Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairhope High School

Public | 8-12 | 1389 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2014

I am a parent of a student who recently started here, as we recently moved here due to a military transition. I have to say that I have been extremely impressed with the school overall. The administration have been there to answer all my questions about the school (Ms. Schulz and Mr. Cardwell have been awesome), and my son has said positive things about most of his teachers. I am also very impressed about the "Digital Renaissance" program in the Baldwin County School System, as this has not been offered at any other school that I have had a child in. We look forward to being a part of the "Pirate Community" for our next few years in the Fairhope area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2014

Graduated from FHS in 2011, doing great in college and set to graduate next year. Enjoyed my time there very much. I would definitely reccommend this school.


Posted June 2, 2014

I would not recommend this school for anyone. My son transferred here in January and I am moving back to north Al. The kids are brats and think they are better than anyone and the teachers are not any better. If you are not from Fairhope then you are treated extremely bad. Oh yes did I forget to mention the drugs that are openly displayed in the school? Oh that's right these kids are priviledged!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Exceptional school with a great leadership and faculty! The students are very well-mannered and respectful. It is the best high school in our district!


Posted February 27, 2014

i strongly recommend your child not to go to this school. this school is not the place to be. i remember my child coming home everyday telling me how she wants to move and not be here any longer. their are known to be some bad kids at this school doing bad things. there has been violent activity at this school. the teachers do not help a lot with anything and the administrators are ridiculous about why you get in trouble for things. they will suspended you for anything and everything. i advise that you don't bring your child here to this school, because i promise they will not enjoy one bit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

We are extremely pleased with FHS. The principle, staff, faculty AND students have been very friendly and helpful to us as we moved here from out of state. The curriculum and great expectations of the students is highly commendable as well. The extracuricular activities offer something for everyone too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, staff, and principle. If you are looking for a great school that truly exemplifies the communal spirit of Fairhope, AL, this is the school for you! The AP program is one of the best around, improving every year as grant money pours in. Its upper level academics surpasses that of Bayside Academy and teachers work closely with students to give them a REALISTIC outlook on college and the world in general. Fairhope schools are wonderful for raising children as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2013

Since the last review was posted, the school has upped it's game. There is a new principal, and the counselors are also really great. The principal knows most of the 1,000 or so kids names and the kids WANT to say hi to him in the hallways. He is working to weed the bad teachers out and to hire new ones. The IB programme has stepped up and right now the freshman class has 50 kids in it, larger than usual. The AP courses are doing well, as well as college prep. There is a place for everyone. Personally, I think it passes Daphne on so many levels. If you aren't too keen on Fairhope High School, my next suggestion would be Spanish Fort High School. Do not waste your money on Bayside Academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2011

This is probably the worst school I have EVER stepped foot into. If you arent rich, you might as well leave. The people are MEAN. The atmosphere makes you sick. I DO NOT recommend this school. Any school is better than this one. Daphne High School is where you want to send your kids.


Posted July 30, 2010

Fairhope High School is an adequate high school. The teacher quality is only good if you are on the college preparatory or International Baccalaureate track but even then you will get some bad ones. The Alabama tenure law guarantees that. The leadership of the principals and her assistants is marginal. All of them are very difficult to work with and refuse to listen to feedback. This school is not in the business of meeting the needs of its students. The community has gotten so apathetic about trying to work with these people that parent involvement is in a decline. The problem is no other options in this town. The private school, Bayside Academy, is no better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

I do not recommend Fairhope High. I think their score needs to be lowered as it is misleading. I compared the Great Schools score to the school we came from and it was the same, however, Fairhope is not in the same league as our old school. The communication from the teachers and administration is non-existent, and the level, quality of students is average at best. I wished we would have selected Spanish Fort HS, or Daphne HS, or a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I believe that FHS exemplifies the standards and values that, sadly, are becoming rare in this country. The staff and the faculty genuinely care about the education, development and safety of each and every student. In Fairhope High, I believe that our community is blessed to have such a high quality public school. It's a great school in a great community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Fantastic teachers who challenge our children and also care about them!! Great communication between school staff and parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Fairhope school are reflective of our community. The administrators, teachers and communtiy really care what happens to our students. People take time to volunteers in the school snad offers resources to make sure our children are getting the best education possible.


Posted November 7, 2008

I've had four children either attend or are attending Fairhope HS. They have also attended other schools in other states. Fairhope HS is a Very Good school, probably the best public in south Alabama and easily competing as one of the best in the state. Overall it can hold it's own vs most HS in the country. Most school districts would love to have this quality of high school in thier district. Now the negatives, the school board in Baldwin County is almost worthless, not really giving direct oversight but allowing the Superintentent too much control. The adminsitration at the county level is poor. The Principal (Dr. Thomas) is average at best. Although she is a poor administrator, fortunatley the other adminstrators and staff carry her. Teacher quality is very good and parent involvment is excellent. Very Good school but could get better with new leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

Fairhope High is the BEST high school in Baldwin County and one of the best in the state of Alabama. Now that they are adding the IB program, they are only getting better. Fairhope's students can compete academically, artistically and athletically with any one. FHS prepared me for more than college, but for life, thanks to the teachers, counselors, and coaches. And I cannot forget that every year the senior class receives more scholarship money than any school in the area. -2006 Graduate
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 1, 2007

I love FHS. I am currently a Junior, and I am really enjoying every part of my High School experience. The classes are challenging, the teachers are helpful, and the administration is very adequate. The other reviews are very negative towards the school, but my take on it is: High School is what you make it. If you want a good experience, then you will have one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2006

I was a student the last two years at Fairhope before I transfered. While there, though I am an honor student, I experienced the worst years of my life. This school's policies are absolutely ridiculous from the unhelpful-disrespectful administrators to the sports programs and uniform policy. I have not yet met a senior from Fairhope that enjoyed their high school years, what is supposed to be the best years of your life can quickly become the worst experience in educational history at Fairhope High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 17, 2005

Dr. Thomas is a weak administrator that always takes the path of least resistance. The uniform policy which I support is a joke. We have to be the only school in the state where our children are not allowed to their letterman jackets. The school needs to reconsider the freshman algebra format.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

If your child is not an honor student or special ed you get no help or support. I called every week and was more discouraged evey time I called. My son ended up going to summer school for algebra. When I asked did he know any of the kids in his class he said, 'half my class are from Fairhope.' I wish it were different. Dr. Thomas is a good administrator. She is difficult to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education81%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty93%
Not poverty99%

Language

All Students85%
Female89%
Male81%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible70%
Special education38%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant85%
Poverty69%
Not poverty91%

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible95%
Special education76%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty89%
Not poverty98%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special education51%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty79%
Not poverty94%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female75%
Male88%
Black43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligible45%
Special education43%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant81%
Poverty57%
Not poverty91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education4%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students0%
Female0%
Male0%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible0%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education74%
General population0%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant0%
Poverty93%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education89%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty97%
Not poverty99%

Reading

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black3%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education93%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty99%
Not poverty100%

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female90%
Male0%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education67%
General population0%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty78%
Not poverty0%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 58%
Black 11% 34%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr Beverly Brown Thomas
Fax number
  • (251) 990-2053

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Pirate Dr
Fairhope, AL 36532
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 928-8309

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bayside Academy
Daphne, AL



Central Christian School
Robertsdale, AL


Robertsdale High School
Robertsdale, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT