Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Florence Middle School

Public | 7-9 | 716 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2013

some people say your "odd" years of schooling are the hardest. Florence Middle has proven it wrong...but not in a good way. I have been thru both grades (7-8) and both have been incredibly hard. teachers don't really pay attention to the student's needs and worry more about disciplining student for very minimal infractions. also the administrators allow the teachers to have their own rules for their classroom and every teacher's rules are different. I have not enjoyed being at this school at all. just transfer to brooks..... anything would be better.


Posted September 13, 2012

this school is the worst anyone could put there child in. talk about a sardine can, they are cramming more and more kids into this one school then they can handle. how can the children get any one on one time with the teachers. my daughter hated it. this was formerly coffee high school, i would like to know who the genius was who came up with the idea of compacting so many students into one school. stop buying ipads for the teachers and put it to use on fixing the schools. be sensible with the tax payers dollars. these kids are our future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

florence middle is terrible! the teachers and staff worry to much over dress codes and not enough on other things such as basic academics! i am a student here and i believe these things should be changed!!


Posted November 8, 2009

I am a student at Florence Middle School. In my opinion, this isn't the greatest school to go to in the county. The teachers are strict and often freak out about things that really have nothing to do with class. For example, instead of teaching our classes, the teachers obsesss about our dress code. IN my opinion, the dress code should be looked at and changed a little. It is very hard to find clothes that fit the dress code and thruthfully, i'd rather just have uniforms. They offer poor administration here, and unfair rules and policies. They are very strict about things that dont really matter and the teachers dont really pay attention to things that do matter.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2009

Florence Middle School is a great place to be. Unfortunately, the next step is Florence High School and that is a school fraught with problems, poor administrators, extreme discipline. It's sad that the only option for our children after the wonderful experience that is FMS, is that one high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

Florence Middle School, which was formerly Weeden Middle School, has been fantastic for our son. The teachers are fantastic and caring. Students are given oportunity to seek extra help if it is needed. We have been extremely impressed with the principal; he is truly the most gifted individual I have ever seen interact with this age children. We are so fortunate to have such an exceptional middle school. If only the Florence High School could carry on the excellent education these children get in the middle school, we'd have a superior system. Unfortunately, the high school has a lot of work to do to achieve the quality of education these kids are accustomed to and deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

We transferred here last year. To be honest, I was concerned about Weeden before enrolling. I certainly did not need to be. This is a wonderful school. The prinicpal is outstanding! Discipline issues are managed with excellence. Academic achievers are honored and encouraged, while lower achieving students are nurtured. We have been delighted with the quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2003

My daughter attended Weeden for the 6th, 7th, and 8th grades. I can truthfully say that Weeden provided the only positive school experience for her. She was challanged by the teachers, respected by other students and greatly encouraged by the administration. Even she would readily tell you what a great experience Weeden was for her. I am proud to let people know that I was a Weeden parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2003

My child attended both 7th and 8th grades. She regained a love of school that she had lost. The entire staff goes beyond what would be expected. Florence City is blessed to have a Weeden Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2003

Thankfully, there are a few good teachers at Weeden but most of them seem completely out of touch with what is happening among the students. It is a poorly run school from the top down. This is so unforunate as the lives of these children will be affected for the rest of their lives. I hope they get their act together at Weeden before it is too late for the students.


Posted May 19, 2003

This is the worst school my child has ever attended. The latest of a whole list of complaints that I have is that the asst. principal insists on displaying a flyer with a quote that is grammatically incorrect after this has been pointed out to her on more than one occasion. She 'created' this flyer herself, thereby showing her lack of education to the entire school. Our children should expect schools to teach them the right way to do things, not the wrong way!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female65%
Male60%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible74%
Special education14%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Poverty47%
Not poverty86%

Reading

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education29%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty80%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female82%
Male71%
Black63%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education35%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Poverty68%
Not poverty88%

Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male77%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education29%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Poverty77%
Not poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students75%
Female75%
Male75%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education19%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Poverty65%
Not poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 58%
Black 34% 34%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Aimee Turner Rainey
Fax number
  • (256) 768-3105

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

648 North Cherry St
Florence, AL 35630
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 768-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hibbett School
Florence, AL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT