Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kilby Laboratory School 5

Posted July 14, 2015
- a student
Kilby is a fantastic academic opportunity with all fantastic teachers. Also UNA offers many amenities such as swimming and many forms of art. My sister and I both went to Kilby and could not be happier with our choice. After Kilby I went to Florence Middle School and was completely prepared for all subjects; scoring much above average in all. Another amenity of Kilby is the Gifted program. When I was in you have a chance to show your creativity. Kilby is also technologically advanced; my class was doing power points in the 3rd grade. Overall Kilby is a fantastic school and I plan to send my future kids there.

Kilby Laboratory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 14, 2015
- a student
We had quite a bit of homework but that was how we were able to stay ahead and keep our test scores high. We defiantly had more than most schools but we got it and practiced it better than most other schools.


Kilby Laboratory School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a student
Kilby definitely develops respect in its students, for the teachers/students, for education, and the community. I remember walking into Florence Middle School completely prepared and ahead of most kids.

Kilby Laboratory School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 14, 2015
- a student
The best elementary teachers in Florence! They all are the most intelligent caring people you will ever meet, and I couldn't ask for better people to have taught me.

Kilby Laboratory School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a student
More than any other elementary school in Florence, our classes our clearly more difficult and technologically accelerated. I remember our kindergarten classes use Ipads and our third grade classes are already doing power points.


Kilby Laboratory School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a student
From the seven years I was at Kilby I have never had a teacher that I did not feel comfortable talking too. Also if I had a problem (which I rarely did) I knew that I could talk to any of them. Also the teachers at KIlby just love what they do! Most schools have teachers that don't care, but Kilby only hires the best of the best!

Kilby Laboratory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a student
All the parents and teachers are very involved in the student's lives. I know from personal experience as a former student that the teachers demand respect and politeness; the teachers are also not mean but are sometimes strict.

Kilby Laboratory School 2

Posted November 10, 2010
- a community member
I went Here Ever Since January 2005 (when i was in kindergarden) I HATED THIS SCHOOL AND SO DID MY PARENTS!!!!! The school is ok, but 2nd grade was very bad. I moved to forest hills for 3rd to 4th. and i think forest hills is the place to go.


Kilby Laboratory School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a student
Kilby is a great school, but there is no music program. Instead there is a wonderful Spanish program.

Kilby Laboratory School 5

Posted October 08, 2005
- a parent
This is the best elementary school in the area, academically and otherwise. One of the most striking differences to other schools is that the Kilby students are extremely well behaved. The only downside is that it is very difficult to get your child into this school unless you are a University of North Alabama employee. Then again, the children are taught according to the most up to date information, and all of the 4th-6th graders now have personal laptops. Parents are extremely involved, and the PTO is very active. Also, many parents are university professors and might come to give special lessons on their specialties. Since the school is a laboratory school, the teaching is constantly evaluated, and the teachers must keep up to date with their teaching methods. The school also has its own afterschool program from 3 pm to 5 pm. The school has a new principal (fall 2005).

Nearby schools

Kilby Laboratory School
615 North Pine St, Florence, AL  35632
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (256) 765-4303
Last modified Kilby Laboratory School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top