and i love this school.The teachers are great and so is the principal.I went to this school too for 4th and 5th grade and i enjoyed it.The same principal is still there.And so is my old 4th grade teacher.This school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

My son has been going to Kelly Springs for 3 years and I have never had a bad experience. All of the teachers work together with the principal to make it a safe and fun place for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2003

I love the people at the school who show that the children learning come first and let them try other things to enhance thier other skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female78%
Male82%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Poverty74%
Not poverty90%

Reading

All Students95%
Female91%
Male97%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty94%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female93%
Male81%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty85%
Not poverty89%

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male84%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty85%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female96%
Male84%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty89%
Not poverty90%

Reading

All Students86%
Female92%
Male81%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty85%
Not poverty87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students77%
Female73%
Male81%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Poverty78%
Not poverty77%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 58%
Black 35% 34%
Hispanic 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sharon Glanton Kelley
Fax number
  • (334) 983-5822

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1124 Kelly Springs Rd
Dothan, AL 36303
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 983-6565

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Houston Academy
Dothan, AL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT